Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

39 People found this comment helpful

I had been on Victoza but couldn't continue because of the nausea. I was also taking Lantus. I started on Trulicity two weeks ago and had no nausea, have more energy and my blood sugars are in range. I no longer take lentos either.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

from week one worked to get my blood sugar down first few days did not feel well at all stayed with it dr and insurance co wanted me to try it longer long story short blood pressure sky high had ekg showed inferior wall MI had Catherization lucky no damage don't use this crap insurance co made them out me back on Victoza yay or I was going to sue them

Shared reviews and ratings

nonya | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/22/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on 0.75/wk for a month but here is what I have noticed so far. Trulicity reduced my appetite. Seems like less dopamine release from food. Food doesn't provide enjoyment or taste as well, which is GREAT! I get full easier I eat to live instead of living to eat. It makes it so much easier to make healthy choices. I noticed others mentioned issues with constipation. I have had constipation my whole life and so far, I haven't noticed much change from baseline. Maybe a little. The day I take it I notice slight nausea, but none after. I don't think the good effects last the whole week. seems to start wearing off 3-4 days and back to baseline day 6. If they ever raise my level I think that I would rather have a lower dose twice a week instead of 1 big dose. I have struggled with insomnia for years and it might be a coincidence but I am getting better quality sleep. no change in difficulty going to sleep just better sleep. I feel same or better energy level. I really like trulicity so far and have already dropped 9lbs. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Monica | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/22/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor suggested that I try taking this medication to keep my A1C in check and also to help with weight loss. I have been taking it for about 5 months. My A1C is now below 6 and I have lost 29 pounds. My knees don't hurt as much and I can move with more ease.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rowena | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just on my first week and I can see the changes in my body, My blood sugar are in range,my bloating is gone, i am losing weight, overall i feel better except no energy but i am giving my body to get used to this medication. Will give review after 1 month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angela | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So many bad side effects, I feel like I am gonna die. Nausea, bloating, sore throat, swollen tongue, swollen feet and legs. Constipation, no frequent bowel movements, extreme coughing with yello-greenish and ivory colored phelgm all day and night. Bad headaches remind me of a migraine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
My true days | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this to help lower my A1C which was over 10 and in three months is 7.1 with diet and exercise and 2 months of Trulicity. I went from 0.75 to 1.5 injection. I’ve dropped 13 pounds and experienced three times extreme nausea when I thought I would be sick. Since that I get a bit nauseous a day after taking. I do eat a little when I feel like that and often my stomach settles. I do notice I am full fast and definitely don’t what to eat at times. I honestly didn’t pay attention to the effects it would do to my stomach because I am newly diagnosed with diabetes, and I was focused on bettering that situation. Aside from the nausea there’s much else.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mattie | 0-2 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been losing weight steadily for the last 18-20 months. I need a knee replacement (2, actually) but my surgeon said I had to lose another 10-15 lbs. I had already lost 60 lbs! I was 8 pounds away from my (first) goal weight when I started Trulicity at my dr.'s insistence. He had been after me about my "pre-diabetes" for 3 years or more. I finally gave in because my A1C was high. So I started Trulicity. In the 8 weeks since I started, I stalled in losing any weight the first 2-3 weeks. In the last 4 weeks I've GAINED 6-7 pounds! Now instead of being 8 pounds from my first goal weight, I'm back to 13/15 pounds away. This is the worst. If I don't get my BMI down my surgery for knee replacements will not happen. I am soooooo very pissed. My Dr assured me that "everyone loses weight on Trulicity, don't worry..." Then I read that 15% - 30% of people GAIN weight on Trulicity! If I knew that, I would have never agreed to taking Trulicity before my knee replacements. Now what? I have an appointment with my knee surgeon next week... I'm 8 pounds heavier than when I saw him last. This is NOT GOOD. I'm female, 65 years old. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Crystal | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/18/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine is just as bad as ozempic. Diarrhea, cramps, nausea, vomiting, sulfur burps. Been on this medicine for 2-3yrs now and I havent lost weight on it like i did with ozempic which was i believe due to all the vomiting. I would NEVER recommend. Trulicity works occassionally with keeping my blood sugar levels lower. I feel like im always suffering for nothing. Sorry this is not letting me change my age or how long i have been on this..Im 47 and have been on trulicity between 2-3 yrs now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/18/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for quite sometime now over 2yrs. I have diarrhea, vomiting, nausea, and sulfur burps. I have these symptoms all the time. It sometimes helps my sugar levels but the side affects are just terrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mistyk | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/5/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 1 dose on a Monday by Wednesday I was sick to my stomach By Friday I called my dr who gave me zofran helped a little not enough Couldn't eat, stomach pains, always tired Figure I'd let it take its course Come following Monday I went to emergency room Couldn't handle the stomach pain and nausea anymore The did ct with contrast and said Diverticulitis and sent me home with antibiotics and I'm still have stomach issues pray these stop soon idk how much more I can tolerate Trulicity is a horrible medicine and I wouldn't recommend this to anyone!!!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cher | 45-54 | Transgender | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take for pre-diabetes. I have lost 49 lbs so far and my Dr said I am not a pre-diabetic anymore. Shee still wants me taking it to stay there ...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lake M. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor gave me Trulicity to lower my A1c. It was 7.1 I have been on it for 3 weeks. Let me tell you, I have never been sicker in my life. Nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, bloating, gas, sweating, inability to sleep. I could not sit, lay or stand because I was so uncomfortable. My upper stomach was bloated. It's was like having the stomach flu for 3 weeks. With each injection I became more ill. I thought I was going to die. I have not been able to eat or drink. In the last WEEK, I have only been able to eat 5 saltine crackers and 1 glass of water.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sean | 19-24 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/25/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took my first injection of this a few days ago. Woke up a couple nights ago feeling like I had a stomach flu. Cramping, diarrhea, vomiting, constipation, chills, sweats, insomnia, fever, almost total loss of appetite. Trouble sleeping, weird bloating and gas issues. I don't know if this is just an adjustment, like I need to let my body get used to it...or if this will be the case for the long-run. Like many people have stated, it's like poison. Ugh, I feel terrible. I am 50 btw, they don't list a higher age group. ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jamie Lynn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/11/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible ! Started this medication two days ago. Yesterday I could barely function, headache ,fatigue, no energy , felt off. Then overnight got extremely bad with gurgling feeling in stomach like a boiling pot , diarrhea, nausea, vomiting, constant horrid rotten egg burps , lethargic, headache and overall feeling of gonna die. One dose and I’m done and I’m tough ! This is a death trap med!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tina | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/27/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have given this a good try, really sick with nausea and diarrhea the first 2 doses doctor said should go away. It didn't. Now 3 months later it's worse, I thought I'll do one more dose yesterday and shouldn't have. Nausea, don't want to eat, stomach pain, headaches in the morning and at night and itchy rash at the injection site. Not good for me at all and only lost 4 lbs from not eating well. I'm 62 and your menu doesn't have that age.?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Notafan | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/5/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My primary care doc says I'm not a typical type II patient, which is probably true. I'm male, 57 years old, not over weight and very active physically. Before trying Trulicity, I was on Metformin and Glipizide, plus a statin for cholesterol. During pandemic, became depressed and did not take good care of myself. Ended up with A1C above 10 as a result. But I was able to turn it around by radically sticking with diet and exercise that has worked wonders for me in the past. Thankfully, it worked again, getting the A1C back below 7 in about three months. The higher A1C also got me a referral to an Endocrinologist. But by the time I saw her, I was back to good control. Never-the-less, she insisted that my best option was to go on Trulicity. I wish I hadn't. As described by a number of others here, the side affects were persistently horrendous. For some reason, I still stuck it out for five long weeks, during which I could never eat a meal without nausea, or finish appropriately sized and carb-counted meals. Yes, I lost weight, because I was basically in a state of medically induced starvation. (For me, not a good thing. I'm already quite thin.) In spite of losing 10 pounds, my blood glucose went UP an average of 20 - 30 points, and stayed there. I'm pretty sure I can explain why this happened. Constantly fatigued, I was unable maintain my usual exercise regimen. I had neither the stamina nor the burst for vigorous exercise. Which is at the core of how I've successfully controlled blood sugar in the past. Trulicity took all that away, with predictable consequences. I've had enough. I need to be an active participant in managing diabetes. And, bottom line, Trulicity made things worse, rather than better. All those quality-of-life issues, plus *less* effective blood sugar control. Not a winner in my body.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michele | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/4/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Trulicity landed me in the Emergency Room after 2 doses. What I thought was an impacted bowel after 8-9 days of no bowel movements was actually a flare-up of diverticulitis (which I've never had in my life and I'm 66) with an infection and inflammation. The contrast CT scan summary describes 3 lesions, the largest one 3.4 cm which is almost 1.5". Never again. I plan to ask my doctor to put me back on Jardiance 25mg I took it for years and it never gave me trouble. Can't believe Trulicity is still on the market with all the serious complaints I'm reading.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Suffered | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/26/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 doses Trulicity it made me sicker than a dog. Scientists and doctors should know better. This is not a normal drug it is poison. I'd be stupid to take more of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on Trulicity for about 2 months. Have had no side effects, but it was not lowering my numbers until a week ago. My am numbers were running in the 220's, this past week they are down in the 150's so I am trending in the right direction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was deathly Ill the day after my first injection. Sever stomach pain, nausea, bloody stools. In ended up in the emergency room and they could not find anything wrong all test were negative. So, this medication was the only reason my illness. Five days later I am still have stomach pains and can barely eat. I did lose 10lbs but when you don't eat for 3 day, you will lose weight. I will not be taking this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Will Stidham | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/13/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel that Trulicity as a drug works just fine for me, though I cannot say that I like the design of the pen. I have an extreme aversion to pain that causes terrible panic attacks, and a spring-loaded needle that I can't poke around and test spots first just sends me into a state where I can't take it half the time without it ruining my whole day; my hands literally lock to prevent me from pressing the button... not to mention the loud, startling 'POP' when it goes off.. Would be much better in a form where you can control it better, without loud noises.. like a normal insulin pen. I don't care if you automate it to give the full dose once the button is pressed.. but this loud, spring loaded abomination is a horrible solution.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More