Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

85 People found this comment helpful

This medication works for me after all the other antidepressants either didn't work at all or stopped working. And NO...I do not work for a drug company. This medication started working much faster than others I've tried or been on and I don't to worry about the hellish withdrawal side effects I experienced when I stopped taking Effexor and celexa. I haven't gained any weight (I've actually lost a...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

This was the most annoying medication to actually acquire from the pharmacy. I had to go THREE times because of the SAME issue! (That it needed approval from my doctor). And then make sure you activate their discount card before your pharmacy actually fills it. The issues surrounding this medication are not worth its effects. My doctor gave me samples to try beforehand, and honestly, I should have...

Shared reviews and ratings

TaunyaG | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2023
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Trintellix at the beginning of 2020 for MDD. I was also on Clonazepam for anxiety. Literally, within a week, my depression fog lifted, I was giddy happy, I had energy, i was getting up early, I loved life again and people noticed how great I felt and were excited for me. I was excited for me! I had never, in the 20+ years of being on mental health medication felt so great. It continued until the third month on it and then I noticed the withdrawal from people, wanting to sleep in, depression fog coming back…and this was on 20mg. I was so upset that it stopped working. Nothing has worked like Trintellix since I stopped taking it about May 2020. I’m not on any antidepressants now, I’m in full depression mode and have been for over a year. No other medication has worked. I see a new psychiatrist the 18th and will see if I can try Trintellix again and see what happens. I also had no sickness side effects or withdrawal effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Molly | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/7/2023
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been under treatment for Major Depression and anxiety. I was on Abilify, Lamactal and Venlafaxine. I was doing ok but had gained weight and still felt depressed. My Dad passed away and I decided to stop all meds. I was ok but still depressed. My Dr. put me on Trintellix. Worst experience I ever had. My depression worsened and I began to have compulsive suicidal thoughts. I had no appetite and felt nauseous. I told my Dr and instead of taking me off the medication, he increased it. It only got worse. I seriously considered committing myself to a psych hospital. I finally found a new Doctor and weened off of it. A year later, I am still having lingering side effects of suicidal thoughts. I don't recommend this to anyone. Get exercise, it has the same effect as an anti-depressant without side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AJ222 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/7/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 4 other medications this has worked the best for me. A little nauseous for the first week was the only side effect I had. This drug has not caused sexual dysfunction like all the others I have been prescribed. I started on 10 mg dose but went up to 20 mg after some lingering symptoms. As long as you have insurance you can use the discount card. I pay $30 for 90 pills

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mulejaw | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/7/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm always cautious when reading or writing reviews. Find. A lot of the negative reviews seem to indicate that the medication shouldn't be taken by others. I think everybody should be reminded that medications work very differently on different people. So if it's the right thing for you that's great and if it's not that's fine. But always keep in mind that you might dissuading someone from trying something that might be very helpful to them.I just started going back for about a week now. I had been on it last year and it was actually working pretty well. I don't remember much in the way of strong side effects at the time. But that just might be me not remembering. I quit because I wanted to try other forms of therapy that were incompatible with the drug. I have decided to go back on it due to my recurring depression and because I have good results with it in the past. This time around, however, one week in and anxiety is through the roof and I find myself ruminating more than usual and my depression seems to have worsened. I will stick it through for the required 4 to 6 weeks. Keeping in mind that not only do these drugs act differently on different people. But that they might also act differently according to the context in which the individual is in. Patience.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vinny | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started to take this as I was experiencing a lot of anxiety and feeling very sad. Within weeks felt so much better snd allows me to not to take things personally and let things go. My thoughts became positive and felt immense peace. Truly works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CC44 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First week I didn’t notice any change which was frustrating I’d been dealing with anxiety really bad for over a year. Anxiety was effecting every single part of my life. Constant worrying and what I thought was just stress, I was taking Hydroxyzine for years, it helped at night to sleep but made me feel groggy in the morning. It also didn’t help ruminating thoughts it just made me tired so I couldn’t take it in the morning. I didn’t want to get out of bed (I did though, but as late as possible) everything (even self care) seemed like a chore… I wasn’t depressed i have a very optimistic positive outlook. I just wanted to escape my constant thoughts of worry. After a back injury and being prescribed ativan and gabapentin I realized there was a different way to live I felt a glimpse of relief for the first time. TKing these drugs actually have me a reprieve from my worrying for the first time in a very long time and as such was what I needed to notice I wasn’t stressed but dealing with constant anxiety which was becoming more and more debilitating. My doctor wouldn’t prescribe ativan or gabapentin long term but wanted me to try trintellix. I was annoyed after reading all these reviews that it wouldn’t work. Almost didn’t take it and after a week no relief. But now three weeks of taking trintellix I feel lighter, calmer, less reactive. I also have ADHD and haven’t noticed any improvement there but who knows. Mornings are easier my thoughts of worry still come but I can notice them and let them go when before that was impossible. I had tried meditation and work with a psychologist 2x a week for two years as well - my husband and adult son have noticed I’m more pleasant and less “stressed” I am not having unbearable ruminating thoughts at night and am able to go back to sleep at night… this medication is worth trying I have had zero side effects and am taking 10mg from start of this medication. Overall life just seems more tolerable and less heavy… Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blondie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/24/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has been amazing in the sense that I don't have brain fog, I am more awake with a clear mind BUT the side effects are awful!! Severe dizziness, pain in my eyes, nausea with vomiting, headaches. I'm now in my final phase of dose increase up to 20mg so I am hoping that it will get better soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Windsicle | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/6/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried several medications over the years and this one has treated me kindly. My one complaint is that my libido is down in the gutter somewhere, haven’t seen it in a long time. I tried telling my doctor and asking for something to counteract but she insists trintellix doesn’t affect that. I went through some bad meds to get to this one so I’m afraid to try something else- I haven’t felt this great in decades. I did not have side effects when I started it and still haven’t. I did have to up the dosage awhile back because it seemed to be wearing off earlier in the day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NoTRX | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/6/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not worth the withdrawal effects! I was on this med for 2 years. It was wonderful in that it shut off my chattering monkey mind and gave me a much needed break from the stresses and sadness of life. The downside is that I became so numb that I didn’t feel high highs nor low lows. I was a numbed out happy zombie for the first year. The second year I lost all desire to live. Not suicidal but just didn’t want to do anything or see anyone. I didn’t want to leave the house or work or grow or achieve anything. I stopped living. I also gained 20lbs and had absolutely no sex drive nor erections. I decided to wean off it and 5 months later it continues to be the most horrible experience. Anger. Irritability. Severe anxiety and paranoia. Sobbing. Laughing hysterically. Hating people. Hating my job. Fear. Panic. Weight is dropping and labido is returning. I almost want to go back on it to make these withdrawal symptoms go away but I’m going to bear with it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sav123! | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Trintellix now for about 3 months and feel absolutely horrendous. I started this medication because my psychiatrist spoke so highly of it, and it was more effective than my previous med (Zoloft) she said. However, during the first few weeks on it, I felt nothing but a little tired. Then I felt extreme vertigo and dizziness by week 3. I now feel extremely fatigued too, and my head hurts as well as a dull eye pain in both eyes. I have been experiencing rashes and itchy skin too which I never have had before. DO NOT TAKE. This drug is a hardcore antidepressant and really messed up my brain, I can't wait to go off of it and try something more natural. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
New Englander | 45-54 | Female | Patient
10/1/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This script made me aggressive, weepy, and unable to sleep. Plus it’s sooo expensive as I do not qualify for the savings card.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/30/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I never write reviews but I wanted to warn others about this Med. I was on Lexapro for about 25 years and wanted to switch to a Med that would also help with my ADD. I was proscribed an antidepressant that I ended up having an allergic reaction to so my Dr changed me to Trintellix the first two weeks it caused nausea which eventually subsided. But The irritability continued to get worse every day until I was unable to interact with my children, family and friends. After a month of being on this medication I was verbally attacking even strangers. I have never been suicidal until taking this medication. I lost all interest in activities and stayed away from all people. I became extremely depressed and cried all the time very unlike my character. I have been dealing with anxiety depression and irritability for over 35 years. And this medication may need a danger to myself and others. I am now switching back to Lexapro.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennifer | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/20/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

mild nausea in the beginning of treatment but subsided. Overall, has been the best medication for me. I’ve been on everything and this has worked the best.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/15/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 7 different medications this is the one that helps me the most. It is not for everyone and can be expensive because no generic version is available. I had the least sexual side effects with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gettingbetter:) | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started tapering off 20mg lexapro down to 10mg for a week, then I began Trintellix 10mg on a Sunday. No obvious side effects immediately. Woke up energized on Monday. By Tuesday, I couldn’t stop apologizing and crying about everything. I also completely lost my appetite. I woke up out of my sleep Tuesday night fully convinced I couldn’t breathe at all. It was terrifying. By Wednesday, I’m still weepy but now extreme diarrhea started to develop and I had my first panic attack since I was 7 years old. I had to pull over while driving my car. In the 4 days I was on Trintellix, I lost about 6lbs because of how bad the nausea was in combination with the diarrhea. I refused to eat, couldn’t see it, couldn’t smell it or I would throw up. By Thursday, I literally pooped my pants from how bad the diarrhea was. It was humiliating. I decided to stop on Thursday, and every day until now (Saturday), I’ve gotten slowly better. I’m taking a .5mg of Ativan until it’s completely out of my system. This was the only medication I’ve ever tried that made me think about going to the mental hospital for treatment. I wouldn’t let anyone leave me alone because I couldn’t trust myself until today. I’m sure this medication works for some, but I will not be attempting it again. I wouldn’t recommend it to my worst enemy honestly. If you’re reading this and looking for some hope, it does get better. Hang in there. You’re not crazy. You’ll get it figured outRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
therainisgone | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/25/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried many other anti-depressants in the past (Zoloft, Abilify, etc), and unlike those, this one let me continue being "myself" rather than turning into a zombie. I got some dizziness in the first couple weeks (I started at 5mg before being upped to 10mg), but other than that, I have had no side effects. No change in sex drive (if anything it increased, likely due to the significantly decreased depression symptoms), no weight gain, no agitation, no "fogginess". This drug has absolutely changed my life for the better. After about 1 year at 10mgs, I began noticing some suicidal thoughts again so I called my doctor and was bumped to 20mg. I've been at 20mgs for about 2 years now with no issues. Once every couple of months or so I will have a "down day" but overall my depression symptoms are 80-90% better!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gigi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Became an absolute monster, yelling, cussing and really endangering myself with the things I would say to people I did and didn't even know! Can't sleep and weaning off ASAP. I can honestly say that it was easier being depressed and anxious than the rage I feel now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Noodles | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been on Trintellix for approx 2 years now. I used to be on Loxalate for about 2 years also (which worked great in the first year but eventually made me so apathetic and i felt like i was never full, so eventually put on a bit of weight). After Loxalate, i tried another drug for approx 6months (cant remember the name but it was a dopamine based one instead of seratonin) which didnt do a single thing for me. Eventually fell back into a deep hole of depression, hopeless and on the verge of giving up. When i tried Trintellix, i dont know how, but it worked THAT night! Its subtle but i just found myself daydreaming of things like how i wish to travel to this place etc. Sounds silly but i hadnt had a nice thought like that in what felt like forever. I also felt like a weight had been lifted off my shoulders. I dont think Trintellix helps anxiety though. But my anxiety is mild compared to depression. I know i will need to be on medication for the rest of my life, so i hope this doesnt have any long term side effects/ and hope it doesnt stop working. P.s its SO expensive in Australia. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aria | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Last year I developed panic attack and anxiety disorder. I started with Lexapro that I couldn’t continue more than a few days due to a serious heart palpitation as side effect. I was then put on Zoloft 75mg for 6 months that I had to stop since it was impacting my cognition. I tried Buspar 15mg for a month or so but that triggered mild depression and mood swimgs. Finally I was prescribed Trintellix 10mg. I started with 2.5 mg (yes, I had to cut the pill) and slowly increased to 10mg. Overall I am very impressed with the results; I never experienced sexual side effect or nausea but anytime I increase the dose my anxiety is increased for about a week until the drug concentration is maximized and settled. I am aware everyone may respond differently to a medication but Trintellix worked well for me. So far I have been taking it for about 2 months and I’m 80% better. I still experience some residual anxiety and very mild mood swings but they’re totally manageable. I do recommend to give it a try if other meds didn’t work as they should. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trintellixlover2 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Posted earlier. Felt great at first for the first few days, then back into depression for 4 weeks until now on week 5... Finally feeling truly not depressed and just excited, motivated, happy. Such a relief! Can't believe the drastic difference this Trintellix has made in my life. It has saved my life that was really painful before now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More