Show ratings & reviews for

2.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

2 People found this comment helpful

New pen is too thick

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

This flex touch pen from Levimeir is very hard to use. You have to try to prime many times to get insulin. Many times when you push to prime it will not move from 2-0 and no insulin dispensed. Many times I have to take the needle off and on and when the insulin finally comes there is a long stream of insulin. When this presciption is gone, I am swithing to Lantus. I have been on insulin for 20 yea...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/27/2020
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not happy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/8/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pen design is extremely flawed. Works 75% of the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Litteach | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/1/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used these pens for quite a while without a single problem, but suddenly every one I use malfunctions. I have thrown away several, but in the future I will be returning them to the pharmacy when they malfunction. They are too expensive and too important to be so shoddy. Returning them will be a huge inconvenience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karol | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/10/2019
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to switch to this from Lantus due to insurance. I have to take this in the morning and night; it does not cover 24 hours. I've had several pens jam, first use of a new pen and the plunger does nothing, no click, no injection, dial does not go back to zero. I just spent 48 minutes between CVS Caremark and Novo Nordisk trying to get it resolved. Now I have to get a new Rx sent to local pharmacy to start the replacement voucher process. Given all the complaints, it seems like they just don't care enough to fix these design problems. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had to throw away several pens because they jam. Needles will not come off, so I must use the same needle for the entire pen. I will be switching when I run out. Never had this problem with Lantus pens.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/26/2018
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The pen mechanics are very poor and that is being nice, i have found that you have to replace the pen needles frequently, but the more urgent issue is that these pens are not reliable. They will often just stop dispensing and the requires that you use an old school syringe. I am tired of the reliability issues that often frequent these pens. I will switch to novalog.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zippy | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Insurance would not cover Lantus pen so had three alternatives One was levemir flex pen so chose that one As many years ago had used it.25 units of lantus gave me better results with no and worse control not cost effective and many side effects 1- restlessness,poor sleep waking up too total dry mouth, tired ,food did not taste good, and feeling anxious throughout day

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/28/2018
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HATE THIS STUPID THING. I already have to stab myself twice to get the amount in me that I need, without the insulin pockets under my skin. The button CONSTANTLY JAMS. THIS THING IS ABSOLUTE GARBAGE. FORGET trying to travel to a higher altitude with these stupid things- they'll burst nearly every time! Which turns vacations into a $#!+ show. It jacks up EVERY SINGLE USE. there hasn't been a day go by since I've had this awful product, that it HASNT jammed. You never know how much insulin is ACTUALLY GOING INTO YOUR BODY! (WHICH HAS MESSED UP MY A1C) They blame it on the needles not poking through but I have novolog flex pens that hasn't jammed ONCE, so tell me how this is the needles problem? It works fine, when you can actually get it inside you. If you need this insulin, I'd ask the doctor about an alternative (solo star or something, which I've had in the past and also never had a jamming issue) this pen is a piece of junk. I would be happy to see this company fall apart and get jammed up just like their AWFUL, OVERPRICED PRODUCT. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Poindexter | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/15/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The mechanical/manufacturing quality of the Levemir pens is horrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe D | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/6/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I agree with others who have said the insulin itself is a reasonable alternative to Lantus--but the "flexpen" is a joke. Literally every single one breaks. If I produced such laughable trash, I'd want to get to the bottom of why Quality Control doesn't care. Maybe Novo Nordisk (and Medicare) would benefit from seeing a few thousand of these broken pens bearing that company's name and number (1-800-727-6500).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zfwaeld | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2017
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Levemir itself works well for me, however the FlexTouch pens are absolute garbage. Every single one eventually jams (usually when the pen is about halfway empty), requiring me to use a syringe to draw out the rest. How did a device with a near-100% failure rate ever get approved by the FDA? I also take Humalog and previously took Lantus, and I never had a problem with either. I was given a sample of Tresiba, which comes in the same style pen. Guess what? These jammed too!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stringfellow | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/15/2017
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

spring action injection stopped working on two of the first Levemir FlexTouch pens. I was able to mess with the dial while continually pushing the injector and eventually it would start working again. Insurance company forced me to switch from Lantus (never had a problem for the five years of use). I called my doctor and switched again. Hopefully the next one will work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/10/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I almost died (5 days in a coma due to my blood sugar going up to 1300) all while using the Levemir FlexTouch pen. Over a several hour period I took my blood sugar levels and administered my prescribed dosage using the pen, only to later realize that the pen was not dispensing the fluid. This happened at least twice at the first incident which resulted in my hospitalization and also a second time which I realized before I ended up in another near death situation. I have 2 pens that are not working right now! I have talked to my pharmacy and they are no help and I have talked to the medics that come to my home and I have read online of many others having this same type of experience. Can someone help before someone has to die?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/24/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I`ve had to throw two pens out already. Unreliable spring action. Where the hell are these pens made? China? They suck. What would happen if I needed a shot in an emergency. You need to solve this problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/7/2016
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had Lantis pens before, these are SWEET, no really.Go Broncos.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peggy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/20/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It does a good job of controlling my blood sugar but does not last a full 24 hours. I inject it at bedtime and it seems to peak around 3 or 4 o'clock AM when I sometimes wake up with very low blood sugar. I check my blood sugar before injecting and I can get pretty much the same reading on two different nights and take the same amount of Levemir and have very different readings the next morning. I tried the new insulin, Toujeo, for a week or so, but it didn't work as well and my numbers went up a lot. So I went back to Levemir and now my numbers are back where they should be.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tangers | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/10/2015
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Same problem as others reported. I have been using Levemir for years. It is lovely, no annoying peaks, just smooth blood sugars. BUT the spring loaded button is frustrating. Sometimes it works like a dream, all units quickly dispensed. Other times it's like waiting for ice to melt for it to get to zero. I often have to jam down the button to get the last few units. Bring back the regular push button!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rdcameron | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/15/2015
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The FlexTouch is a POS AND DANGEROUS. I normally take 10 units, AM and PM. On the Flex Touch, I dial 10 units and hold down the button as instructed. The dial will go to 8 or 6 or 4, and even with repeated pressings, often will not go to zero. How much insulin was injected from that process? NO FRIGGING WAY TO KNOW. I am now on my third pen (hoping it was just a single bad item) - I see my doctor tomorrow to,get him to change my prescription back to Lantus, and the "old fashioned" pen, which worked flawlessly for me for many years. I prefer the Levemir to Lantus, after I switched a year ago, but this new FlexTouch is outrageously bad and dangerous. When I don't know how much insulin is going into me, I am ALWAYS AT RISK. I am not litigious - but this is a class action suit waiting to happen. Avoid the FlexTouch at all cost - note also that NovoLog (fast insulin) has used the FlexPen - I expect Nova Nordisk to switch it to the FlexTouch soon. BEWARE!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/15/2015
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This flex touch pen from Levimeir is very hard to use. You have to try to prime many times to get insulin. Many times when you push to prime it will not move from 2-0 and no insulin dispensed. Many times I have to take the needle off and on and when the insulin finally comes there is a long stream of insulin. When this presciption is gone, I am swithing to Lantus. I have been on insulin for 20 years and this is very frustrating knowing whether I can get my insulin or not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fladonn | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/12/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Levimir has stopped using their Flex Pen and now uses the newly designed Flex Touch. This Flex Touch is AWFUL. It takes between 5-7 puses on the dispenser, and even then, some units may still remain un-dispensed. This results in inaccurate dispensing of the medication, which in turn affects readings on my meter. This new Flex Touch needs to be re-designed and this flaw should be corrected. All medication should be dispensed with a single of the dosage button. IT IS NOT. Having to push this button several times is unacceptable. I am seriously considering contacting an attorney and pursuing a Class Action lawsuit. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More