Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

39 People found this comment helpful

I had been on Victoza but couldn't continue because of the nausea. I was also taking Lantus. I started on Trulicity two weeks ago and had no nausea, have more energy and my blood sugars are in range. I no longer take lentos either.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

from week one worked to get my blood sugar down first few days did not feel well at all stayed with it dr and insurance co wanted me to try it longer long story short blood pressure sky high had ekg showed inferior wall MI had Catherization lucky no damage don't use this crap insurance co made them out me back on Victoza yay or I was going to sue them

Shared reviews and ratings

Peaches | 35-44 | Female | Patient
11/29/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I been taking it’s for weeks I want from 246 down to 224 my A1C want from 11.5 down to 5:7 some days I feel like I am losing weight and some days I don’t … my WellCare pays for my shots they free for me all times … I am still hungry after I take my shots not sure if that normal or anything

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abby | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/24/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take my injection on sundays.. Week 1 super constipated, sharp pains in my stomach, bad bloating. Burps and farts that smell like vomit. I have never had any issues with constipation or bloating like that ever. I had to take something to make me have a bowel movement by day 6 cuz still hadnt went to the bathroom. Week 2 bad constipation again, smelly vomit burps and farts again, bloating and stomach lains continue, had to take something again to make me have a bowel movement. Week 3 started having small soft bowel movements every day and again smelly vomit burps and farts, atill bloated and stomach pains. Week 4 took the injection on Sunday again. Monday night started having diarrhea still bloated and stomach pains and vomit that was yellow and foamy. Tuesday felt like I was peeing out my butt cuz of the diarrhea being so runny. And this is several times an hour and a lot of it. Tuesday afternoon I realize I hadn't peed since about 12:30am. I was so dehydrated and nothing would stay in me. It ran right through me. Tuesday evening Went to the er to get fluids to hydrate me. 2 bags of fluids still couldn't go pee. Everything i was tested for was negative. I couldn't pee for about a total of 36 hrs. I didnt pee until Wednesday late morning. I get ahold of my doc she thinks it's just a stomach bug and not related to the meds. Knowing my body I knew it was the med. So I decided to try 1 more time. So Sunday rolls around I try it again. Tuesday diarrhea again, smelly vomit burps, bad stomach pains again can't sleep from it and super bloated again. Thursday and still having diarrhea. I'm done with this med. Terrible experience I don't recommend it at all to anybody. It makes food sit in your stomach for a few days so you feel full and I don't do well with food sitting in my stomach like that. But everyone is different if you dont have a problem when food site in your stomach then try it. But good luck. I can't take the major bloating, smelly vomit burps, stomach pains, and terrible diarrhea. I tried it for 5 weeks. Can't do it any longer. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been so sick on this medicine.....everytime i try to eat i get so sick to my stomach and it stays for hours and hours or if i dont eat still stomach cramps...blurred vision....leg cramps and disoriented. I have been on Trulcity for 2 weeks and its not getting any better. I feel like my arms and legs weigh a ton each so im sluggish and have no energy. I feel like i am dying actually......going to talk with my dr about getting off of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ivy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/16/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I am on week 6 with Trulicity. I am not losing weight. I crave sugar but when I eat it i instantly regret it. I am so sick. When I do get my self to eat a meal I can only eat a small amount and then I get full, and once I'm full...I'm sick.... I'm exhausted ?? Its effecting my performance at work because I'm always feeling nauseous and tired, it's affecting my home life because I'm to tired to really do anything at all around the house. But I'm tired from every night waking up throwing up and countless amounts of times having to get up and use the bathroom for diarrhea. I'm not sure if taking this medication is worth it. I'm miserable ?? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Retta | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/16/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine tells my brain that I'm not hungry anymore after eating a reasonable meal. I took it for about eight months and lost 30 pounds and my AIC became within an acceptable range. The negative is that since I have Medicare I was not able to use RX coupons and had to rely on my drug plan. It's a very expensive, relatively new drug so of course, my co-pay was a lot. So much so that I had to stop taking it and now my weight is climbing because my brain is telling me I'm hungry all the time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna M. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/14/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I really do hate this drug. I am an ICU RN myself and am very health conscious. I had some routine blood work and despite my HbA1c being within my normal limits, my provider convinced me to try this drug based on a slightly high fasting blood sugar. He told me I needed to lose 20-30Lbs and that this drug would assist. I don't take any medications and have healthy everything else, so I was reluctant but chose to give it a try. First thing, this drug is EXPENSIVE! If I did not have health insurance 4 syringes would have been US1,000! I have been on this drug for three months now. The first 72 hours I am moody, tired and nauseated. At times I have checked my blood sugar level and I am hypoglycaemic when feeling my worse. At night I have to prop myself up from reflux (I have never had this before). If you have ever been pregnant, the side effects are just like morning sickness! By the 4th day I feel ok. I am not hungry, I eat only a few mouthfuls and am "full". BUT I crave carbs and sugar! I usually have a very healthy, vegetarian diet. Buy on day 2-4 I crave unhealthy foods. By day 6-7 the drug is wearing off, I wake up refreshed, happy and eager to embrace healthy foods again. I have lost around 2-3 kilo's. I will give it a few more months, but long term this drug is not for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PatF | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/7/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within six months, my A1C went from 11 to 6.7. I have normal Blood Glucose Levels each day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Erin Wilson | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/4/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Where do I start. Took .75 2 days ago for the 1st time. I thought I was one of the lucky ones until 2 days passed. Starting with the horrible eggy burps and gas. Next thing my stomach got distended and I had the worst bloating I have ever experienced. Tried to go to sleep and now it is 4:30 am and I have had diarrhea nonstop!!! I mean like a firehose. With tremendous force. Then the vomiting started… NOW I. am vomiting with diarrhea running down my legs.NEVER AGAIN!! I am one and done. No medicine should make you this violently ill!!!! Just sitting here waiting for the next purge….Totally disgustedRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/3/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The beginning the side effects were AWFUL. Had egg burps for a couple weeks then they subsided. Doc put me on higher dose and I didn't eat for 6 days. Lost a full 10 lbs in that time and was happy with that. But bloodwork revealed an amazing story. A1c went from 7.8 to 6.0 in 3 months. My albumin is good as well as kidney functions are in normal range. I feel better overall but have a lot of fatigue and it messes with my mental health I think. It makes me feel sadder than usual and I think because it works in the stomach and effects gut health. Overall it's worth all of the pain and suffering to survive with this terrible disease. Wish my mom was here to say how proud she is of me for working so hard at this. She had it too. She died from complications from infection she got while being diabetic. Do what you need to be well and trust your body. I am back on the lower dose and I feel ok just tired a lot. Overwhelming sometimes but I listen to my needs. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bri | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Okay so I took my injection Sunday Morning.. today Is Tuesday. Sunday I was perfectly besides being sooooo tired. I slept for like 4 hours during the day. Yesterday (Monday) I started to feel random stomach pain but it was constant. I was nauseous and could barely eat but it was tolerable. Today (Tuesday) I’m feeling stomach pain again.. it feels more like cramps you get after drinking water or eating then running or swimming. It’s tolerable but hurts and I’m still sooo tired... my side effects isn’t as worse as the people in the comments and I thank God for that!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bri | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/30/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Today was my very first time taking the injection… I was sooo scared because all of the horrible reviews. So I decided to be proactive. I took Nausea meds as soon as I did the injection. I took Imodium like 45 minutes before taking the injection and also a pain reliever. I’m not experiencing any bad side effects and I pray it stays this way. Well I am feeling random pain in my leg that comes and goes. I’m not sure if it’s related but I’m thankful I didn’t get as sick as the comments. I also prayed that I don’t get sick as soon as I was taking the injection. I’ll be back with an update. Fingers crossed this drug works for me. Lower my A1C, help me lose weight, and I don’t have bad side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juli | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/30/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took my second injection two days ago. I’ve noticed extreme nausea the day of the injection and the day after, but as the week goes by, the nausea subsides. I have gone from very regular bowel movements (once or twice daily) to constipation, only having a bowel movement every 2 - 3 days, and much difficulty then. I was just awakened by reflux. I couldn’t breathe due to the vomit filling up my throat. After a minute or so of trying to cough it out, I managed to get a small breath. I then spent quite a bit of time coughing it out of my lungs and spitting it out. I’m done with the Trulicity. My doctor had suggested I switch from Metformin to see if I had less GI issues. I’ll take the nausea and occasional diarrhea from the Metformin thank you. I had been on Metformin for six years. I know what to expect from it, and it’s much preferred over this hellish drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lizzyg | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/3/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I read the reviews and was cautious but tried it. Everyone can be affected so differently so I had to try myself. Within a few weeks, I was experiencing severe right side stomach pain, back pain, burping, not digesting foods and vomiting. I got to a point where I ate toast; and then nothing would stay down. This happened several times over years of use. Each time I had to go to the ER. Couldn't eat anything, wouldnt stop vomiting (foamy yellow) and dehydrated. Tested for everything and it all came back negative, even stomach emptying test. My doctor took me off Trulicity and about the same time discovered I had gall bladder issues. Stayed off Trulicity, had surgey (removed gallbladder) and felt great! Fast forward 11 months and doctor put me back on it, thinking it was the gallbladder all along. Nope. Back to being sick again withing 5 weeks of starting back on it. I guess I'm one of the unlucky ones that can't tolerate it. Just take notice of symptons and get tested for everything! Don't stay on this, if you experience this. I really wanted this to work. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Matt taylor | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you leave a good review for this drug you are lying. This stuff was made by the hands of Satan himself. I have suffered from all but one of the side effects and then a few more! It has landed me in the hospital more than one and from all the vomiting I now have an eating disorder. That's how they claim you lose weight on this stuff because you vomit so much paired with diarrhea that of course you will lose weight plus you're afraid to eat or drink anything for those very reasons. I'd rather have drinks with Bill Cosby before I take this stuff again!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/28/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on Trulicity for a month now and I have lost 10 pounds. It has suppressed my appetite but not so much that I don’t eat. I just eat way less. So far I am happy with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lola | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So first of all I waited two months to start this medication because I have horrible G. I. issues and after reading so many negative reviews I was nervous it would make me even sicker. Week one I barely ate anything. I had some pretty intense pain in both of my legs. I also experienced the worst fatigue and literally slept for 5 days. By day 6 I felt like it wore off and i was starving. Week two I was tired but felt hungry all the time. Week three I had a sudden surge in energy and was awake for more then 24 hours. This could be from the medication or all of the sleeping I had done in the previous weeks. I have now increased to 1.5mg dose and I feel awful. I've had headaches since starting the med but today it's a migraine. My vision is also blurry and my legs gave out when I went to stand up. Also my glucose levels have remained fairly high. I want the med to work because it seems to also help my G. I. issues but I'm not sure it is actually helping with my A1C or weight loss. Fingers crossed the side effects stop and I start seeing better results soon. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rita | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/19/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the lowest dose for 2 months. Then switched to second highest dose for 2 months. I could not continue because of fluid retention nausea vomiting diarrhea and a general feeling of unwell. I also had very vivid upsetting dreams with higher dose. Stopped taking it for 3 days feel much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jake | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Trulicity 11 months. Blood sugar well controlled but no weight loss, fluid retention, belly bloat, indigestion and horrible mood change ??, not wanting to be around others and stay angry most of the time. Will be talking with doctor to get off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Greg T | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 doses I stopped due to sever fatigue, no appetite, headaches, nausea, bloating, and the worst constipation (no bowel movements in 6 to 7 days). I am have been off it 5 days and am still experiencing bloating, abdominal pain, and diarrhea after eating. Think twice or more before starting on this drug, I wish I had.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roger buck | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/1/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Too expensive, Drug companies are rip offs. Make the price cheaper so people don’t have to go broke. One month supply is more than I make in a month!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More