Show ratings & reviews for

2.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

39 People found this comment helpful

I have not had any side effects and have been taking Actonel for nearly 5 years. My last bone scan showed an improvement.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

jhihih

Shared reviews and ratings

Bonnie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/16/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the FDA should be sued for approving this HORRIBLE medication!! I thought I was dieing then wished I would. I will never take Actonel again after 1 year every Monday (took 35mg every Sunday) I had flu symptons..my groin pain is still there..sinus..diareah ,muscle aches..headaches-heartburn..fever..chills..PLEASE people do NOT take this medication. Oh and this RASH..the itch is unbearable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chris | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/14/2021
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking actonel for about 20 years. I am careful to follow the instructions eg not lying down afterwards and taking it with water. It has controlled my bone density loss, and I am still walking daily and having a good life at 80

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don't take it | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/5/2021
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fifteen years ago I was prescribed Actonel since my GP felt my bone density test was poor. I basically waltzed out of the bone density test though. After 2 months of taking Actonel, I went to my dentist thinking I needed 3 root canals for the pain. Dentist found nothing wrong. I stopped taking it Within another month I was bedridden with pain. After 6 months being bedridden I made it to a wheelchair thanks to the advice of a nutritionist. Here I am, 15 years later, still unable to walk more than a few steps. Actonel made my life horrible; it almost killed me!!! My current GP and other physicians I had to see all agree that I NEVER should have been prescribed Actonel. Please use proper nutrition, vitamins if necessary.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/29/2021
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took my first dose this morning with 8 oz of water. Walked around for approximately 45 minutes. No bending or leaning forward. No side effects. Waited for an hour to take my next medication. Waited 4 hours to take my vitamin D and calcium supplement. Still with no heartburn, stomach pain, or any other side effect. Will update as time passes as to the effectiveness for my bone density.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MD | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/2/2020
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a slight rib fracture from falling whilst running. Given two injections of Prolia, felt almost crippled right from the start, bone and joint pain. Reluctantly started taking weekly Actonel for past six months, I have one tablet left. Joint, bone and burning pain in my calves since the start. This has stopped me running and I have had enough, not taking last tablet and hope pain wears off. Went to GP and got the scare talk about rapid bone loss. Should have told me that would never have started and I wish I had read other comments. Walk, run and lift weights with an excellent diet. Going to take my chances, life is too short for this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary K | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2019
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 150 mg once a month for osteoporosis. Within 13 days one of my teeth I had a previous root canal on broke off at the gum line. I now have to have an implant which is very, very expensive and time consuming. I am scheduled to see the oral surgeon in a week and a half. I don't know if this drug caused this, but after reading horror stories about this drug I am very suspicious of it. I trusted my gynecologist and took this drug. He never warned me of the side effects nor did the Pharmacist. Other than this tooth problem I have had some gastrointestinal bloating. Read and research before taking any drugs. I threw the rest of my pills in the trash and will never take this medication again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2018
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took first pill monthly. Never so sick. Dizziness stomach pains heartburn. headaches so sick I thought I was dying. Missed work went to er told me the medications has to wear off. Never taking that horrible pill again. Not worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lildeb | 55-64 | Female | Patient
9/24/2018
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed Actonel Weekly Dosage for my osteoporosis. I took the first dose yesterday morning. I woke up this morning feeling like I'd been hit by a truck. Muscle aches like I'd worked out for hours; achy and feverish feeling. Just not feeling well also with stomach issues. Not sure I'm going to continue with this drug, especially with the other side effects I read on the circular regarding jaw problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Penny | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/24/2017
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking Actonel for 3 years, following a diagnosis of osteoporosis

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
raven622 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/24/2017
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wouldn't change this for any other drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patricia | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/25/2016
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

2004 I was prescribed Actonel weekly. Took one tablet with 2 glasses of water and remained upright for over an hour. After taking this tablet within one day I was constantly clearing my throat. By the time the next tablet was due in 7 days it had cleared. In 2006 I developed a tooth ache. The dentist ex rayed my jaw and found nothing wrong with my teeth but diagnosed early stage of NECROSIS. I was taken off Actonel immediately. Within days of stopping this tablet my throat became irritated exactly as it did after taking the weekly tablet. It is now 2016 and I am still suffering from this irritated throat and no GP has the decency to admit that Actonel has caused this. I know how I was before I started taking this tablet but GP's refuse to believe me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ann | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/15/2015
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Actonel for five years. I did not relate the problem I was having to the drug until after I stopped taking Actonel. I developed dry eyes. They were so bad, they would wake me up every night five or six times and I would have to put eye drops in so I could go back to sleep. During the day, I would have to excuse myself from meetings, etc. to leave the room to put eye drops in my eyes. I went to several eye doctors and all they could do was say I had dry eye syndrome and wanted me to start Restasis. I had read that you have to use this forever and I was reluctant to start it. I put up with the dry eye problem for years. My doctor took me off Actonel after the five years and after a few months, my dry eye problem completely went away!! I was so surprised and appreciative! Even while I was on Actonel, I read the side effects and nothing was ever mentioned about dry eyes. That is the reason I am writing this review so that others may have some hope that this problem may be caused by Actonel and is reversible once the drug is stopped. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female |
10/18/2015
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible pain in all my body i was not able to work for 3 day an excruciating headeach . How the FDA approved this medicine? The medicine will kill me instead of the little ostheosporosis i have ... Never again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
karen | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2015
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On day five post first dose of monthly generic form of Actonel. Continued severe dysentery (watery diarrhea), nausea, intestinal cramping and bloating back pain, swallowing issues following awakening. It would be nice to know when this might end. I could have gone out to the shed and ingested dangerous chemicals at a fraction of the cost and without the bother of an office visit. I reported the adverse reactions to the FDA's Medwatch voluntary report. It was a surprisingly simple procedure. I asked that they be "black boxed" like Proteo. A doctor wanted me to start on that but I refused because the black box warning (to his credit he mentioned it had a warning although he downplayed it). Since we cannot count on doctors to advise on possible side effects (the doctor who prescribed this Actonel to me didn't mention a word of warning, but called it a conservative treatment - perhaps it is if compared to something like a knife through the heart) we need outside sources to have be a voice for us. I encourage anyone who has had significant adverse reactions to this drug to advise the FDA Medwatch of your experience.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gena | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/26/2014
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor had me stop taking it after 5 years. During my visit he asked me about any extra bone growth in my mouth. There definitely was. My dental hygienist (clueless) had commented on it while taking xrays. Current x-rays show large bone masses underneath my tongue. After examination the dentist told me that the mandala and maxilla where the molars are have significantly widened. According to my 5-year x-ray history, this was not present at all before taking Actonel and apparently showed up during the last 3 years when I was unable to get the dental x-rays. I saw my dentist because my bite has changed and my teeth do not line up. Also, I am having pain when eating. I had perfect teeth before that but now I have receding gums and will have to have my bite corrected (braces at 59 yrs old) and extraction of a tooth. Unfortunately I have read that 75% of Osteonecrosis began in Actonel patients after dental surgery such as a tooth extraction! By the way, I have also been suffering with extreme joint pain, back paid and hair loss. I thought it was aging...but it seemed to be an abnormally extreme amount in a very short time frame. I now see that others who have taken Actonel have had the same symptoms. I have always been in good physical shape as I work out and have eat healthy. I feel 90 yrs old. Do not risk taking this medication. I don't know how long I will continue to suffer now that I've stopped and what will be the outcome of my jaws and face if I develop osteonecrosis of the jaw. If you find you have to take it, please monitor your dental & mouth changes carefully and stop before its too late.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Willow | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/11/2014
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am usually a healthy happy 57 year old female, & I was until I started on this medication. To be fair I have only been on it for 2 weeks but will be talking to my GP before taking it again. Both weeks, for the three days after taking the risedronate, I suffered flu like symptoms - sinusy type headache, aches & pains, foggy thinking, and also suffered sever stomach cramps. So much so that I had to have sick time off work both weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gymrat | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/11/2014
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the 150 mg dose of Actonel for 10 months now and I can't do it anymore! I was fine for the first 4 months and then the symptoms got much worse. I've had nausea, horrible stomach cramps, diarrhea, fever of 101, chills, aching joints and stools that smell like death! And they are lasting longer and longer, now up to 10 days out of the month. The latest addition was being awakened with a pain in my chest that felt like a heart attack, but thank the Lord wasn't. But I now have intermittent stabbing pains under my ribcage, which I'm not sure will go away. I haven't had a bone scan yet so I don't even know if it's working. I work out 2 hours a day, six days a week doing cardio and weights and I eat right. But my mother and grandmother both have severe osteoporosis so I guess I'm just doomed. My mother took Forteo and swears by it, but I'm not sure if my insurance company will go for that. Isn't it awful that they can dictate what drugs we can take? My Doctor scared me into taking this by telling me it was in my spine and any breaks would put an end to my active lifestyle; but this drug is doing it's best to do that anyway. It's hard to do a good work-out when you can't get to the gym because you have flu-like symptoms for days on end. Of course I've lost a little weight because of the burning in my stomach and intestines! Maybe it has given me an ulcer! I just wish there was something on the market that actually worked without making me want to die!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nannatootie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/9/2013
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started the medication. I would like to know more about it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pray4me! | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2013
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Actonel, has terrible side effects!!! I was (still am) very sick from the side effects. The first day, I had chills (shaking), fever 102, vomitting, aches/pain in my joints & back. I thought i had the Flu or Mono!!! My health was so bad, i had to go to the ER 3 times. By, the 3rd time, i had a migraine headache for days, then my speech & thoughts delayed. Then, i kept loosing my balance. The ER doctor thought that i had stroke....now i am still sick, my finger, throat, nose & ears are numb. I have an appt w/ doctor (Neurologist), to make sure that this condition isn't permanent. Please don't take this drug, before doing your research!!!!!!!!! BEWARE!!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AZmenopause | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/21/2013
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My endocrinologist prescribed actonel 150 mg to go along with atenolol 50 mg to treat hypertension. I was leaving his appointment when he decided to have the assistant re-take my blood pressure and that's when he discovered that my bp shot way up (in just a few minutes' time) and is the reason why he changed my diagnosis from simply high bp to hypertension. Okay so he prescribed this actonel and after 4 mos. of taking it (once/mo)I can report that the day I take the pill I begin to feel lousy - tightening of the chest, headache, some neck pain and nausea. I actually did not associate this with the pill until I researched online for side effects of actonel. You can deduce what you want, but I wanted to share this info with others in case it helps b/c "chest pain" is not listed with the other typical side effects. I feel it is related to actonel because I did not have these symptoms prior to taking actonel. I wish you well! <>< Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More