Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

With Dexedrine, I am taking a med I self-medicated in the '60s! In 9th grade in '62, I could not stay awake in the AM. My Mom's best friend was a drug salesman and she got Dexamyl for weight. I snitched a few dex 15 mg spansule there and at my corner drugstore job. From teacher and parents, I got the usual "lazy, no motivation". Scorn from father who laughed that I would be lawyer. But on Dex, I w...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I am taking it for adhd and don't like it

Shared reviews and ratings

SarahC | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/24/2023
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All of the generics are different in strength and side effects, but if you get the right one for you it will change your life. I'm in the process of trying to get name-brand Dexedrine again, which is the best. I'm not sure who makes the brand name Dex anymore. Aurobindo generic worked very well for me but it's not made in the U.S. now. Teva is weak. I'm going to try Sunrise Pharmaceuticals Dex starting tomorrow. It has the same ingredients as Aurobindo so I hope it's the same formula! It even helped battle depression. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hillary Sefort | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The pharmacy substituted this in for my normal without even telling me, so by the time I opened the bag and saw this generic, as I walked away from the pharmacy counter, it was too late for them to do anything. The side effects are horrible and it's ruining my holiday season.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Suzie L. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get prescribed generic Adderall for my ADHD. This is the first month that the pharmacy dispensed Mallinckrodt's dextroamphetamine sulfate rather than an amphetamine salt and it is not the same. I feel speedy and not very focused. Plus, I have side effects like stomach upset and diarrhea, which I do not have on amphetamine salts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rise-up | Female | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication doesn't work at all. I heard that we are just guinea pigs trying out these medications for doctors. There sugar pills they will get you hyper and some won't. This pill only gives me headaches and stomach upsets. I keep telling Walgreen I want the genetic the original ones that I used to take they said these are the same ones they're not

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SElaine | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given a different brand my mistake for not checking .. I have never felt like this . Needed to be alert and focused on class instead I feel tired like I haven’t slept . Which I got a good night sleep . And I feel very spacey .. driving home was difficult I feel spacey and very out of it .. when I spoke to pharmacy they explained it was the same as my last medication . It isn’t .. this medication feels like I’m high on some drug. I’m so out of it .. worst feeling ever

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/22/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The generics are all different.Malinckrodt is horrible for my brain chemistry; I was angry and depressed all the time. I guess they have a different effect on different people. Aurobindo worked amazingly well for me for years, but they have temporarily stopped making it. Now I'm taking Teva generic and it seems very weak and has different effects. Someone told me Sun Pharma (or maybe Sunshine?) is more like Aurobindo. I'm going to see if it's carried anywhere near where I live. Dexedrine is much better than Adderall from what I have experienced.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CI | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/27/2021
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's pretty plain and simple, if the manufacturer is Mallinckrodt, it is smooth sailing and it works exactly as the Doctor described. If the Manufacturer is: Actavis/Teva, that medication is harsh and down right awful. Never Ever take this drug made by this manufacturer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Selena | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/4/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

started taking this a week ago for ADHD. I didn't take it this morning. I feel sleepy and lazy on this drug and that's when it kicks in. It literally makes it hard for me to think I'm more spaced and zombie like. I couldn't remember how to get home yesterday and only live 4 minutes from work. I feel like I want to punch every one in the face. I know how to count and yesterday I kept having to recount things and I was even in the 3 digit numbers. this pill makes me feel extremely hungry too. i have been taking the 10mg and when i broke in half that actually made me feel even worse. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annoyed | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had horrible side effects from this drug including anxiety I didn’t previously have, trouble breathing and a complete inability to sleep as well as dry mouth. I haven’t been taking it long but I wonder if I should continue taking it at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MedS1udent | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/12/2020
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hope this helps someone: Dextro is so different from Adderall! There are far less physical reactions, as it does not contain L-amphetamine. Less sweating/racemic reactions and aggression. On Adderall, even I notice that I am annoying and talkative. But on Dexedrine, I don't experience the strong impulse to tell people my thoughts or opinions. Dextro simply calms my mind, quiets the debilitating anxiety of ADD, and allows me the mental motivation that "normal adults" seem to have. Also, I experience almost no crash or grumpiness compared to any other stimulant or amphetamine. But most noticeable of all, this medication has virtually eliminated depression from my life. It's wonderful to feel like a functioning member of society! Also, one thing that I haven't seen mentioned here is that you don't feel like someone that is taking drugs. That strange feeling of shame and secretiveness that creeps into your brain with Adderall simply does not exist with this medicine. You feel clean! I'm in college, and I have friends WITHOUT adhd that love Adderall because they "feel" like they are taking amphetamines. They get their rush physically. But Dextro is way over their heads, because it actually tackles a mental disability that they don't have. I've heard friends say "I prefer Adderall. I didn't really feel Dexedrine," which is crazy because Dex is STRONGER than Adderall! It's just too clean, with no crash, so it's not what they are expecting from a "drug." That's because this isn't just a drug, it's a true medication and a life saver for those who need it! Everyone should TRY this med once as an alternative to Adderall, especially if you have INATTENTIVE ADD. Btw, 10 mg Dextroamphetamine is equal to more than 12 mg of Adderall. And the absolute BEST brand is Mallinckrodt. Trust me, I've tried every brand over the last 20 years. But be careful with their XR capsules, as they are 24 hour dosages! The best current Adderall is by Sun Pharma (2020). Good luck to you allRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MedStuden1 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/12/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hope this helps someone: Dextro is so different from Adderall! There are far less physical reactions, as it does not contain L-amphetamine. Less sweating/racemic reactions and aggression. On Adderall, even I notice that I am annoying and talkative. But on Dexedrine, I don't experience the strong impulse to tell people my thoughts or opinions. Dextro simply calms my mind, quiets the debilitating anxiety of ADD, and allows me the mental motivation that "normal adults" seem to have. Also, I experience almost no crash or grumpiness compared to any other stimulant or amphetamine. But most noticeable of all, this medication has virtually eliminated depression from my life. It's wonderful to feel like a functioning member of society! Also, one thing that I haven't seen mentioned here is that you don't feel like someone that is taking drugs. That strange feeling of shame and secretiveness that creeps into your brain with Adderall simply does not exist with this medicine. You feel clean! I'm in college, and I have friends WITHOUT adhd that love Adderall because they "feel" like they are taking amphetamines. They get their rush physically. But Dextro is way over their heads, because it actually tackles a mental disability that they don't have. I've heard friends say "I prefer Adderall. I didn't really feel Dexedrine," which is crazy because Dex is STRONGER than Adderall! It's just too clean, with no crash, so it's not what they are expecting from a "drug." That's because this isn't just a drug, it's a true medication and a life saver for those who need it! Everyone should TRY this med once as an alternative to Adderall, especially if you have INATTENTIVE ADD. Btw, 10 mg Dextroamphetamine is equal to more than 12 mg of Adderall. And the absolute BEST brand is Mallinckrodt. Trust me, I've tried every brand over the last 20 years. But be careful with their XR capsules, as they are 24 hour dosages! The best current Adderall is by Sun Pharma (2020). Good luck to you allRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
scienceart | Patient
8/21/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've discovered an interesting side effect, if you use a stimulant and have a depressant(e.g. Alcohol, or other) same day, you might get muscle twitches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/22/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

goes great with bud

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
trace3100 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/9/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ckimble | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/13/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Far better than any other ADHD Medicine I have used. This compound actually improves my cognitive functions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JJ | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/29/2016
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor told me that I have OSA (Obstructed Sleep Apnea) and I already use a CPAP. However, I was falling asleep at work and on way home and even on way to work while driving. Since I've been using this drug for approx. 5 weeks, it has been wonderful! I am not only staying awake at work and on the road, but I am able to do more at work and my focus is MUCH better in meetings and otherwise. I couldn't be more happy, so far, I hope it doesn't cause any long-term issues. And even better; on the weekends, I'm more active with my daughters. This drug has fixed a problem I've had for a very long time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/1/2015
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Need to increase my dose so I can concentrate on becoming employed again , after workplace discrimination because of taking medication. Simple and uncomplicated medication .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/18/2014
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

increased weighted gain, non-existent metabolic increase, negative pupil enlargement, red eyes, lethargy, drastically reduced self esteem, 140% difference each 24 hours, loss of self respect from coworkers and friends due to public stereotyping of a patient being treated with what was pure speed (before the 'outdated fillers, not expired, there is a difference' added to neutilize the EC50% added to it), and the wrong IUPAC name it is dispensed as, dextroamphetamine sulfate; It is legally named bis-dextroamphetamine sulfate. There are two (2) R+,S+ amphetamine stereo isomers for each molecule of H2SO4; 2:1 ratio with H2SO4; 1:1 ratio if HCl were used rather than H2SO4, subsequently changing the legal name. When my N.P. M.H.P. was asked about a medicine with a similar molecular structure and special orientation and rotation to precisely work at the receptor sites baring outside influence of competing, antagonistic, or neutralization of molecular landing sites flat out lacked practical knowledge again siting weight gain in another patient; Whereas harming that veteran patient too with obesity, and all the negative that go with it in the face of public statics. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more |
5/13/2014
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For some Reasons my Pharmacy dosent have anymore Dexadrine.They said they will give me spansule Is it the same??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/12/2014
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works wonders for my concentration, but usually after the meds have stopped working, a huge crash happens that makes me paranoid, nauseous and generally uncomfortable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More