Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

30 People found this comment helpful

Switched from MTX to arava...saved me from significant hair loss. One week of nausea then no adverse side effects. Great option but must monitor liver enzymes just like with MTX

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

side effect- heart palpitations and a terrible headache.

Shared reviews and ratings

Barbara M. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2021
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took for 30 days and developed rash of blisters and redness. One third round of Prednisone now and using cholystyramine as well. Bottoms of feet so sore can barely walk, palms of both hands sore, right shoulder hurting for two months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2020
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It’s s okay medicine caused gastrointestinal issues ; and hair loss for me will ask my doctor to take me off ASAP I personally don’t like it and it caused me to feel numb as well

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/20/2019
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this for about 12 months when I experienced numbness in all of my toes and now have permanent nerve damage .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dott | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/20/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 20mg since Dec. 2016. It has helped tremendously. I still have achey knees, but not enough for pain relief. I do feel a little spacey at times. Blood pressure has been in normal range. I also take Sulfasalazine 500mg twice daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Megaffney | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/31/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using to treat severe joint pain due to Crohn's disease arthritis caused by years of steroid use to treat disease. Started with 10 mg and Joint pain was minimized for a good 5 months. Now taking 20 mg and joint pain is 90% reduced. Stopped taking Celebrex. Satisfied with results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rosie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/12/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking 10 mg. I did feel dizzy at first, but getting use to it. Also my BP has also been 90/60 range it is now at 110/70 which is till WNL. I also take 5 mg of Prednisone for my Interstitial lung disease caused by RA.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve W | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 10mg of this with 2x 200mg hydroxychloroquine. (Started with methotrexate but caused blood problems) It took quite a while to get leflunomide in my system for any effect. I was given steroid injections initially to help with the RA pain as the hydroxychloroquine is losing it's effect.Whilst it seemed to help eventually, I have been taking it now for a little over 5 months. I have developed severe pain in both shoulders, never dreamt it could be the leflunomide. My BP is rising (Never had problem there in my life) I have developed chest pain (Heart is fine) Constant fatigue. Get up as tired as I go to bed.Shooting pains down arms, especially left, giving numb, tingling hands, which GP thought was carpel tunnel. It's pointing to this drug. Severe pain in buttocks, worse on the right. Bare in mind this lot came on gradually from around three and a half months in and is getting worse. I see my RA Prof next week, Be looking to come off ASAP. It was only the reviews on here that made me realise it is this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hopeful | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was feeling hopeless reading the other reviews. Just started leflunomide and already feel less pain. It is suppose to take several weeks to be affective from what I read. So I'm hopeful. I can not take prednisone due to severe osteoporosis. Started Forteo 2 weeks ago which has caused some headache pain. My only problem with the leflunomide is I feel a bit spacey. Didn't see anyone else mention that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cindy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/22/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I do not think this drug works very well I would go on it to see if it was working go off of it. I also received IV therapy which is the rein toxin that works the best.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cccgrandsons | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Leflunomide on July 7 after being on MTX for about 4 or 5 yrs. MTX was affecting my kidneys so I had to come off of it. I have had migraines and high blood pressure for years but had not had a migraine or increase in BP for over 3 months. On the 19th day, I had one of the worst headaches I'd had in years and my BP was very high. My FP is still trying to monitor my HBP and migraines but when I looked up the side effects of Leflunomide, it shouldn't be taken by someone with a history of HBP. Has anyone else had this issue?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have ulcers in my mouth and side of mouth cracks. I am not sure if leflunomide causes this or not? When I stop taking it, my mouth get better, so I think this is the cause. It does help my joints and I feel so much when I am taking leflunomide.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ROSEMARY BETTS4y24vd | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/17/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ON THIS DRUG FOR 6 WEEKS WITH PREDNISON,DID OK UNTIL I QUIT PREDNISON AS INSTRUCTED, NOW I HAVE WORSE PAIN IN MY MUSLES WITH SWELLING.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SammyM | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/26/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 20mg per day for the past seven months for hypersensitivity pneumonitis which caused lung inflammation and some mild scarring. Only side effects have been softer stools and some minor hair thinning (which I now treat with Rogaine). It took a few months to kick-in, but the inflammation has been significantly reduced and my lung function has steadily improved. Antigen which led to this condition was also identified and removed along with taking this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beaflo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/3/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great relief for joint pain. Developed a very itch rash on my back. Calling Dr. on Monday

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/9/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Once I started on this medication I became virtually pain free. Nothing else worked for me, so I love this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After only 8 days on this med I developed severe itching, mostly upper body, scalp and face. I also had dizziness and a few times experienced a few quick times where I felt my brain was disconnected and I had no idea what I was doing...very frightening. Slight nausea, some sharp pains in the right back and front like kidney pain, and chills. So far I have had no luck with RA meds. The best so far was with Prednisone, but that gave me severe heartburn. I hope something can be found without all the side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sherri C | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/20/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Adverse reaction to MTX so I have been taking 10 mg/day of Leflunomide for 12 weeks, plus 10mg Prednisone. Daily loose stools, hair loss, rapid heart beat and chest pain, buttock and hamstring muscle pain. I'm still experiencing severe RA joint swelling and pain. Going to ask RA doctor to change meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/5/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cannot give an honest opinion of this medication because several changes in medications were made at the same time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Harley | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/5/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

pain of RA decreased. However, having serious breathing problems. I have been told to stop taking Leflunomide immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
meem | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/14/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

pain and stiffness continuously. Unable to maneuver due to swelling

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More