Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

I have been using Spiriva for a couple of years, switched to the easier use about a year ago. The medication works well for me. But even with a prescription drug plan I find the cost to be out site. Medicare allows a set amount of drug cost per year, I find myself in the donut hole by August each year. MD looking for a drug I can afford.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I have been monitoring my borderline high cholesterol levels all my adult life and have managed, with diet and exercise, to keep it under control.I am 76. I was diagnosed with copd last spring and prescribed Spiriva Resprimat. After two months on this drug all of my cholesterol numbers were elevated. Pulmonary MD says there are no studies to show the relationship, but I'd like to try something...

Shared reviews and ratings

Sa | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/14/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Spiriva causes a reflex cough when I inhale it. So I must be missing some of the dose. Icing the back of the mouth/throat helps a bit but makes the experience time consuming and annoying.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Screen Name | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/13/2021
Condition: Prevention of Bronchospasm with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Inhaler does not work half the time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
peanut | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2020
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

insurance dose not pay much on it Not worth 341.00

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2020
Condition: Prevention of Bronchospasms with Emphysema
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My copd had taken me down to where most household chores would have me panting and have to sit down, I have been using a nebulizer and an enhaler but they became inefective.My doctor prescribed spiriva and it instantly turned me around to where I can live a normal life, It's a miracle drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Catie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/10/2020
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with early onset of COPD. (I had no symptoms) Since I started taking it I have noticed a heaviness in my chest that I have never had before starting this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/18/2019
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Capsules empty at least 2 per 30 day prescription For Expensive med cannot afford to have empty capsules Cant find contact email address for manufacturer

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DlBruni | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/30/2019
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The last two Rx refills look exactly like they always do. However upon inhalation there is a very strong taste/smell of soap.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
teegee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/30/2019
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

curious..my teeth are now splitting chunks of enamel and are cracking. is anyone else having this problem?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JBN | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/10/2019
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am coughing up more yellow mucus. Also have blurred vision . Last prescription I got has a bad smell and taste . I will take it back to Drug store and hopefully get a refund. It smells like silage and garlic mixed together.I have been using it for 2years with a little improvement in breathing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LWD01915 | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/7/2018
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My allergist switched me from Advair to Spiriva Respimat for my allergy(allergies) induced asthma, saying that it was the preferable one for me. I had not complained or had any problems with Advair. This was in August of 2017. I was never told that I had to gargle or rinse my mouth after using it. I DID do that with the Advair. Flash forward to 4 days ago. I just stopped taking it after I experienced severe hoarse throat (nearly continuously since I started it), sinus problems, a constant cough and a feeling as if my throat was constricted. PLUS, my breathing problems worsened. My PCP was the one who told me to stop immediately and he made an appointment for me for tomorrow (5/9/18) to see a Ear/Nose/Throat specialist to see if any permanent damage has been done. Obviously, I hope not but I am very angry that I've felt so ill for the better part of a year.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
metooooooooo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2018
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I now have this weird cough, and its like there is something stuck back in the top of my throat.It never really gave me the full nice breaths I was getting on a prior medication. Im off to the drs to try something else.This weird cough is CONSTANT

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smokyjamz | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/29/2017
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although high priced. This mist has been very effective in controlling my COPD and wheezing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
newbie | 75 or over | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/7/2017
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been monitoring my borderline high cholesterol levels all my adult life and have managed, with diet and exercise, to keep it under control.I am 76. I was diagnosed with copd last spring and prescribed Spiriva Resprimat. After two months on this drug all of my cholesterol numbers were elevated. Pulmonary MD says there are no studies to show the relationship, but I'd like to try something else. What would it be?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Road | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/29/2016
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Spirive Handihaler for several years with good results, then lost my insurance and was not able to afford the over $300 a month, so tried Advair with good results but just recently was given Spiriva Respimat from the VA and have been using it now for a month and a half. And in the last month I have notice shortness of breath much more severe than before, I use to be able to get through most of the day without struggling for breath, but this last month has been extremely difficult. I prefer the Handihaler but I`ve heard it`s no longer available..I may go back to the Advair. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alisha | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/22/2016
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't been on this medication for very long but it has already helped me with my breathing problems. Of course, I have to use it alongside my Ventolin rescue inhaler for it to be effective. If I can get it down to just using one inhaler, that would be great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
charliee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2016
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I thought I was going to DIE! The reactions I had withing 24 hours, called the Dr, they told me the reactions weren't due Spiriva, I took for 3 more weeks and called back this time Dr said Stop, I'm having reactions. I still have Vision loss in my right eye, I was waking up in a pool of swet, swelling, felt like my head was going to explode. I filled out a form to the FDA about it. I Suffered severely on Spiriva.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peg | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/16/2016
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cannot believe the FDA approved this "new" med. Hard to put together, hard to turn, and stupid way to keep track of the doses..and the PRICE...really disgusting!! Very dissatisfied.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/30/2016
Condition: Prevention of Bronchospasms with Emphysema
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used the handihaler for almost 10 years. Can't get much easier to use than putting a capsule in the handinhler and breathing. The new respimat system in much TOO DIFFICULT to operate. I use many other inhalers and none are as frustrating as this one. Don't know why they changed it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
oldgal23916 | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/26/2016
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Spiriva for a couple of years, switched to the easier use about a year ago. The medication works well for me. But even with a prescription drug plan I find the cost to be out site. Medicare allows a set amount of drug cost per year, I find myself in the donut hole by August each year. MD looking for a drug I can afford.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GoldenElf3325aol.com | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/1/2015
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Spirva Respimat is working for me but occasionally causes me to cough and I'm afraid I'm losing some of the dose. Is this common and is it o.k.? I have used Spirva Capsules for several years and just started the Respimat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More