Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

44 People found this comment helpful

In Nov.2003 after Hepatitis C and Polio vaccinations on the same day I got a horrendous allergic reaction. After this event my RA began very aggressively. Rh factor 100. Took Vioxx, Methotrexate, Plaquinil, Prednisone. Was still in constant pain with huge painful flare ups in all my joints in the body. Sometimes I could not get out of bed and needed help to dress etc. Life wasn't worth living anym...

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

IS GOD FOR ALIFE PROBABLY BUT I AM GETTING VERY SICK NOW AFTER 3 YEARS USING IT .MY NECK OR TROAT GET VERY TIED AND CAUSSING ME LIKE HAVING PROBABLY LIKE STROKE DR SAID TO ME L AM VERY NERVOUS OF COURSE BECAUSE I AM FEELING THIS SYMTOMS NOW DONT KNOW WHT AT TO DO HELP ME PLEASE IS NOT IN MY MIND THIS IS REAL NOW I DECCIDE TO TAKE TWICE A WEEK AND I DONT HAVE NO SO MUCH SHOCKING AND INDIGESTION ON...

Shared reviews and ratings

Cindy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2020
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Arava for four months until my pulmonologist told my RA doctor it was damaging my lungs. While I was taking it, I lost tons of hair, 15 pounds and felt like my skin was dissolving. My new RA doctor switched me to plaquinil and I started feeling normal again within two weeks. WARNING I had a PET scan two weeks before starting Arava and had no signs of cancer. Six months after I stopped, I found I had fallopian tube cancer. Not a good prognosis. I strongly suggest not using this drug and if you do, constantly check for possible signs of cancer.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lola | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/15/2019
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Arava for 6-7 weeks and I'm almost pain free. However,for the last week, my blood pressure and pulse rate have been unusually high! I have stopped taking it, but I was wondering for those of you experiencing this same side effect, how long did it take for your blood pressure to go back to normal?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/28/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have sjogrens and ra. Med given me worst smelling gas and feces ever. My stomach is in constant pain or diahrea or nausea. Even w prednisone 5-10 mg never hungry making taking meds worse. Also on plaquinel for sjogrens. Not helping w pain only 5 weeks in but ready to throw in the towel

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diane | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/7/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was diagnosed with RA for 3 years and died on July 4, 2018. During the 3 years, he was first put on Methotrexate. When that didn't seem to work anymore his RA doctor switched him to Cimzia. When the Cimzia stopped working the RA doctor put my husband on Arava (Leflunomide). After 5 months he started having life threatening conditions (severe anemia caused by myelodysplastic syndrome). His RA doctor said this was caused by the Leflunomide. They tried to flush it out of his system but that didn't work. His immune system was so weakened that sepsis was able to gain hold. In the end he died from severe septic shock and pneumonia (in a matter of 5 hours). Stay away from this medication! The warnings say it can be fatal and they are correct. The RA doctor didn't seem surprised that my husband (who was otherwise very healthy) died. What the heck?? I'm sure his RA doctor is continuing to prescribe Leflunomide. My husband wasn't just "an unusual case". He golfed twice a week and went to the gym twice a week until the Leflunomide became so toxic that it attacked his bone marrow and shut down his systems. As they say, "there should be a law..." But there isn't. STAY AWAY FROM ARAVA/LEFLUNOMIDE! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cheryle | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Second drug tried. It is not working either.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ozziehall | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/28/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take every day first thing in morning. Am nauseous at least half day after. But must take because can’t get on another biological until after next si joint fusion surgery. Already tried enbrel but next up is humira

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aheidi | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/28/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nothing bad to say about this medication, I have been on it for years with no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/21/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Massive, sustained hair loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/10/2016
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

severe stomach/intestinal pain and bloating

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/22/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hopeful1 | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/28/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My rheumatologist started me at 20mg. daily and within a week I was not stop vomiting, dizziness and bad headaches. She told me it was not the Leflunomide generic for Arava and I ended up in the emergency room. I stopped taking it and I felt much better. It caused nerve damage in my feet and my legs and thigh muscles are sore. My doctor always says it is not the drug. They must be taught to say this. You have to use your own judgment. They don't tell you anything or just don't know. I am now on Humira injections and 5mg. Prednisone. I need something to take with it because it is not enough to take to stop joint pain. I also take Ibuprofen in the am and every six hours after Tylenol. I also take Iron because I am anemic. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mona | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Soobee | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/16/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Arava for 5yrs, in conjunction with methotrexate. Started with 10mg daily then 20mg. Had to reduce to 3 days a week as it was affecting white cell count. Was on 5 days a week fairly successfully until a massive flare hit

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/28/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken (20 mg) for 10 years with great effectiveness. Increased to 40mg on weekend to offset Temporal Arteritis symptoms. Been effective in that regard for 8 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Garyb | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Arava 4 months ago to augment Mothotrexate. I have lost almost 10 lbs and am always tired. I am not eating less and don't have enough energy to exercise so I should be gaining weight but I have almost constant diarrhea. Will tell the doctor I want to stop. Also, very expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/6/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took generic Arava for the 24+ yrs I have had RA in both joints & lungs. Completely controlled joint pain after about 4 mo. of use. RA in lungs was treated well, or dormant though visible on xrays, until last 5 years. During last 5 years fibrosis in lungs has become quickly progressive and now I am on oxygen 24/7. RA and lung doctors have taken me off Arava and put me on Imuran (now for about 3 months) thinking it may better treat the lungs while keeping the joints pain free. Joints OK but no improvement, in fact still progressing, in lungs. Now considering lung biopsy and possibility of transplant. Only side effects I've notice with Arava is slight hair thinning and some blurred vision. Hope this helps. I understand RA in lungs is somewhat unusual.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Precious | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have totally had to come off of Arava, Meloxicam and Plaquenil, not sure which one is causing the side affects but I haven't eaten and kept any food down in days, and my liver count has gone up tremendously.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/22/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Starting taking Arava to combat inflammation of veins in hands and feet. Partially useful for 6 months. Appears to cause hair loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jenmac | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/4/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on Arava for stiffness and pain in my lower extremities. It got so bad I was considering using a cane...the Arava took all the pain and stiffness away. Its totally gone...but my BP is up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lostasusual xqtjf8 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/30/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Arava for about 4 years. It seemed to work well except for potassium levels going up and down. Which caused my blood pressure to be high,something I've never had problems with,and my moods go haywire.I'll drink cherry juice or some other natural way. Two bad experiences with Ra meds is enough for me. Try to keep those joints moving as much as you can daily!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More