Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

I've been using this for a couple of months and so far it's great. My mom has been using it for years,then one month she stopped using it and got pregnant with my brother, but overall the pill worked great. Just don't forget to take it. I at times still forget to take it like once a month.

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

*I don't know how effective/ineffective it really is* I was originally on mononessa for 10 months when my pharmacy switched me to sprintec. I was afraid but they said it was the same thing so I went with it and had no problems for three months. We switched pharmacies and then I got this stuff for free which was nice but a little off putting... They said it was the same thing again so I figured I ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad nausea and stomach pains. I was on this for the the longest and always had stomach issues and attributed it to other things. Got off BC for a while and a lot of my stomach issues eased up. Got back on and it’s becoming unbearable. Take it the same time every night and have bad nausea and stomach cramping the same time everyday as well as loss of appetite. Also makes me very irritable, angry and emotional. Going to switch it to something else but force myself to take it currently to prevent pregnancy since Roe was overturned and we’re losing our bodily autonomy.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M****M90 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/20/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was very nervous starting BC people of the horrible side effects I’ve heard about. Estarylla has been the perfect BC for me personally. The pill can be a hassle to remember, but set an alarm and you’ll be fine. My skin hasn’t been this clear in years (besides the occasional PMS breakouts), my periods are much more lighter, and it’s done the job of preventing pregnancy thus far. I never experienced weight gain, but my biggest side effect was feeling depressed the first month I took it. It was hard to get through, but just reminded myself I am putting hormones in my body! Overall, great form of BC. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kbeck1997 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/20/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had severe acne for the past 1.5 that came out of no where. I tried everything and waited the correct time to test any new treatment but nothing helped. I read mixed reviews on Estarylla. It started working to clear my skin immediately and I noticed a difference after the first week. After 1 month my skin was fairly clear, after 2-3 months my skin is porcelain soft and clear. Only sideaffect would be that I’m hungry all the time. But I haven’t noticed gaining much weight. This is a bit annoying though. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/17/2022
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I know BC may not work for everyone and it may be a matter of finding the correct method or pill. But for me estarylla worked perfectly for me. I started taking BC because of PMDD. I would get really bad mood swings and suicidal thoughts when I was pmsing. All of those thoughts went away after taking BC! And my period is regulated, less cramps, no weight change, no added acne, and I think it did help a bit with my anxiety. Only thing I noticed was that I had a slight decrease in appetite.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Z | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on birth control pills for many years but never experienced so much painful cramps, nausea, loss of appetite and overall unwell. The weird thing is that the pain and heavy flow started on 3rd day of my period. Now I'm on day 8 and it's so bad that I don't know if I can take any longer. I took variety of pain meds - nothing helps. I wish I read the reviews before starting these terrible pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/9/2022
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got on estarylla for mid-cycle bleeding, and for the first few months of use it caused me to get hormonal acne -- not a lot of it in terms of numbers, but I would get one or two MASSIVE cystic pimples on my chin at a time that would take WEEKS to fade after flareup, where I had never experienced anything beyond a small whitehead before. My face generally got redder, and reacted more harshly to skincare products. There was a bit of emotional turmoil as well, though I'm chalking that up to feelings of hopelessness/insecurity about personal appearance, as the acne really hurt my self esteem-- I'm someone who takes really good care of her skin and places a lot of value on having clear skin, so it was a very frustrating and diminishing experience to have these massive blemishes where I practically had glass skin before. After that initial difficult period, which took about two months to clear up, it worked well, got rid of my mid-cycle bleeding... but then after almost a full year my bleeding started up again. Cycle by cycle the number of days and heaviness of mid-cycle bleeding increased, until suddenly last month I bled every single day. I can't be intimate with my significant other, and I;ve noticed that over time my libido has been decreasing as well. Since the mid-bleeding has returned, my obgyn is switching me to Larin-Fe 1.5/30, and I am praying that I don't gain back the weight that I lost or develop hormonal acne in response to the new medication. Guess I'll find out soon, since I'm starting it tomorrow. Pros: little/no acne after first two months, lost about 25 pounds, stopped mid-cycle bleeding, no crazy emotional changes. Cons: definite loss of libido, horrible cystic acne in the first two months which lasted WEEKS, mid-cycle bleeding started back up again after several months of use, and weight loss could be due to dietary changes(stopped eating sugar/dairy, and my university's food doesn't incite a strong appetite either).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/6/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was using the original Sprintec pills at first but then stopped them for about 6 months, I had no side effects with that one. Then I got back on BC and asked to have the same pill but they sent me Estarylla instead, saying it was the same thing so I trusted it. I wish I could’ve just said no. Since taking it I noticed my mood and emotional health has gone downhill. I get down, sad, anxious and almost depressed really often. Something that never happened to me before taking this pill. Most days I have no motivation to do anything, I hate talk to myself, sometimes I feel numb like I can’t even feel any feelings and it’s affecting my relationship as well. I can’t think of any other reason why this is all happening so I am blaming it on this pill. Will stop it and get back on my original sprintec pills. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
suef | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/31/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nausea has been horrible - all day every day

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Minae | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking spintfec for a year, which I also had some side effects while using, but after week two of estarylla, I will be discontinuing my usage. I have had the worst acne I’ve ever had in my entire life, and my face is normally clear, great skin. My left foot is swollen up like a balloon, headaches and nausea daily. My last period while on this medication was the worst I’ve had in quite a while, bed ridden most of the day with severe cramps. Worst birth control ever!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angelle | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the Mirena IUD 2nd insertion done in March 2021, usually I don't experience a period on any bc but this time I experienced one and it was very heavy with clots, so I was prescribed Estarylla to reduce the heavy bleeding, it reduced the heavy bleeding but extended the bleeding in between cycles if there is an in between sometimes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kaleialoha | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m the type of person that doesn’t usually get side affects from birth control and works great but this pill was completely different I only took it for 5 days and had the worst cramps (don’t ever have cramps normally) and it was a constant achey cramp When I wasn’t even close to getting my period, I broke out With pimples instantly and felt down. I’d definitely be carful with this birth control it’s kinda scary because once I stoped taking it all of the symptoms went away after less than 24 hours. Pay attention to your body if you are first trying this! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
itsagoodoption1 | 19-24 | Female | Patient
2/24/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched from a different pill birth control (Mono-Linyah) and this one is really similar. The first couple days I was a little more sensitive emotionally at night (crying/angry) but it soon blew over and I feel fine! Helped with my anxiety as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
girlxo | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/26/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the first week of starting it I had minor stomach aches and headaches/brain fog-manageable, but after a month of using it I feel fine. Glad I am having a good experience with this I was nervous after reading bad reviews. I never write reviews but I recommend at least trying this if you were prescribed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
okeydokey2002 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched from my original Tri-lo sprintec to try this one, and had the WORST experience ever. I was terrified after reading the reviews and can say that my experience lined up with most of them. I had terrible nausea for a week straight. i took the pills for 6 days in total and had to stop because my nausea was making me unable to eat and drink. Worst experience ever!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abby | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/29/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control has significantly decreased my acne as well as allowed me to come off my anti-depressants!!!! I no longer have suffered from depression due to BC stabilizing my hormones :) I still take my anxiety meds but am so relieved about feeling back to normal because of Estrella.I also use to have painful heavy periods, which NO longer exist. They are short and light. I have NO negative side effects to report :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/14/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great, no side effects and I have been taking it for a year. I spotted a bit the first month starting it but no problems after

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Estarylla | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/7/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Its good for me but if you want get pregnant is good use this for few months then stop i used it for 5 months then i stop for two weeks i think take a brake of drinking pills and surprise my brake finish in pregnancy and same happend to my 2 friends

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shereen | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/13/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Estarylla for the past 3 years and I've had a great experience! It took a few months for my body to adjust, but now all my hormonal acne is gone, I'm less moody, and my period pain has decreased by 90%. My only issue is that I still get somewhat moody during my period week, but it is much more manageable than before when I wasn't on BC. I also take it at the exact same time every morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had terrible headaches as well as major mood changes. I would cry everyday and felt empty despite all the happy things going on in my life. I didn’t want to get married anymore and my fiancé is a GREAT man. I felt like there was always a dark cloud over me and that I couldn’t get out of this funk. I got more aggressive and said mean things to others as well. I hated this pill and who I became while on it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Del | 13-18 | Female | Patient
7/26/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been using Estarylla for about a month now, and i’m wonderful with the results. I stared it when I was on my period, which usually are always heavy, back pains and terrible cramping feeling. I would always have mood swings and just be rude to everyone. About two days after I started this pill my pains started to go away, not completely, but a “visible difference in me” as my mom says. Acne has gone away, and I feel really happy about using this. I do get a minor empty feeling every now and then, but it usually helps when I drink water or something light. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More