Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

51 People found this comment helpful

Stopped my anxiety attacks (two recent visits to ER). At the ER they gave me lorazepam. My doctor put me on 5 mg per day olanzapine because lorazepam is a depressant and could trigger another anxiety atack (paradoxically even though it is an antianxiolitic) before the flouxetine he also prescribed stabilizes me. I had to reduce to 2.5 mg after first dose of olanzapine because of severe lethargy (M...

Most voted negative review

13 People found this comment helpful

headache dreams apples

Shared reviews and ratings

Thang | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/28/2022
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It kills off all the negative thought in one stroke, one pill of 10 mg kills it after days of hallucinations, as for weight gain I suggest you associate more with sex and love than food, because sex and food are interchangeable, you can choose, also eat only twice a day and in evening eat snack, have more sex and less food, don't eat bread or rice, if you are on spiritual path then it helps take away the visions, you can imagine seeing Jesus and it is just your mind playing trick, Olanzapine will ground you and let you progress in meditation and silence, you are faced with 2 choices, either rot and die or take advantage of the sanity Olanzapine provide to seek spiritual, find someone you love and have sex rather than eat, and meditate, because your soul is not your mind, but without a calm mind you cannot reach the soul, also I heard that enlightened people cannot sleep because of too much light, and sleep rejuvenate so if you are enlightened, Olanzapine can help you sleepRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/25/2022
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I struggled with bipolar disorder my entire life. My depression lasted years with little to no breaks. I had a manic episode that caused me to seek outpatient care. Where I was diagnosed with psychosis and then prescribed Olanzapine. I’ve been taking it for a little over 3 months. The symptoms I’m experiencing are increase in apatite and weight gain. However if you are an athlete like me the symptoms should be manageable. Olanzapine helps with insomnia as well. During my manic episodes racing thoughts would keep me awake. These racing thoughts and delusional thinking at that have subsided although they haven’t stopped entirely. I like Olanzapine and I don’t think you should be afraid of trying it to help with your mood. It’s a very good mood stabilizer.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unknown | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/15/2022
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helped at first. I was prescribed 5mg for mania. It instantly knocks you out but gives you a LOT of side effects. I went from being an athlete with abs at 78kg to 115kg almost prediabetic. Be careful with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dani | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/10/2022
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Olanzipine does what It needs to do however it can cause weight gain and essesive eating later during the night after taking it. I struggled with my weight ever since 2018 being on it. I've managed to introduce excises once a day for 2 has a day. I was a over 100 kiols and maneged to get in the 90s now. If you don't want to gain weight suggest other medications as olanzipine without excises and poor diet leads to extreme weight gain. Hope my advise can help you

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
666zapine | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/5/2022
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

From the first day I tried this I hated it, but was stuck on it for some unknown reason (trauma maybe?) then three years later, still stuck on it and things manage to get worse. Now five and a half years later and they got EVEN WORSE. I was able to lower from 15mg to 10mg but am stuck on that now and life could not be worse. This drug has completely ruined me, high blood pressure since I started it, weight gain, smoking habit that I cannot stop no matter what I do, not to mention the constant fear and terror I feel on it that drives me to try another antipsychotic just to realize i'm either too addicted to this one or none of the other antipsychotics out there work. I didn't have a choice in taking this but if you do... PLEASE look for an alternative, this thing will cripple you and enslave you all in the same go.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Be careful, this drug can cause EXTREME withdrawal symptoms if you try to go off them. I am not sure why they prescribed this to me for normal depression, but this medication wasn’t helping me at all. I never had trouble sleeping before, but I became dependent on this drug to sleep. I cannot sleep without it anymore. The worst is how, even while tapering off with the help of a professional, I get extremely sick if I stop taking it. Constant nausea and vomiting and intense anxiety attacks that don’t stop until I begin taking it again. Numerous times, I have spent two weeks throwing up nonstop and being bedridden before I gave up and began taking the medication again. To this day I continue to be dependent and addicted to a drug I do not need. I cannot speak for its effectiveness with schizophrenia or insomnia, as I do not have those.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/7/2022
Condition: Mental Disorder with Loss of Normal Personality & Reality
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine is horrible. I am 14 years old and gained almost 80 pounds taking it from January to June. My family members told me i was acting meaner and was very tired when I was on it, but it reduced my symptoms of OCD, so i stayed on it. Please do not take this medicine.... find an alternative I did like 2 -3 weeks ago and ive already lost almost 10 pounds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Britt | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/7/2022
Condition: Depression associated with Bipolar Disorder, Adjunct Treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

STAY AWAY FROM THIS MEDICATION! It has been absolute h*ll I started this drug after pregnancy about 2.5 years ago. At first it seemed like it was really stabilizing my mood… but then everything started happening I was getting VERY nauseous every single day I was living off nausea meds for the last 2.5 years .. there wasn’t a single day that went by that I didn’t take them. My doctor just kept saying it wasn’t my meds. Next… I gained 80+ pounds while on this medication which…. GAVE ME TYPE 2 DIABETES!!!! My other doctor (my primary care doctor) told me this medication caused all these issues and didn’t know why my doctor didn’t get me off sooner Ok… so eventually in may I start weening down I was at 10mg Then 7.5 To 5mg and then 2.5mg A week ago my doctor said “hey it’s such a small dosage just completely stop taking it if you want” So I did…. I AM HAVING THE WORST WITHDRAWAL she never mentioned any of this! I have been sleeping next to a garbage can for 5 days! I am dizzy, shaking, i have the chills and am extremely cold She told me nobody gets withdrawals Last night I googled it (please do research on this drug) and NUMEROUS (a TON) of people had the exact same experience as me and their withdrawal was HORRIBLE! Some said it lasted weeks to months… and they had horrible lingering effects from this drug This drug has RUINED MY LIFE Since getting off and lowering my dose I have lost 16 pounds in 6 weeks So this medication just made me eat eat and EAT it was horrible I now have diabetes and have to work on that every single day I was sick for 2.5 years of MY LIFE!!!! This drug is horrible. I don’t understand why they still prescribe it to people! I am not the only one with this experience… please do your research!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angry man a | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It hasn't helped me with my anger and yelling this drug is weak and pitiful it doesn't work for me my anger is still there mentally and emotionally hurting physically and mentally I hate it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For acute psychosis, was prescribed 5mg tablets. Taking them at night, I still had severe drowsiness through the day. I split it into 2.5mg pills (doctor approved) and still took at night, which worked well for me. Almost immediately eliminated delusions and hallucinations, and I felt my mood improve (I also experience depression). I didn’t take the medication one night to see if the psychosis had lessened; I hallucinated again and took the 2.5 dose and it worked fo eliminate symptoms within 1 hour. Can’t speak to long term treatment (though that’s likely where I’m headed).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/21/2022
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m a 16 year old teenage girl. I’ve been taking this since I was 5. It is super effective at treating my bipolar and anger. I take 20 mg

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
juju | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/11/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have OCD and Generalized Anxiety Disorder. I started taking Olanzapine because of an acute OCD episode. It helped me so much, but I couldn't deal with the side effects. It basically eliminated my OCD thoughts and it also helped me sleep better. But, I gained a lot of weight quickly and my cholesterol went up a lot. So I decided to discontinue the medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Magpie126 | Patient
5/6/2022
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m bipolar and it’s been fairly under control for a long time with just little hypomanic episodes here and there lasting a few days at the most. Recently though I started a hypomanic episode that got progressively worse and I knew I had to call my doctor for help and she put me on this med. she told me from the get go that it’s a “heavy hitter” and I’ve taken enough psych meds to know how that goes. This is my fourth day on it and I have been seriously been sleeping most of each day and am groggy when I’m not sleeping nodding off while watching tv or on my computer. As for stopping the hypomania I can’t tell if it’s doing anything and luckily my doctor said I would be on it less than 2 weeks, oh and I am only on 2.5mg! Thank goodness I am not working right now because I probably would be fired as there is absolutely NO way I can work while taking this. I am also fortunate enough (or unfortunate) to have lots of experience in taking new psych meds so I know they can make you tired. I’m going to see how I feel when I hit one week but I REFUSE to take this more than 2 weeks, I’d rather be hypomanic Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/24/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Olanzipine due to midnight awakening. And it helped for sure. I slept throughout the night for 7 or 8 hours when I took the medicine. But the side effects were terrible. I gained weight which is a common side effect. And even worse than that I started to see and imagine things on my skin starting from having tightly packed holes or pores on my skin out of which little things came out and later insects or clusters of pins attached to my skin and sometimes spikes coming out of my skin which made me go crazy because it made me feel really uncomfortable. Even seeing images or videos of things like that made me go crazy. I couldn't even look at the Coronavirus symbol because it had things coming out of it and I imagined it on my skin. This is a terrible side effect which made me immediately stop the pill and it is taking months for this side effect to ware off. I hate this pill and advise against it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thinker | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/4/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine caused me incredible problems after 2 months of use. After the planting, hell ensued. It took me a whole year to start feeling better, I hardly slept all year, I lost my appetite, I was constantly shaking, I was alternately cold and hot. I was mentally at the bottom. I couldn't live normally. It wasn't until a year later that it started to improve, then I started my own medicine and in 1/2 year I was completely healthy and without consequences. Now I'm going to file a lawsuit against the doctor.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abena |
8/8/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was going through post traumatic stress disorder and my psychiatrist doctor prescribe olanzipan 2.5mg.it help me sleep at night but with the side effects of palpitations, trembling, numbness etc.apart from these side effect the medication has help me subsided my symptoms. But very difficult in dealing with side effects of medicine. But don't plan taking it for a long period

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Faiza Shariff | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2021
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I was 25 I was diagnosed with Severe Manic Bi-Polar Disorder. What a relief, I finally had a reason why I acted the way I did. Tried every cocktail of pills imaginable. I live in a constant state of mania. The mania is so bad I actually woke up in the middle of heart surgery, and they couldn’t put me back out. When I was 37 I decided no more meds. I had a good ten years, now it’s back with a vengeance. I got a new job. I didn’t realize I was so manic until a few people asked me if I was “coked up” I went to my Dr. and he added Olanzapine to my current cocktail. It’s only been a week, but I am very calm inside. A big part of me is my big personality. The way society is, it’s better that they think I’m a coke head than tell them the truth, that I have a mental illness. I already have what they call flat affect. No highs, no lows, nothing. I feel nothing. I feel like they just medicate us so we can try to fit into the “norms of society”. I am emotionally chemically restrained. I don’t fit in anywhere. I’m not suicidal or homicidal. This is a horrible roller coaster to be on, and all the psychiatrist does is let you talk for about an hour and refills scripts. They don’t really want to address the actual trauma that got me here. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/21/2021
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication helped get me back on track after an experience with a bad psychiatrist. I lost a couple years. It really helps with delusions, voices and racing thoughts. It also has a calming effect. It helped my thoughts become more organized. It definitely has some side effect like feeling like your in a coma or detached feelings. Also walking is more difficult so I take the lowest possible dose now 2.5 mg. It keeps you mood in neutral with no highs and lows. One disappointing down side is that you won’t have an orgasm during sex anymore.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Overseas patien | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

They start using this medicine for my dad yday after that he see some people around us and talk to nobody he imagine some people come and go and he see animals and snakes I advise nobody used this poison plz safe your life it’s like drugs ????????????Be careful. Only one time and my father became like crazy talking to himself and confused. Bad medicine I wish they stopped

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jason Mehlhoff | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/16/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Zyprexa since 2000. This medication has saved my life I feel. I am working. I live a good life. I am fairly happy. Things are good. I believe this medication can work for certain people. Best wishes to you all. There is hope.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More