Show ratings & reviews for

2.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

2 People found this comment helpful

Painless injections, a few days in compression stockings and my leg looks and feels so much better. Very pleased with results and scheduled to have other leg done.

Shared reviews and ratings

Lavenderblade | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/9/2022
Condition: Enlarged Superficial Veins
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had both legs treated with this a year ago March 2021. The one leg had significantly large showing veins. It was causing me a great amount of pain and discomfort so I decided to have his procedure. I was told it was the only one because my veins have gotten so large. It has been a year and my leg is still not better. I am waiting to have it done again but now I am reconsidering that based on more research and reviews. When I initially had the procedure done I went through a lot of pain and discomfort for weeks. I was told it be little to none and I’ll be back on my way the next day. I felt like I had constant wires stuck in my veins like another person mentioned. The stiffness was also a huge issue if I sat for more than 20 minutes at a time. The recovery time seemed to never end. Since having the procedure done I now get blood vessels that pop up in my feet. Just had it happen yesterday and this is a sign of varicose vein disease. I have a feeling that the other leg has not truly healed the entire way either due to the fact that this condition happens to both feet now. I never had anything like this happened to me before. I am extremely healthy and fit. And now I feel like this procedure has negatively affected my health. I paid thousands of dollars and the treatment did not work and now I will have to start all over again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenn14 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2022
Condition: Enlarged Superficial Veins
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed a DVT in the treated leg within days after procedure. I have no history of blood clots and followed post op directions. Now I’m on a blood thinner for at least 3 months. I do not recommend Varithena.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
12/22/2021
Condition: Enlarged Superficial Veins
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

pain.... 5 dvts in leg... horrible swelling... still its been 7 weeks since procedure... im really mad about it... blood thinners...ect... do not use Varithena !!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M.A. | 65-74 | Female | Patient
6/19/2021
Condition: Enlarged Superficial Veins
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Painless injections, a few days in compression stockings and my leg looks and feels so much better. Very pleased with results and scheduled to have other leg done.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
momof2 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2021
Condition: Enlarged Superficial Veins
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was talked into the procedure by the Dr was told that it was highly effective. I had had it done 2 time and NEITHER TIME was effective. It's useless in my opinion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DRT | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/17/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have Greater Saphenous vein reflux. Had Varithena injection and felt great for 4 days. Followed instructions to the letter. On the 5th day pain in the calf that feels like a wire in my vein trying to come out. Doctor out of town and staff less than helpful. My post-op is not for another 2 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2017
Condition: Enlarged Superficial Veins
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After finding little information about this procedure and only a few reviews, all which were negative, I still went ahead with the procedure. I was told it was very safe with little complications. I now have a DVT in one of my deeper leg veins because the solution seeped out of the greater saphenous vein. Now I will be on blood thinners for months. Stay away!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More