Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

53 People found this comment helpful

I've been on Metformin & Glimepiride for 8 1/2 years. My A1c had been in the low 6's until about 2 years ago when it got to the low 7's. Nothing helped - even Levemer. My doctor added Jardiance to my scripts in Feb. Just got my 1st quarterly blood work. My A1c went from 7.2 to 6.5! My bg rarely goes over 135 unless I eat something that I shouldn't. Sometimes I go for days without going over 100. E...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

Be very aware of the side effects. After 3 days I ended up in the hospital via ambulance in ICU. Never would have thought this drug would almost kill me. So be very careful and don't ignore side effects.

Shared reviews and ratings

Babychris78 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/20/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So today is day 5 for me. 1st few days nothing but alot or urination which didn't seem unusual as I go because of high blood sugar. Today for the 1st time in I cannot remember my blood glucose was 100. Took blood glucose in am in high hundreds which normally was in high 200's. After breakfast was 120. Then my take before lunch was 80. Before dinner was again 100 after dinner was 170. Before bed was 115. I haven't seen these numbers years can't wait to see what A1c goes down too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jardiance | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/13/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been 9n jardiance for 8 months. My AIC went from 8.7 to 5.3. Been very pleased and no side effects so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kz | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/4/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using jardiance since September of 2021 my A1c s the last three have been in the lower 5s and my weight on my 6 foot 1 frame was 333 lbs and I am currently weighing 221 my goal is set for 185 lbs . This has been life changing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Morganfey | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/3/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this in combination with metformin, glimiperide, actos and insulin. It had very little beneficial effect but a terrible yeast infection in my external urinary area. I was constantly treating with antifungals but it got so bad there was bleeding in addition to the pain. I discontinued use. Prior to using it, I had used Januvia with much less fungal infection. Don't know if it was my physical condition that caused the fungal issue or the difference in the drugs. But I cannot recommend this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/21/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After three years of taking Jardiance I developed Fournier’s Gangrene a life threatening skin condition. While having this reaction my blood glucose readings have been extremely erratic and my heart has been having palpitations. I was prescribed a strong course of antibiotics 4 times per day, and an antibiotic cream 2 times per day. Fourniers Gangrene has been the most uncomfortable and painful experiences I have ever been through. Will be seeing my dermatologist to see if skin debridement if dead skin cells will be necessary. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
4/17/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before Jardiance I was on 2x500mg metformin and my glucose was 155 and A1C was 7.1. My doc prescribed jardiance. After reading many reviews, I am concerned about the side effect that it could damage the kidney as I have stage 2 kidney disease so I made sure that my kidney doctor gave me prescriptions of blood test for general kidney functions (called comprehensive metabolic panel ) every 2 week and for a comprehensive kidney functions test (comprehensive metabolic panel and other tests) every 3 month. After 2 weeks of taking 6mg of jardiance, my fasting glucose dropped to 95 (no A1C test) from 155. A decrease in eGFR of 2 points and an increase in creatinine of ~0.1. eGFR and creatinine fluctuate from blood test to blood tests by more than these values so more blood tests are required to see if there is any bad effect on these two tests due to jardiance. As for side effects, I have not notice there is any, except losing about 5-7 lb and urinate more often because I am drinking more water to flash out the sugar which bypasses the kidney. The price for 30 pills of 10 or 25mg of jardiance in US is about $500-$600. I bought 30x25mg from a Canada online pharmacy for $120 and cut it into 4 pieces so it costs about a dollar a day. It would cost me more to use medicare prescription drug plan. I estimate that 1000mg of metformin is probably reducing my A1C by ~0.5. On the internet, there is a plot of glucose vs A1C and 33 points of glucose corresponds to ~1 point of A1C. Thus if I drop the 1000mg of metformin and keep the 6mg of jardiance, my glucose would probably be ~115 and A1C be ~6.5.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rebakah | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/16/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was placed on jardiance and found myself at the local ER fighting for my life. I was in active DKA and was placed in the ICU for 4 days. The ER doctor stated if I would not have came in when I did I would have been dead within hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/7/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had Diabetes Type II since age 55 when my sugar level moved over the range of 125. That's when they tell you that you are diabetic. Nothing changes, you just are now diabetic. I never had symptoms I just got the shakes if I had sweets for breakfast, then I would get hypoglycemic by noon. At age 65 I was running BS levels of 200 to 225 after meals and ended up on Jadiance along with 500 metformin twice a day. It worked well with no side effects at all. I lost 13 pounds the first month. My sugar only went down to 150 so my pharnacist added Aloglipton and it fell further to 110 to 120. I am a VA patient and to cut down on pill cutting, I was switched to Jardiance 25/Metformin 1000 once a day after 2 months. I wil continue and see what happens.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dennis | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had been on Glimepiride 2mg daily for several years with excellent results. Daily fasting blood glucose levels were between 90-100. HgbA1c was 6.3. Have a history of coronary artery disease with a sextuple coronary artery bypass graft and a thalamic stroke. Took Jardiance 10mg daily for approximately 4 months and daily blood glucose levels increased to approximately 135 and my HgbA1c went to 7.1. Discontinued Jardiance and resumed Glimepiride. Daily blood glucose levels returned to previous levels and am anticipating HgbA1c back to pre-Jardiance levels.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Whitlock | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Check with your doctor, but low dose twice a day may be a great option for those prescribed this medication! Using in lieu of insulin and for me at low dose, it’s working perfectly! Best sugar numbers in 4 years! You must drink a lot of water when taking this medication. Also diet and exercise, any exercise!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ed | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/5/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Finally stopped taking Jardiance because with Medicare and PPO the cost is prohibitive. Now I realize that Glimepiride does the job. Look how many thousands of dollars I could have saved.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/16/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to take 25 mg of Jardience about a year ago. I stopped because I had a terrible yeast infection that wouldn't go away. So I got Januvia and that med did nothing for my diabetes. So I had some Jardience left and took that again. This time I had no yeast and my numbers were in the targeted range of 4-7 and no side effects. I will keep using this med as it works well for me now. I also take 24 units of Tresiba insulin at night. I am feeling better and glad the Jardience is working well. I am trying to eat better and I do drink more water as well. If this keeps up, I will be fine and hopefully do well in the long run. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Harold Stanton | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I stopped taking Jardiance because the side effects were brutal. I was dizzy, light headed and nauseous. In addition this medicine is very expensive. I have a three month supply which cost in excess of $300.00 and only took it for two weeks. Where do I get a refund. My name is Harold Stanton and my e-mail is - - [email protected]; telephone is 724 869 2777. I contacted my doctor but he has failed to respon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat Teague | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/13/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After poor results with a weekly injection medication, my doctor selected Jardiance, and I could NOT be more delighted. I have lost weight, my blood sugar is more stable than it's been in ten years, and my general attitude is incredibly upbeat. Can't thank my doctor enough for this!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cora | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/5/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had this for 3 weeks and the side effect hit me severe itchy, severe yeast infection, lightheaded and thirst and pee a lot. Jardiance really work for me is just the side effect. Doctor told me to stop taking Jardiance, Not sure what is the next Meds they will try me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeff | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this drug for 8 days and ended up in bed for six weeks: extremely bad body itch, weakness, lethargy. Worst 6 weeks of my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JDB | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

anyone get lots of gas, gut "gurgiling" almost all the time? since I started on Jardiance 10 I have had these symptoms day and night. Also tired all the time. Has done nothing for fasting numbers as still in 140 to 170 range

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cariboou | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2020
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 71 year old, I had already take medication for keep low the blood sugar, like Metformin 500mg two times a day and Januvia 1 pill a day, but the results wasn't so great, in the last times the doctor give me prescription for Jardiance well now after 60 year I have a results like 7.2 great product!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Junior | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/19/2020
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this by the VA about 2 months ago to use alongside Metformin and Glipizide. Lowered my blood sugar levels plus lost 4-5 pounds within s month. Only side effect is frequent urination. I am very happy with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kronk | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/15/2020
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Much lower insulin requirements and significant weight loss. Always thirsty on this medication and I drink about a gallon a day now. Very satisfied with the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More