Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

I have been using Spiriva for a couple of years, switched to the easier use about a year ago. The medication works well for me. But even with a prescription drug plan I find the cost to be out site. Medicare allows a set amount of drug cost per year, I find myself in the donut hole by August each year. MD looking for a drug I can afford.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Cannot believe the FDA approved this "new" med. Hard to put together, hard to turn, and stupid way to keep track of the doses..and the PRICE...really disgusting!! Very dissatisfied.

Shared reviews and ratings

RebeccaEileen | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worst design ever! takes a mechanic to put this inhaler together and by then you could die. SMH. Will contact my Dr and tell him so. Should be taken off the market IMO

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken Jones | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/13/2022
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Difficult to set up for use. My unit was defective. Called manufacturer - waste of time, Couldn't answer direct questions. Slick but defective design.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liz405 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/12/2022
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Poorly designed cartridge is difficult to use even after watching the online instructions. I see very little improvement in my breathing & with the increase in price, I will be informing my physician that I will no longer use Spiriva Respimat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nana | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Prevention of Bronchospasms with Emphysema
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on this medication for 3 days, but I seriously have not experienced breathlessness throughout the entire day using this inhaler 1X a day in the morning when I wake up. I forget that I struggle to breath!! I previously used albuterol a few times a day to avoid labored breathing, especially when wearing a mask inside a store. Today, I was having a procedure that monitored my pulsox and it was reading 99...This has been a life changer for me!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joop | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/14/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son was given this to try, replacing his flutiform and ventolin, he said it was useless. Suffering from asthma myself I decided to give it a go, absolutely useless. Like the device though, its pretty cool! But as for working? Def not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sherrill | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/29/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Dr has prescribed Spiriva for my asthma and COPD however it is very difficult to use the cartridge keeps popping out and does not work have tried two separate cartridges same issues called the manufacturer and they were to call me back regarding the issues but never called back. Not worth the cost and aggravation to hard. To use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sa | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/14/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Spiriva causes a reflex cough when I inhale it. So I must be missing some of the dose. Icing the back of the mouth/throat helps a bit but makes the experience time consuming and annoying.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Screen Name | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/13/2021
Condition: Prevention of Bronchospasm with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Inhaler does not work half the time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
peanut | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2020
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

insurance dose not pay much on it Not worth 341.00

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2020
Condition: Prevention of Bronchospasms with Emphysema
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My copd had taken me down to where most household chores would have me panting and have to sit down, I have been using a nebulizer and an enhaler but they became inefective.My doctor prescribed spiriva and it instantly turned me around to where I can live a normal life, It's a miracle drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Catie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/10/2020
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with early onset of COPD. (I had no symptoms) Since I started taking it I have noticed a heaviness in my chest that I have never had before starting this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/18/2019
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Capsules empty at least 2 per 30 day prescription For Expensive med cannot afford to have empty capsules Cant find contact email address for manufacturer

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DlBruni | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/30/2019
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The last two Rx refills look exactly like they always do. However upon inhalation there is a very strong taste/smell of soap.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
teegee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/30/2019
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

curious..my teeth are now splitting chunks of enamel and are cracking. is anyone else having this problem?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JBN | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/10/2019
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am coughing up more yellow mucus. Also have blurred vision . Last prescription I got has a bad smell and taste . I will take it back to Drug store and hopefully get a refund. It smells like silage and garlic mixed together.I have been using it for 2years with a little improvement in breathing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LWD01915 | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/7/2018
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My allergist switched me from Advair to Spiriva Respimat for my allergy(allergies) induced asthma, saying that it was the preferable one for me. I had not complained or had any problems with Advair. This was in August of 2017. I was never told that I had to gargle or rinse my mouth after using it. I DID do that with the Advair. Flash forward to 4 days ago. I just stopped taking it after I experienced severe hoarse throat (nearly continuously since I started it), sinus problems, a constant cough and a feeling as if my throat was constricted. PLUS, my breathing problems worsened. My PCP was the one who told me to stop immediately and he made an appointment for me for tomorrow (5/9/18) to see a Ear/Nose/Throat specialist to see if any permanent damage has been done. Obviously, I hope not but I am very angry that I've felt so ill for the better part of a year.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
metooooooooo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2018
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I now have this weird cough, and its like there is something stuck back in the top of my throat.It never really gave me the full nice breaths I was getting on a prior medication. Im off to the drs to try something else.This weird cough is CONSTANT

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smokyjamz | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/29/2017
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although high priced. This mist has been very effective in controlling my COPD and wheezing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
newbie | 75 or over | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/7/2017
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been monitoring my borderline high cholesterol levels all my adult life and have managed, with diet and exercise, to keep it under control.I am 76. I was diagnosed with copd last spring and prescribed Spiriva Resprimat. After two months on this drug all of my cholesterol numbers were elevated. Pulmonary MD says there are no studies to show the relationship, but I'd like to try something else. What would it be?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Road | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/29/2016
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Spirive Handihaler for several years with good results, then lost my insurance and was not able to afford the over $300 a month, so tried Advair with good results but just recently was given Spiriva Respimat from the VA and have been using it now for a month and a half. And in the last month I have notice shortness of breath much more severe than before, I use to be able to get through most of the day without struggling for breath, but this last month has been extremely difficult. I prefer the Handihaler but I`ve heard it`s no longer available..I may go back to the Advair. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More