Show ratings & reviews for

2.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

Before I started using this I read these reviews and became horrified this was going to be the worst thing to happen to me, but I've been extremely fine with it no bad side effects at all

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I've been taking birth control for 12 years and in the past 3 years been on Tri-Estarylla. CVS changed it and I assumed it would be the same has the one I had before. I was wrong. I didn't have any physical problems like most ladies and it did do its job..no pregnancies. I just started feeling off. I become more anxious, and depressed before my period. I thought this was normal. Until, my new doct...

Shared reviews and ratings

#anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/10/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have to say, I read these reviews before taking this bcp just to get an idea of how it has performed for others and it scared me. The first week was rough as it was getting into my system and adjusting to my hormones. I am mainly on this for my acne and after the second week my skin was completely clear and my dark scars even started to go away! So far this has worked wonders for me so don't knock it until you try it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/12/2022
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have pcos and endometriosis. I’m 29 This is medicine helped ALOT. My symptoms got way better. My hair stopped falling. It got thick agin. My body hair for lighter. My skin transformed. Even light not red filled with acne on my chest and back. I’ve also been taking a few other medications. So it’s a combination. HOWEVER IT BEEN HELL!!!!!!!!!!!!! HELL HELL. I thought it would pass. It’s only getting worst. Each week is a different struggle. First deep set depression. Extreme fatigue. Sadness no interest to speak. Like my motivation lets away Second week is all anger hate and hate Third week I’m just tired and it’s a mix of week one and 2 but not as bad. Then in my period I feel normal. Then it starts again. Im on the 4th pack and it’s worst. I’m getting anxiety for NO REASON. I can’t stay on this. It’s helped me so much getting my confidence back. I was crying how bad my hair was falling. And I know this medicine is 50% of the reason it stopped. The reasoning rice water and selective heat treat. But I don’t think I can do it. I literally refused to leave the house today and it was my birthday. I turned 30 and had all the freedom to do whatever I liked and wanted. My husband wanting to babysit free to go. And I was just too angry to anything and sad. I was even mad tha the took me to breakfast. It’s making me crazy sad and depressed and irrational now it’s giving me anxiety It’s been terrible. I’ll have to switch back to sprintech I only had a few minor heads with that. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/31/2022
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this birth control to treat my abnormal uterine bleeding. I'm always spotting. Like always. Sometimes it'll stop. It's so unpredictable. Sometimes the bleeding has clots. I started wearing menstrual discs to see how light the bleeding is. It's extremely light. I'm not sure if birth control is contributing to that. I also have no cramping while on my period on this birth control. I couldn't really tell if I was on my period. The bleeding from my period (I think it was my period) was very light as well. I have been breaking out on this pill. Like 5 bumps on my face at one time. I've experience slight headaches. No mood swings. I feel like my normal self other than the acne. I'm just going to continue to take the medicine and pray this bleeding will STOP!!!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarah | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was hospitalized with three pulmonary embolisms from this medication and almost died. This along with terrible acne and moodiness like I have never experienced before. I stopped it immediately and feel much better. I’ll deal with long/heavy periods before having to go through PEs again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Florida | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not being on any birth control pills for over 5 years I thought I would give a try again as my periods would be so painful and heavy I was unable to leave the house only last two or three days. After being on these pills going on 3 months I'm thinking I need to get off and just deal w/ the bloody mess and pain First month just noticed attitude / moody painful period only few days long. Second month had my period for 11 days!! Full on only the first few were painful with moody days and headaches. Going on month 3 I had a headache for 4 days to were I can't do anything and got my period only for 4 days a week later headaches again! These are actually really bad migraines I've been watching what I eat and don't drink alcohol so I'm thinking it's these pills I'm 41 and wanted to take meds to ease the pain so I'm able to function during my periods but I will take the bloody period pains over these migrainesRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
4/20/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for a year and a half and have had a great experience. It has significantly improved my acne which is almost nonexistent. My periods are almost pain free and light. I haven’t noticed major switches in my mood or sex drive. My biggest side effect was experiencing anxiety and nausea during the first few days in the pill pack. However, I learned that taking the pill with a light snack got rid of this issue and I no longer have to deal with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/15/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was good at first, but I went off of it because my pharmacy changed to a different brand. I decided I wanted to give it another shot since I haven’t experienced any problems with it. Bad idea. I broke out horribly and I waited it out for three months and it did not get better it only got worse. I would wake up with 3-4 new pimples everyday and I was so insecure and could not leave the house without makeup. I do not recommend this pill if you are trying to alleviate acne

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Red | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pharmacy automatically switched me to Tri-Estarylla after Tri-Prevefim wasn’t partnering with them, and it genuinely was the worst 3 weeks of 2020/2021 and that’s saying a lot. Although allegedly sharing the same ingredients as Tri-Prevefim, Estarylla made me legit crazy. From lack of sex drive and less lubrication to the most dramatic mood swings that only toddlers should have. Within a two hour period at one point: I was angry to happy to depressed to giggling to sad to frustrated, and topped it off with crying the night away. I might as well get an Oscar for my performance. Jokes aside, please do not subject yourself to this misery. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xoxo | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/2/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience has been horrible. I've been on a never ending period that isn't a normal period. Not to share too much but it has been horribly thick and brown. My face has broken out horribly and itches constantly. I was switched to this from Sprintec. I will gladly pay out of pocket before I continue taking this medication. Please do yourself a favor and do not take this medicine. I've been on a lot of different BC in my time and this was the worst experience yet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Z | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/12/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This gave me the worst mood swings of my life I don't even recognize myself anymore. This is the devil in pill form. On top of that, I now have the worst acne I have ever had in my life. Cystic acne all over my chin, jawline, and cheeks. Makes me hate being in public. This is supposed to treat acne but all it did was make mine a thousand times worse than it already was. I am nauseous and have heartburn every single day and I eat like a maniac now. My period is a whole seven days long and I experience really bad pain in my breasts and nips. This pill is a 0/10 I do NOT recommend unless you hate yourself lol Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/14/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill almost ruined my life. It turned me into a completely different person. My sex drive was nonexistent, I became moody and depressed and would fight with my boyfriend over nothing. It nearly ruined my relationship. I’ve been off of it for a month now and I’m finally starting to feel like myself again. I stayed on it for way too long and if you are starting to feel anything like I did stop taking it right away! Not worth it at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julia | 19-24 | Female | Patient
2/23/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do not go on this pill. I was hesitant to go on it after reading all the reviews and I should have listened. I have been on this pill for about 3 months primarily for my acne but also for birth control and lighter periods. So far my acne hasn't improved at all. I did't put together until recently why I have been an abnormally emotional wreck these last few months, but I am almost positive its because of this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/17/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my period for 4 months straight on this BC, my acne didn't clear up at all, and I gained 12 pounds (before this BC I was 5'6 and 115, also vegan and very active)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abbie | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/10/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on a low-estrogen birth control previously and it was awful for my skin. My cystic acne that I had in high school came raging back and it tanked my self esteem for a good 6 months. I tried everything (vegan diet, prescription acne meds) and nothing worked. I switched to this brand based on a friend's recommendation and I have been on it for 3 weeks and I swear it is like I have a new face! There was no change until about 2 weeks in, but then I started waking up every morning with visible improvements. Hopefully the old scarring will go away too. I'm sure this brand is just as effective as any other for preventing pregnancy and I am super happy with the lack of noticeable side effects. If you have cystic acne, this might help you!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lconnelly | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/6/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 2 weeks and I hate it. I cannot wait to switch birth controls. I am so moody and cry over nothing constantly. Would not recommend

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rocky2727 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/14/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Tri-Estarylla for almost two weeks now. So far I don't have any complaints. I was hesitant at first with all the horrible reviews, but it's fine. I was on other generic birth control with the same ingredients so my transition to this one went well. I gave the effectiveness only 2 stars because I just started it so I'll see if I get pregnant or not. Another thing I also liked is I haven't had any breakthrough bleeding like I did with my other pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abc123 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/6/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Tri-Sprintec but changed pharmacies and was given this birth control and I hate it. I have only been on it from maybe a month and a half and I have been having mood swings and depression that I at first thought was just something I was going through but now realize it is this birth control. I do not want to use this ever again. If you can stay away from this birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/9/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been off of birth control for 7 years and decided to go back on due the increase of menstrual cramps and heavy bleeding. I really enjoyed the good effect it had on my symptoms and have no serious complaints. I did notice a bitter taste in my mouth and slight nausea but since i take my pill before bed it doesnt really affect me much. the bitter taste doesnt seem to be in any of the reviews ive read so i am wondering if it is indeed from the pill or another issue all together.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ticktickb0om | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Tri Sprintec and/or Tri Nessa for a few years (changed pharmacies a couple times) and just recently got new insurance which made me have to get my scripts filled somewhere else... who gave me Tri Estarylla. The first day was horrible.. I was extremely nauseous and dizzy and overall felt miserable. I gave it a few more days but it never got better. I've only ever had an issue with one birth control so I didn't think this switch would matter at all.. but it was horrible and I called my doctor within the first week to write me a new prescription so I could go back to my old pharmacy and pay out of pocket for Tri Nessa just so I wasn't miserable anymore. Stay awAy from this pill!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/22/2017
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on this a week and i can not stand it. i have been spotting the whole week with this nasty foul smell. i have never experience anything like this. i alhave had headaches all week where it has made me almost pass out so you might as well say migraine. other nights im so tired but cant fall asleep and usually im out by 1130-12. i feel useless and depressed and have no energy. im done with this pill. the dr gave this to me to regulate because i got 2-3 months with no period.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More