Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

101 People found this comment helpful

My dermatologist advised me to proceed slowly with this gel, adding a small amount more per day to my regular rosacea moisturizer. Even a small amount immediately cleared up my redness for almost the whole day. I have been very happy with it. For anyone having problems, try this "go slow" method that my doctor told me about.

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I just discovered this medicine. My dermatologist gave me a sample, and the first two days were great, but the next two not so much. It is great in the morning, but then by early afternoon, my face is more red than it originally was, and it's really warm. I'm trying to decide if I should continue, as I'm hoping this is just my skin getting used to it? Anyone else experience this as the medi...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/23/2022
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been using Mirvaso for many years and it is the only med that reliably reduces the redness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/16/2022
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked great the first two days. The morning of the third day after I applied it my face begin to burn and became beet read. AVOID

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LJ | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2022
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first 2 days were great and I was so excited but then the side effects started!! My face is having flare ups for most of the day now and my face is boiling and it’s even effecting areas that weren’t that noticeable before!! I hope these side effects don’t last long!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steph khoury | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS CREAM. I some redness on one side of my face, so my dermatologist prescribed Mirvaso, not mentioning the possible side effects. I applied a small amount on my entire face and for redness was completely gone in 30 mins, I was so happy to see that this is working for me, 3 hours later, my face was burning and was completely red, way worse than it was originally. I did my research on Mirvaso and was shocked by all the negative reviews about this product. I only used it once and 2 days later my face is still red and flushing. I hope ome time wasn't enough to ruin my face. I don't even understand how Mirvaso is FDA approved when 90% of the reviews are negative. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toby | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/18/2020
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mild case of rosacea with redness on nose and cheeks. I have never had an issue with bumps or pimples but today, day 3, I woke up and everywhere that I applied the gel has red bumps and my face is redder than normal. I will not continue to use Mirvaso.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ellen | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/7/2019
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been happy with the results of Mirvaso. I don’t use it every day but it is always there if I need to get rid of the red quickly. One tube lasts a long time. It is really worth the expense.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/9/2018
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been using this for several years. Use daily in the early morning. No miracle, but happy with results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mommy_NJ | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/1/2018
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was using Mirvaso for 18 months. I mean, with a VERY mild rosacea, only a few spots on my face, I just used the gel once a week. God, I was so happy! My skin had no redness whatsoever! Beautiful, pale, clean face. Then, in April 2018, I noticed a small, red, penny-size spot on my cheek. Well, to cover it, I started using Mirvaso every day (it worked for a few hours) - and I noticed my cheeks started getting more red, skin was sensitive, itchy and felt burning. I spoke to my dermatologist and she said: Oh, you have sensitive skin, you have rosacea, use more Miravaso, you will be fine. So I followed her directions.. do I have to tell you that a 10-days Mirvaso supply cost over $700? My face started looking TERRIBLE!!! Red, chemical burn looking - the spots became HUGE! I was not able to cover them - unless, of course, I would use Miravaso - then it was ok for about 1 hour. Came back to the doctor - she gave me some meds so I put the steroid ointment first and then .. yes - she told me to put Mirvaso! In the meantime my lips started looking strange - they got swollen, extremely dry, looked like cracked with clear discharge.. So painful. So ugly. I was not able to sleep, my face felt like someone put salt on open wounds... The pain woke me up several times a night. I looked horrible. I saw a few doctors until one (!) - God bless her - was smart (and brave) enough to tell me the truth: it was Mirvaso's side effect: rebound redness. She said that a lot of dermatologists strongly recommend Mirvaso because they accept pharma gifts so they often prescribe unnecessary expensive drugs (often knowing that they are not going to help anyway). Guys, for any reason, please do not use Mirvaso! My face looks awful: big dark red spots all over - people in the stores ask me if I need medical help - nightmare! My skin became so thin and wrinkly that you cannot even imagine. Find an HONEST dermatologist who can help you. BTW, I stopped using Mirvaso last week - face still the sameRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karen | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/21/2018
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Maybe someone already thought of this but I mix Mirvaso with an OTC hydrocortisone cream before applying. no rebound at all!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/9/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hate to be one of the bad reviewers, but my derm gave me 2 sample tubes to try after arranging the laser treatment. First application worked amazingly as did the second. Honestly thought that this was a solution. On the third day I did not apply, and got the rebound flush from hell. I was red/purple in new patterns and places for 2 days straight. Prior to this my nose did not turn red with my face, but now it is the most affected area. A full week after, and I am still experiencing strange rebound effects. They did warn me about the rebound possibility, but I did not expect one lasting days at a time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Redface | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/12/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mirvaso makes the redness so much worse!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vininy 60 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/17/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mirvaso really helps me but it took a few times to figure out how to best use it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sally | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/23/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mirvaso really works for me. I've been using it off and on for several years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
richard8 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/28/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

makes my redness go away and nothing else will

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beckypierz | 45-54 | Female | Patient
4/16/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Six days since Mirvaso was prescribed. Days 1,2: fantastic, applied in the morning. About 20 minutes later saw a very noticeable diminishing of my facial redness. About two hours later, wow! Can't remember my skin being such a normal color for at least 15 years. So thrilled. The result lasted all day and night. Days 3,4: applied the same as the prior two days. After about two hours I felt a little strange, lightheaded. Then I felt my face tingling, odd. I looked in the mirror and was shocked, both cheeks were bright red, much deeper than my normal flushing and not my usual pattern. Then just as quickly as it came on the color went away. Completely. Was flush-free the rest of both days. So I started strategizing how to apply it early enough that this rebound effect would occur before my work day started. Yes, the reduction in redness otherwise was so awesome that I was determined to stick with it. Then that night, about 12 hours after application I felt my face getting hot. Looked in the mirror, sure enough completely red face. All over, not just cheeks. Like a bad sunburn. Uh oh. Spent several hours online reading about mirvaso rebound. So depressing. Day five: did not apply. Went to salon for hair cut. During blow dry my face turned BEET red. Very embarrassing, much worse than ever. But it went away after about 30 minutes. Throughout day five I had about 5-6 "episodes", intense flushing with relatively rapid diminishment. Day six - today. Woke up three hours ago with pink face, it went away. I am red again now as I write this. I'm very worried about this. Several high profile events over the next two weeks. I hope it normalizes quickly. Things I've read online have not been very encouraging though. I will call my derm in the morning and ask her a) why she didn't mention this possibility, and b) what can I do to recover?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MySweetLoves | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/25/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT! My 15 year old son is light-skinned, blonde and blue eyed and tends to flush(German descent). This bothered him, so we spoke to his dermatologist and she prescribed Mirvaso. He was so excited to try it and applied it thinly over his face. Within 20 minutes his skin was deathly pale with mottling at the edges and around his eyes. He looked terrible. Within 10 hours, his face started turning an angry red as if he had been slapped repeatedly. He then started feeling faint. I took him to the med clinic and the doctor there prescribed steroids to reduce inflammation and Benadryl. We are still waiting anxiously for his handsome face to return to normal. This is after ONE use.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PW | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/28/2016
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found great results using Mirvaso the first week, then on day 10 and 11, I experienced hot, tingling, flushed skin after 5 hours of application both mornings. My face is red and uncomfortable. My miracle cure literally lasted a week. I have read many reviews similar to this. Not sure why it takes several days to experience these side effects, but I am thankful I had samples and had not spent $$. I will not be using this again as the burning of my skin right now is almost unbearable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grandma | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/14/2016
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For a few years, I tried to cover the facial redness with makeup. Finally went to a Dermatologist to get help. Mervaso is very expensive when you are on Medicare and is not covered. I was able to obtain a price reduction card online and paid about $80 which is still high for me, but I was getting desperate for redness relief. I am happy with results so far. I have been using Mirvaso for about a month now. I apply when I first get up in mornings to give redness time to subside before applying makeup. I now use only a little powder. I know if I eat spicey food or have anything steaming hot like hot coffee, cocoa or bowl of soup, there will be itching and redness regardless if Mirvaso has been used or not, so I avoid these. Also, if I get hot or stay out in sun, there will be redness. Using a little common sense goes a long way. I will continue using Mirvaso as my facial redness has been so bad, I would not leave the house unless absolutely necessary. I feel free and more confident now. Thank you MIRVASO!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sk0ra | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2016
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using 2.5 weeks. Last used this morning. The rednesss not only never got better on Mirvaso, but I think it's actually worse. Also, my face feels hot -- even to the touch. I look very red. It's even hard to cover with redness correction make-up now! I seriously think many dermatologists must be getting kickbacks for prescribing this drug. Not only is in ineffective and horrible according to most reviews, but it's also expensive. Even with insurance, I just paid $75 for a tube. For 2.5 weeks worth of cream that did NOTHING but make the problem even worse! So mad at Galderma AND my dermatologist.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dani8988 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/25/2016
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for about a week with little flushing I thought was just the rosacea. Then had the worst rebound flushing of my life, red purple cheeks and felt like I was on fire!!!! Took about a week to subside ..... Terrible

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More