Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

100 People found this comment helpful

Today I have been taking Contrave for 30 days. I am 5'7" & was 188 lbs. when I began.  In 30 days I lost 10 lbs. virtually effortlessly.  10 lbs. is not a lot of weight, and I have 33 more lbs. to loose to get to a healthy weight, but considering I sit at a desk all day & study at a desk all evening & never exercise I am thrilled.  The first 2 days I took the medication I felt a little "disconnect...

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

I took Contrave for 3 weeks following directions. After a few days, I started to feel dryness in my mouth which followed by constant strong bitter taste. I decided to stick to it, but by the end of week three late at night I suddenly started to feel a sharp pain in my lower back which quickly started to spread out up my body. I felt a sharp pain in my chest & back, tightness in my chest and shortn...

Shared reviews and ratings

Contrave hope | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Contrave on July 7 2022. Good news: I have lost about 5 pounds over 1 month. I have been trying to move the scale downwards and finally this drug has helped. However, I also had the side effects of nausea from day 1 but tried to persevere. Yesterday, I had a high fatty meal and I had the worst experience ever. Hot flashes, massive headache, nausea and vomiting for hours. I wish I could continue with this med but the side effects were too severe. It definitely curbs your food cravings and reduce your thoughts about food. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorraine | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Contrave for 2 weeks, and have already lost 5 pounds. It has stopped my obsession with food and I feel full much quicker. As a binge eater this has been a godsend. The first week i had a slight headache every day and nausea in the afternoons. But i powered through it and it seems to have gone away. No other side effects but i stayed on one pill a day longer that subscribed, because it was already working. But I'm going to move to 2 pills per day today. Fingers crossed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
#annie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/21/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I first started Contrave, I quickly lost my appetite and was able to lose 8 lbs in a month, but then it leveled off and even at the max dose, I was still craving all kinds of food and eating as much as I did prior to starting the medication. The worst part of this treatment is the SEVERE dry mouth you experience! No matter how much water I drank, I still couldn’t even swallow or speak at times because my saliva was dried up. Honestly, I am not sure it’s worth the money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OverweightMe | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Adjunct Treatment of Obesity in a Comprehensive Weight Reduction Regimen
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just coming off stimulants prescribed by my doctor for almost a year, she switched me to Contrave. First day I did have a headache, sleepy and felt a bit sick to my stomach. But after that I have more energy, sleeping good, and a noticing a decrease in the amount of food. I do have dry mouth but this has encouraged me to drink more water, which I needed anyway. I started at 269 lbs 5’7” 46 years old. Goal doctor and I have set is to get to 200. The stimulants worked and I went down to 248 but after almost a year they stopped and my weight came right back. Hopefully this change to Contrave will make a difference. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laurel | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/11/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have lost 30 pounds in 5 months. This medicine has definitely helped to curb my appetite and helps me feel full faster. The only downfall that I have seen is the severe constipation. I do have to offset it with high fiber diet, and stool softeners. I use the gentle collace/non stimulant one and it does help. I do remember having a brief stint with nausea at first but it didn’t last long. Overall I am very satisfied with this medication and don’t see myself stopping it anytime soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tori | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/11/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking contrave on June 18, 2022, this day i weighed in at 268.9 lbs, this is terrible considering i am 5’5 and 25 yrs old. The first 2 days i did have a headache but not so severe i wasnt able to function. Ive taken other weight loss pills before and had the same side effects but with contrave it went away much faster. After the first week i started to really see a difference in the amount of food i was eating and the decrease in cravings throughout the day. I was also more energetic. I work very early and have a 40 minute commute, i used to be very tired and struggling to stay awake driving to work but since taking contrave i am more awake in the morning and have much more energy throughout the day. I haven't changed my diet entirely, i still eat out more than i probably should but do still make pretty healthy food choices and i use my treadmill about 30 minutes per day. As of today July 10, 2022 i am weighing 255.7. This is AMAZING as I've struggled so much to loose weight in the past. I can not weight to see what the next couple months brings for me! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Denise | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/15/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 5'5" and I weigh 175 lbs. I read about contrave while searching the Web so I decided to try it. For the first 3 weeks I did nothing but sleep and when I was awake my sister and roommate both told me I was in a foul mood and angry at best and they both pleaded with me to stop taking it. I didn't and found myself becoming uptight and easily annoyed and with an extremely short fuse. My boyfriend had finally had enough of my bad attitude and mood and dumped them down the garbage disposal. I had 2 more bottles and a few months later tried to take them again and by day 2 I was uncontrollably crying and felt very sad and upset and wasn't sure why so I stopped taking them and in a day or 2 it went away. I didn't lose any weight also. This medication just wasn't for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tammy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/14/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far so good! This is day 2 for me (1 tablet a day for week 1) and I'm feeling good. Energy is high, I slept very well last night (first time in a long time). Coffee is a big thing for me, as I use my protein shake for creamer - but I've noticed I'm not wanting it as much as I normally drink. Water - I'm increasing, water is a big thing for me - hard for me to drink but I know I have to. I will weigh in on Friday and report back, but so far so good - no negative feedback to give at this point! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lourdes | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took my first and last pill today with food, an hour later I felt horrible , my head hurts , my chest hurts , I feels nauseous, dizzy , and 4 hours later I vomited and have had a migraine . The side effects are terrible how is this an FDA approved product . I am going to report this product .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KSL | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/6/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Bupropion before so I knew what to expect and followed dosage carefully. It works if you take it correctly. I lost 10 pounds in the first 3 weeks! I also lost my love of wine, which is a good thing!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kenneth | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
5/22/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 64. Years old on January 1 st I weighed. 260. Lbs. I have been working at home for the last 2 years Yup. I have been on contrave for. 2 months I am now 235 I have no food cravings and I find myself not really all that interested I had a teen burger last night usually I have 2 and onion rings. Last night I had a time finishing 1. Just am not hungry my goal is to loose another 30 by the end of the year. Here’s to hoping

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ash | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 36yr old woman. I started taking contrave 4 weeks ago. My doctor had sent prescription for mail order. I received it on Friday and started it then. The first day I took it I could feel medicine, it’s hard to explain, but it was like it was being released. I experienced dry mouth, headaches, and upset stomach,& constant drowsiness. I did eat something small before I took it, which helped with upset stomach.My appetite had decreased. After 1 week I upped dose to 2xs daily, for 2nd week. This is when worst of side effects occurred. I began to experience constant irritation in my legs. I thought it was from needing more water. So I upped my water intake, with no relieve. But I stuck with it hoping by 3rd week it would go away. When I increased the dose 3rd week is when I experienced irritation in my legs that then spread to my whole body. I couldn’t sleep walk or get up. I had called my doctor let them know and they advised me to step down gradually off medicine. I was so miserable that I just stopped it all together. By 3rd day of not taking any doses my symptoms went away. I’m now 1 week from it and back to normal. My energy level has came back and I’m no longer sleeping during day. I see that this medicine has worked for others. Unfortunately this is not case for me. I just wanted to write and let others know my experience from this medicine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not good | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a pretty high tolerance to pills or pain etc. I had to stop after 1 week only one per day, first night NO sleep send day extreme anxiety and very weird uncontrollable thoughts night very little sleep day 4 very hungry if anything increased eating, constant stomach pain and discomfort severe non stop headaches. Continue until I stopped on day 7. Be very careful with this drug, also it did absolutely nothing to curb appetite!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HappyNurse | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Contrave on 4/3 for help losing weight. I am 5'4" and my starting weight was 212 lbs. I didn't write a review until now because I wanted to be able to verify my results over a period of time. I did the Teledoc appointment and used the UpScript mail order pharmacy on the Contrave website. My start-up cost, if you will, was $149 total - $49 for the doc, $99 for the Contrave. I do not have insurance - this was self-pay. I specifically asked the doctor what his experience was with Contrave in the patients he had already treated, and how long it might take to see results. He said patients usually had a good result if they stuck to it for at least 3 months. Good to know. I very carefully read the reviews I could find because I didn't want to throw my money away. I saw a lot of people who had immediate symptoms, so I was watching closely for any I might have. My first week I took the prescribed dose - 1 in AM. I had no symptoms. I immediately began to notice a HUGE reduction in my cravings for sweets. Like other users, I really wasn't wanting my usual pot of coffee in the mornings, either. Week 2: I increased to 1 in AM, 1 in PM and still no symptoms. I would hardly get hungry but knew I had to eat something. At the end of week two I had lost 3 lbs (209 lbs). But not bad considering I wasn't exercising more and not really watching my diet. Week 3: I again increased to 2 in AM, 1 in PM. My weight bounced around a bit, but I didn't lose any weight. Bummer. Week 4: I increased to the max dose 2 in AM, 2 in PM. I began to notice constipation, and this may have been my bigger issue in week 3, I just hadn't realized it. At the end of week 4 I lost another 3+ lbs (205.6 lbs). Week 5: I am on the max dose, my guts are good, and I am definitely making better food choices. I still don't crave the things I used to.... and, wonder of wonders, I dropped another 2+ lbs (203.8 lbs). So, overall, in 4 weeks I have lost almost 10 lbs, without feeling deprived or sick. I know I lost weight and not just water or poo because my scale has fat %, water %, and BMI functions. My fat % and BMI have gone down while my water % has actually increased. I feel physically 'lighter' and my clothes are fitting better. My double chin is also getting noticeably better. Yay! I just got my second bottle, shipped directly to me from UpScript for $99. I'm pretty excited to see what the next 4 weeks has in store. I would definitely recommend Contrave.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mrs. P | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a mom and a wife and i work 12 hours a day, an office job and it's really hard to find the time for physical activities. I have been using contrave for 2 weeks and i lost 5.2 lbs. The first 3 days was awful, i had constant headache and diziness but when i stopped eating pork and quit caffeine, i felt so much better. I haven't had headache ever since. I have more energy and i feel good. This medication works for me because i can eat whatever i want (except pork). when i'm already full but i take another bite, the taste of the food becomes bitter so i just stop eating. The only thing i do not appreciate with this medication is when im full, the smell of the food doesnt smell pleasant, it doesn't matter what food it is, it just smells bad but that also helps me to stop myself from wanting to constantly eat. The side effects included insomnia but because i had to quit caffeine, i dont have that problem. The constipation i had lasted two days, after that everything went back to normal. Im glad i tried contrave. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/15/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went to a bariatric specialist. I was prescribed the medications separately and in generic form. Much less expensive. The main pro for this was that I was able to titrate the dosages and time of day I took each medication (under MD direction). I felt a little hyper in the beginning but after a few weeks my body adjusted. I used an app called Baritastic (free). You can sync it with your Fitbit. I maintained a -500 calories per day, This will give you an average loss of 2# per week. I lost 30# in 8 months. At one point I felt I had adjusted to the meds and they were not as effective. My doctor offered to add a small dose of phentermine and it really helped, but it is the one to keep a really close eye on as it can affect your blood pressure. I continue on the Bupropion and exercise (I did not exercise during the 8mo) and am maintaining my weight.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cora | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just got up to 4 pills a day. 2 in the Am 3 in the PM, so I haven't been on it long enough to see any weight loss. I didn't like the way it made my heart feel. I already have palputations but this made my heart feel word. Also I had omicron/covid 3 months ago. And I have lost a lot of hair. So I am not sure if my recent increase in hair loss is a side effect of contrave or covid-19. So I am going to stop the pill. I can't loany more hair

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Medk | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/7/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started contrave about 4 months ago. On the first month I had my period and then 2 weeks later I had my period again the for 2 months no period and then 1 month ago I got my period and it's been going for a month and is heavy with lots of clotting. I went and had an ultrasound and they found nothing so my doctor thinks it's hormonal or because of the medication. I have to go back in 6 weeks and have a follow up ultrasound if I haven't stopped bleeding by then. But I have lost 6 kilos which is very good because I was unable to lose weight not matter what I did. Contrave stops those terrible cravings I use to have. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Y B | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Really bad side effects, nausea, tire, sleepy, loss of concentration, depression, spoke with Dr she assured no automatic refills, after a mth i get another bottle and money out of my acct, called customer service, did not know location of Dr, firm she works with, anything, might not even be a real Dr. Manager refuse talking to me, refuse to return medication or refund money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lesley Jane Merchant | 0-2 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/4/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed this medication as I needed to lose around 50 lbs and was having difficulty. Within two weeks of starting this medication and following directions precisely, I was involved in two motor vehicle accidents, my fault, in less than 10 days. Obviously, my insurance dropped me, but I didn't drive for a year due to after -effects of the drug. I was like a zombie with no affect to my personality. I am 74. I did tell my doctor and pharmacist. Terrible experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More