Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking Aptiom for over 3 years. (I started as part of the US clinical trial.) I decreased seizures from 3-4 a month to 3-4 a year. I do have to take it at night and be careful of problems with my balance. I even went through physical therapy to help.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I have not felt well since starting this medication - I seem to have headaches, nausea and muscle pains. I also am experiencing 'sweats' right after taking it.

Shared reviews and ratings

lee | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/23/2019
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NO idea if it was effective I started taking this at 400 mg for 7 days moved to 600 mg and spent a full night binge watching political podcasts and regrouting my bathroom the next day i took a boxing class and signed up for tennis lessons. I was bouncing off the walls. I was anxious, upset, and angry.I could not stop moving and was aggitated. I did not link it to the medication. I realized the medication cost a fortune. I couldn't get normal. I was washing my face with cold wather to slap myself. I stopped taking the medication before the third dose and had a hedache for three solid weeks.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
islandgirl | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2018
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects and no seizures!!! Yes!!! So far so good!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/22/2017
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects are horrible, sweating, agitation and tremors are the worst, however excessive talking is there as well. I believe that any drug that has side effects of thinking about killing your self and acting on impulse should not be allowed on the market

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
putterball | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/13/2017
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been having petit mal seizures since the mid-1990's, related to a pituitary tumor. I did the Topamax first and found it uncomfortable. Now I'm using a low dose of Keppra and 1200mg of Aptiom, and no seizures for several years. BUT...it is expensive and if you do not have insurance, it will put you in the poor house.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
robedwar | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/4/2016
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tired, dizzy, double vision and I am still having seizures.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cmat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking aptiom for trigeminal neuralgia. I just started it. Im on 600 mgs. I was wondering if anyone had taken it for TN and if it worked for them and how well? Thanks I sure hope it continues to work!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jim1974 | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2016
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was doing fine while taking 400mg. When the dose was increased to 800mg I had headaches, felt like my head was spinning, had trouble thinking clearly. I went back to 400mg and doing fine. Dr suggested I give it more time before increasing to 800mg. So far so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/26/2016
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's convenient only taking this medication once a day, but it's made me nauseous to the point of vomiting, even with zofran, I usually wake up with a pretty severe headache, and it has caused me to gain ten pounds over three months, even while keeping a very strict diet. Even cutting calories and exercise won't budge the weight I've gained on this. I have focal epilepsy, and the doctor has seen a decrease in the number of spikes on my eegs, and I've had a dramatic decrease in seizures. I take this with topamax.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jasi | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/7/2016
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have anyone had any side effects where you have been normal all day until you take the medication an start seeing evil spirits... need help cause my girlfriend have been taking the medication for about a couple of weeks now and she havent been able to sleep due to her saying she been seeing evil spirits.. Can anyone help us with answer

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/19/2016
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vimoat gave me headaches and nausea and I felt weird all day. This stuff I don't even notice, and I usually get side effects from meds. I was allergic to reinstall but not this! I take it as an add on to keppra 1000mg a day. 600 mg aptiom once a day. Things weren't working for me on topomax and I had a big seizure (complex partial with loss of consciousness) and keppra alone in higher doses knocks me out all day. So that's how this came about, bcs I have 2toddlers to keep up with and I work out too!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/21/2015
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has made me extremely tired and have had some dizzy spells and a little bit of nausea after it was increased to 800mg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stillhere | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have seizures after TBI. Am taking Aptiom trying to ease off Keppra due to suicidal thoughts and emotional unbalance w/Keppra. Starting with lowest dose;and stepping up. Week 2 has me unable to balance gate;emotional instability, and lose where I am right in midst of simple tasks;confusion, and sleeping 15 hours at a time. Vision is spinning and whirling upon standing. Must hold onto caregiver to get from point A to point B. Do not know how I will be able to double amount to therapeutic level in 2 weeks. Not a lot of options for epileptics. Had high hopes for this one.The cost is astronomical. $2000. with PPO INSURANCE. Seizures promise another incapacitating or deadly stroke w/ each new seizure.. Where does that leave those of us with brain damage? Understand that medication must dumb down brain to keep seizures from killing you; but wonder which is worse...side effects; or seizure themselves. :( Praying cure for Brain injuries comes soon. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maralou | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/7/2015
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Aptiom for over 3 years. (I started as part of the US clinical trial.) I decreased seizures from 3-4 a month to 3-4 a year. I do have to take it at night and be careful of problems with my balance. I even went through physical therapy to help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2015
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Lamictol for a period of time, still experiencing seizures. When I was switched over to Aptiom I had a period of time I couldn't effectively communicate, I slept a lot and was extremely sick. After about a week, some of the symptoms decreased in severity but remained. I'm often nauseous and find several things nauseating at the mere sight. I become extremely nauseous in the morning and have a killer headache. As the day progresses it becomes more manageable. It's been effective, but the side effects are a bugger. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/23/2015
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Day four of taking this drug 400mg I'm feeling nauseated... I started puking... My neurologist wants to start me out at 400 mg at night. And then bring me up to 800mg at night. I'm taking another seizure medicine with it Lamictal 100mg. I read the sheet that came with it. I'm really reconsidering. I like the feature of 24 hours treatment coverage of the medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
entrere | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2014
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not felt well since starting this medication - I seem to have headaches, nausea and muscle pains. I also am experiencing 'sweats' right after taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More