Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

75 People found this comment helpful

I see a lot of comments about adverse effects of frequent urination, loose bowels, yeast infections, excessive thirst...This medication enables your kidneys to filter out the glucose in your system. This is not a normal kidney function. This medication is meant to aid you not do all the work for you. You are thirsty and pee a lot because your kidneys are working overtime to release the glucose. Ye...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I took 100mg 2x a day for almost 2 weeks and did not have a blood sugar reading under 200. I then went up to 300mg 2x a day and my blood sugar readings got worse. I drank fluids like there was no tomorrow and went to the bathroom constantly. I would get so light headed in the mornings that I could hardly function. My doctor can't believe that I had so many issues because all his other patients are...

Shared reviews and ratings

mary | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am 64 and my first dose caused me to have periods again and severe pain in my right side. this scares me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/1/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Put me in ER with DKA

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindy Mc | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/29/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 200 mg of Invokana a day and lost 10lbs and brought my A1C from 9 to 8. Then after about 2 years it stopped working and I was put on 300mg and lost another 10 lbs. A year later and my A1C is going back up and have to add Trulicity once a week and Doctor upped my Glimepiride from 2 mg to 4 mg. I had no side effects with Invokana but you have to drink a lot of water with Invokana cause thatâ??s how you get rid of the sugar. Hopefully no side effects from the Trulicity.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BeeBuzzer | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/11/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Acute pancreatitis episode which is rare but has been found. Needs to be added to side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/21/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 100mg w/Lantus per doctor. Now I'm taking 300mg w/o Lantus. My A1C went from 7.8 to 6.3. Only side effect is loss of weigh. I went from 154-144 in 4 months; I'm 5'8" I looked sick. But over all no other side effects. I'm monitoring my meds, next update coming up 12/7, up my #'s are still good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nosugar | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/25/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

100 mg took my A1C down .4, with no side effects. Be sure to drink at least a quart of water a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SharronF | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/28/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first week, I just felt bad in general but within 2 weeks, my morning BG fell from 170 to 120. I've been on it for 4 months and my A1C has gone from 8.2 to 7.4. I've lost 8 pounds. My cardiologist put me on Omega 3s and with the invokanna, my triglycerides have fallen from 350 to 120. I've had no more side effects at all. As an aside, I also take glucotrol every morning and night, but it was failing to work on my morning sugars or control my A1c. I am very, very happy that so far, I am able to control my bg much better. I'm only one 100 mgm before breakfast. So far, so good! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
elnicellen | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Invokana 100mg for almost two months now and have really started to see in improvement in my blood sugar levels. I am following a low-carb diet and so far I have lost 17 lbs. I am drinking plenty of fluids and haven't had a trouble from side-effects, so I am very happy with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
poboy973 | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/19/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was very skeptical of taking this at first because of the side effects. I started taking it and so far so good. No side effects, I also have been taking them with cranberry pills to help as a precaution from the side effects. I haven't had my A1C checked yet, however my daily blood sugars have gone from mid 200's to low 100"s and I feel a little better. sometimes it goes a little low and I get the symptoms of low blood sugar, but I just snack a little and I feel fine. it's always scary reading the reviews of what every thinks and says, because you don't how it's going to inner act with your body and the medication your already taking. I also take metformin and glyburide and insulin and I have cut back and some days I don't take them all because of fear of too low blood sugar. so, it's still early in my fight to be under and in control of my sugar, but I'm still fighting. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bruce | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/25/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started with an a1c of 10 and sugar at 250. First 2 days as my sugar dropped was extremely depressed and felt really bad. Talked to dr.and he explainex completely normal because my body is to high sugar. 2 weeks later, no side effects. Headaches gone, feel good and blood sugar averages 150 or less. On a low carb eating plan. Looking forward to see what blood sugar will be in another 2 weeks! Mood is great and walking daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anita | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/21/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked well with lowering my A1C from 9.0 to 5.7. I have been on this for over a year. Then I started having severe UTI's with bloody urine. Yeast infections are a problem. Being tried on another med because of UTI's. I wish I could stay on it, but must the side effects are becoming too severe. Mild weight loss with this meds too. You need to be stay at home or at a profession where you can go to the restroom a lot!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mattiedale | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/18/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this Med for over 6 months with no noticeable side effects. A1c dropped from 7.1 to 6.2. Haven't had a real noticeable weight loss but I am an admitted carbaholic. Still working on the diet and hope to get off the meds eventually.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MO | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/26/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking for a little over a month and a half. I lost 8 lbs, in the first month, my fasting blood sugars have dropped from the 160s to the low 90s. Mid day and pre/post meal numbers have dropped from around 190s to the 120s. No problems with UTI so far. Drinking 120 oz of water/day (three 40oz hydroflask bottles). I am waking in the night once or twice to use the bathroom so, not sleeping as well (more time spent in a REM (dreaming) state). First month on 100mg/day. Currently on 200mg/day after cutting glyburide in half. Couldn't be happier with the reduction in blood sugar numbers. Plan is to continue to take invokana and come off the glyburide completely(metformin also hopefully)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ashejul01 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/7/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first, I suffered from increased UTI's but that subsided over 3-6 months. Lost 10 pounds and A1C dropped from 11.2 to 7.0 over six months. I do get up at least once each night to urinate, but a lot of that is due to my increased intake of water to stay hydrated. Overall I am pleased with this drug and have had minimal side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
becky | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/4/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

lost wieght ,felt better all round. side effects thrush. uti. had to have extra antibiotics and thrush meds. bladder area ached.felt more alert. people commented i looked much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Momis | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

3 days of taking 500 mg a day on the 4th day in the am i was awakened with shortness of breath ,dry-mouth,fast-heartbeat,anxiety to which i had to go in to the emergency room for. they ran test on blood and found my potassium had fallen to 3.0 they gave me 2 shots of potassium in orange juice and i began to feel so much better after that was sent home stopped Invokana and went to see my Dr. on Monday and we agreed to stoop this medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tbear62 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/25/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had nearly 3/4 of the side effects from this med. I take Atenolol as well and this med just messed me up in ways I had never experienced before. I took MYSELF off it. I dont have Type2 but am PRE type 2 and have been for over 40 years due to PCOS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/17/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this in December. I am down 30 pounds and eating and drinking normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EP Clem | 55-64 | Female | Patient
7/13/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

blood sugar levels have in approved. but constantly having yeast and bladder infections. also nausea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coup | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/9/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this drug for over a year now and my A1C under control and easier to manage. Currently I take Invokana with Janumet each day and my A1C has consistently been at 5.5. These results were not instant and took about 6-9 months to acheive. I have also lost about 2-3 pounds per month totaling just over 50 pounds and weight loss began immediately. I did have suffer from a UTI once I began using the drug but that problem has since gone away. A side effect I noticed because of weight loss is now I am no longer taking any BP medicine as this is managed. So far life is good as we continue to monitor my results and tests.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More