Show ratings & reviews for

2.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

35 People found this comment helpful

My first treatment for MS was Avonex. I had terrible flu-like side-effects and stopped taking it. Also, I wasn't a fan of giving myself IM injections. I moved on to Copaxone and Betaserone. Both drugs caused terrible chest pains/tightness and the flu-like symptoms were still unbearable. I started Plegridy about 4 months ago and have had no flu-like symptoms or chest pain/tightness. The injector is...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I completed my first 2 injections of Plegridy and had delayed red spots, larger than 2" diameter, at the injection sites. Although somewhat improved in appearance now, these injection site spots haven't faded away, even after 3 1/2 weeks. I just hope these will go away by the time I need to inject in my thighs again. Also, although I take 500 mg Naproxen both before Plegridy and again the next...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/21/2018
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Injection site reactions are the only side effects I experience. I was on Tec for 2 years with the terrible flushing side effect, twice daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Red | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/30/2017
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am so disappointed in this drug. I was on Tysabri but I had to discontinue due to the risk of PML. I was able to get through the starter pack. I even made it through the first injection at 125 mcg. Oh but the second one has been HELL! I have had flu-symptoms for a week. The headaches and nausea is out of this world. The sad part is that when I called for support i really felt like I got none!! I will not continue this drug. As with everything else in the world to each his own.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dalmatian | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/27/2017
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find the pre-filled pen hard to use!!! If you get it wrong the pen locks and then it is unusable and has to be thrown away. WHAT A WASTE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/29/2017
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had MS for 7 years now, took Rebif for 5 years, Plegridy for 18 mos..Love Plegridy..AS with rebif the s/e's were about the same along with injection site reactions. love that it is biweekly..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BARBIE DOLL | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/20/2017
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I WAS ON THIS DRUG FOR ONLY 4 MONTHS,HAD THE FLU LIKE SYPTOMS TWICE DID EXACTLY WHAT THE DR. SAID, TOOK ALEVE THE DAY BEFORE AND DRINK TONS OF WATER, TOOK ALEVE AGAIN BEFORE INJECTING. LAST TIME I GOT SO SICK WITH THE FLU LIKE STUFF, I COULD HARDLY WALK FOR 2 DAYS. DR. SENT ME FOR BLOOD WORK AND LIVER ENZ. HIGH, THYROID OFF, WBC DOWN. DR. TOOK ME OFF. DID NOT FEEL GOOD AT ALL. GOOD LUCK TO PEOPLE THAT CAN TAKE THIS DRUG.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sabrina | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/1/2017
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken 4 shots of plegridy. So far it's working for me. I was having a relapse daily. There are a few side effects, but not too bad to manage. For flu like symptoms I take some generic otc cough/sinus medication, Tylenol and rest for a day or two. So much better than having relapses!! I also get a pretty big red welt at injection site around the 3/4 day that lasts two weeks. Ice it and the swelling goes down! Rather have a few symptoms then relapsing constantly!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
like2giggle2 | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/12/2016
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been a long time user of Avonex (18 years). I changed to Plegridy because of the every other week shot instead of the every week shot of Avonex and because the needle is smaller. I have been taking Plegridy now for about 8 months and at first I was only concerned with the redness in the spot I injected, however, now I am experiencing muscle fatigue and extreme achyness that starts on the 2nd or 3rd day after the shot and lasts almost a week. I did not really have any side affects with Avonex that I can remember that were like this. I am going to talk to my Doctor about going back to Avonex. Oh and one other thing, I did not have any new lesions with Avonex and now I have a few small ones showing up in my MRI. Nothing to be concerned about but the fact that they are showing up is even more of a reason to consider going back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mary | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/18/2016
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have done 6 shots and my leg is finally clearing up from the first shot. side effects are bad. Neck and back pain, tired, depressed. Doctor finally said stop using this. Hopefully we can find a better medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/20/2016
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel after being on this medication for 6 months I still feel the flu like side effects after injection and my MS has only progressively gotten worse! This medication has done nothing for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2016
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just took my first injection a week ago and I have a severe red welt on my leg. I also thought the needle, although shorter (which I like) was really hard to push through. I think I'll go back to Avonex.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mjvig3 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/3/2016
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's really too soon for me to rate this, so I went with all 3s. I gave my second full dose Sunday night. It's Wed. and I'm wondering if I really have a bad flu or if these are lingering side-effects. This is worse than the last dose and almost as bad as Avonex. Is there a common time for flu-like symptoms to last?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
trevorcb | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2016
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had MS for 22 years. Was on Avonex for 2 years but bad reactions. On Peligridy for 3 months with no big problems. Pain killers help, flu symptoms for 3 days, bruising lasts 3-4 weeks, keeping positive is best. The future is unknown

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/10/2016
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My legs feel like jelly for two days after I inject and my walking is quite laboured.this is the only drug I've tried yet since beign diagnoised last year so I'm a bit of a guinea pig yet.I get site reaction after about 6days and it lasts till I hav to inject again in 3wks time.I alternate my thighs.flu-like symptoms very bad for first 4 mts but have settled.I take paracetomol before injecting and following day.can't see any improvement while taking Plegridy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WesternMDwoman | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/2/2016
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Injecting was simple. Results were horrible for me. My walking in very labored and difficult. After 3 injections, I will not do a 4th.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CMo | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2016
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No! No! And NO! Diagnosed in 2006...This medication is very easy to administer but the side effects for me have been vicious! I have taken it for almost five months. The first (lower dosages) started with sever flu-like symptoms. The third shot(highest dosages) and beyond I had headaches, sever fatigue, and flu-like symptoms for 3-4 days. The bruising from the injections is horrible and now my LFT has come back showing elevated levels consistent with liver damage! I'm taking myself off the medicine with or without my doctors approval. I had not taken anything for over four years and before that I took Copaxone and Rebif. Copaxone worked well until I had trouble breathing and I believe it aided in my developing and ulcer. Rebif gave me bruising, flu-like symptoms and I had many relapses. I think I may go back to my homeopathic (vitamins, exercise, low stress, and diet) approach in battling this disease. I have five way better doing a more natural regime. It seems the side effects are worse than the disease itself! Everyone is different and you should follow your instincts. Best wishes!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nolita | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/30/2016
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great little pain day after but works good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
I hate Pledigry | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/29/2016
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Plegridy for the last 5 months. I was on Copaxone and I stopped taking it after i had allergy to it. With Plegridy, I have flu like symptoms for 24 hours. I lay in bed because I feel my spine like jellyfish after I take it. I cant walk nor move. The fever is so high that i put ice. I take Napraleen. It is way better that Naproxen. Naproxen is useless for me. The problem is that the insurance doesnt cover Napraleen and I ended paying $110 for these pills. It is ridiculous. After 3 days, of the injection site I get a red lump on the site and it doesnt go away for 6 weeks. First the skin is red, then becomes blue and purple. I developed spider veins on my skin. For the last 3 months I developed breathing problems from it. Now it is so obvious that I have a constant pain in my back when I breath. I talked to my neurologist and she insists to stay on this medication. I really hate the doctor. I am thinking to take myself of the medication. I cant stand it anymore. I have more health problems since I have started than I had before I was put on this medication. I have more attacks now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deetee | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
12/18/2015
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first MS drug and so far working great. Most of my symptoms have gone away after 3 months of full strength injections. Worst side effect are bruising/welt at injection site.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MSSUCKS | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/2/2015
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Plegridy is the first disease modifying drug I have been on (due to new active inflammation in my brain - that as now subsided). The pen is so easy a feeble monkey could do it (once you get over the Heebie Jeebies of having to stab yourself). The worst of the side effects for me were the initial 48-72 hours of Flu like symptoms so bad it felt like someone had beaten me all over my body with a baseball bat. And felt like ground glass in my joints. However, between my internist and my neuro they kept working on finding the right combo of drugs to counter this effect. So sounds ridiculous but about an hour before I inject I take a Vicodin, A muscle relaxer, a Celebrex and Benedryl. And then I snooze for the night. I keep this cocktail up for as long as the symptoms last (and don't let it get ahead of you). Now, almost year later, I generally only have to maintain the cocktail for about 30 hours. I also always get skin reactions that get really red about the size of a small orange and are painful day 5 thru day 14. But I keep the spot covered with a large bandaid and treat it with triple antibiotic with pain relieving ointment - that just works the best for me. You have to really slather it on and use this ointment to keep it moist. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2015
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was ecstatic to be prescribed a medication that only requires bi-weekly injections. However, I am one of the unlucky patients to have bad side effects. While Plegridy kept my MS at bay, the side effects included depression (never had this before), weakness to partial paralysis in lower limbs for 2 days following injections, and severe headaches. Unfortunately the side effects remained once I came off of the medication and I am slowly getting back to my old self on Rebif.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More