Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

39 People found this comment helpful

my husband took enbrel for 3 years he has been off of it, really hasn't needed it in about a year, last week he had a chest e-ray for a surgery needed, his lungs are full of small malinant tumors, his lungs are FULL of individual tumors, both lungs...from Enbrel, don't be foolish and take this drug, yes it makes you feel better at the time but long term this drug is not worth it, we have a hell of...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

The cost was extremely high even with insurance and the results were poor.

Shared reviews and ratings

Sid | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/15/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Makes me tired. Wish there were better choices.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joann | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/1/2021
Condition: Rheumatic Disease causing Pain & Stiffness in Backbone
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/27/2020
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked well with me, but the needle needs to be worked on it is actually very painful I was on Humira and their needle didn't hurt at all.. The injection site is always red and itchy but all in all I'm satisfied with the results on my joint pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
1/4/2020
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MY MOTHER 67 YEAR OLD. BEGAN ON EARLY 2019 on this treatment a year later later ANAL CANCER. we went into the cancer experience with her, quimios, radiotherapy. it was HELL. this medication is the worse. STOP TAKING IT

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/30/2019
Condition: Polyarticular Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was diagnosed with Polyarticular Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis at the age of 16. Within about 8 months the slight lower back aches and an ache in left ankle had gotton worse, spread to my other ankle, my knees, jaw, wrists, and all fingers. Doc confirmed diagnoses with MRI of the lower spine to find years worth of arthritis damage in the SI joints and immediately prescribed Enbrel. For about 3 months it worked perfectly and I was able to exercise again until it started to wear off before the next injection and eventually stopped working altogether. Blood test revealed I had developed antibodies to the Enbrel, making it useless as a treatment. It was worth it during the time it did work, some moderate side effects but nothing intolerable like head or stomach ache. Still worth it. Bummer that my body had to reject the medication like that. Getting switched to a combo of Humira and low dosage Methotrexate soon.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wwhaley | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/24/2019
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am wondering about others thoughts on the length of time needed for enbrel to start working. I have been on Enbrel for 15 weeks (almost 4 months now) to treat my RA. I am only 28 years old, and was previously on Plaquenil and Prednisone. Neither of which worked for me. I am still having a lot of pain in the joints in my hands and feet , as well as my jaw. About 8 weeks ago, I started having sever back/spine pain. And xray showed that the vertebrae in my neck and rather close together, indicating arthritis. My rheumotologist has said, on more than one occasion that back pain is NOT common in people in RA which I DO NOT believe. Is anyone else with RA experienceing this kind of stabbing/burning/numb pain in their back/neck and spine? Also- For those taking Enbrel, how long do you think it took before you started to see relief? Sincerely- A frustrated Enbrel User. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2019
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Ebrel in January. It has worked great for me. However, I have a question for people that takes this, do you get flare-ups every now and then?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tsac | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/24/2017
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On Enbrel for 6 years years. Topicals did almost nothing for it. The joint pain was miserable. I went on methotrexate for about a year, which helped get rid of the pain and some of the plaque psoriasis. I have been on Enbrel for about 6 years now and generally the joint pain is gone. I saw the posts on the potentials and hope the cancers and other bad things don't surface. I don't know what to take that will work but plan to talk to my doctor and see if he has other offers. The cost is extremely high and once the ACA prevented people on Medicare from getting drug company assistance the cost was full retail ( $41k ) and way beyond my ability to pay. Fortunately I found a drug insurance that cost me only $6500 per year. Not sure after reading the warning posts what to do.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steven | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/7/2017
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At the start Enbrel did a nice job of reducing plaque and, as I cannot take NSAIDs, controlling the arthritis. After a year or so its effectiveness gradually reduced to where I discussed a change with my dermatologist. The weekly shots were another negative though the auto inject system was pretty good. I switched to Cosentyx which, after 15 months, continues to be effective. Sure like the monthly injections, even if there are two of them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hwhittington | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/4/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Enbrel a little over 12 years and have loved it! When I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis at age 19, I could hardly eat because of jaw pain and could barely walk without crutches. Since I have been on Enbrel,I am able to do anything I want with no pain at all. Every once in awhile I'll get a stiff knee but it's very rare and normally only if it's really humid. The past 2 months I have developed Urticaria. My rheumatologist is concerned the Enbrel has triggered a reaction and has instructed me not to take it anymore. I am concerned because the reason we started the injections was because nothing else seemed to work for me. The injections are quick and easy and are no worse than any other injection. I love my Enbrel and don't want to give it up. All blood work has been very normal with no problems, I am very active and so far very healthy. A little concerned about all of the cancer comments but I am hopeful that my doctor's will keep up with blood work in case anything we're to come up. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MizMoose | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
7/30/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was diagnosed 12years ago with ankylosis spondylitis and prescribed Ebrel. It worked great! 15 months ago it suddenly stopped working, or so we thought. Dr changed his melds but did not do any scans or X-rays. Wish he had. 12 months ago his collar bone broke spontaneously. He was using the mouse on his PC. At the emergency room they found shadows in his lungs. CT-Scan showed stage 4 metastasized lung cancer. 4 months ago he died at the age of 50. The rheumatologist never said this could happen. My husband left means two teenagers behind. They miss him very much. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/13/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had normal WBC counts before I was put on Enril for 3 months. My WBC dropped to 2.3, and I noticed my hair falling out during that time. My doctor immediately took me off the Enbril, and after being off a month my WBC count is now up to 4.2 and my hair has stopped falling out. I was previously on Humira with no known side effects, and hope to go back on it one my count goes higher.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sammie71 | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/4/2016
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm much worse in all ways. My gait is like I'm a drunk and Gravity is is a strong second place hahah

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chappy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/5/2016
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started using Enbrel for psoriasis on my scalp. Worked very well...cleared up my skin. 7 months later I was diagnosed with chronic lymphocytic leukemia. About to start chemotherapy now. Do not take this drug.......

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RH | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/21/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with lupus/severe arthritis after the birth of my daughter 21 years ago. I took methotrexate, plaquenil, and pred for three issues with terrible side effects scaling back to pred to have my second daughter. 6 mos after my second daughter was born, dr called telling me a about this trial drug. I immediately went on it because I couldn't bear the thought of mehotrexate. It's been 15 yrs! I made a decision that day for quality of life - I have my life back and I've raised two children doing all the crazy activities you do with kids! I've never had the side effects and I would fight my dr if she tried to take me off it! I started this drug at 38 and I'm 53 now. This drug gave me my life back and if I eventually develop a side effect, I still would not regret the decision I made. I've lived almost pain free for many years and once you lived with the severe pain of RA, you may think quality over quantity. It's a personal decision only you can make for yourself but for me, I know I made the right one!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicole Haywood | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
6/18/2015
Condition: Joint Inflammatory Disease in Children and Young Adults
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My baby girl has JIA junior inflammatory arthritis. She was diagnosed at 6 month's old now four years old and been on Enbrel for 2 and a half years along with methotrexate. We have no choice but to give it to her. With out it she's paralyzed.I'm so afraid that what we're giving her is gonna eventually take her life. Reading all these reviews breaks my heart. All I got is hope that this drug won't take from us. I have two choices she can either be paralyzed and shrivel up to nothing or give her a drug that could potentially kill her. Wish there was a cure.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
papabob | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/6/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on Enbrel for over 10 years and has been effective, up until now. Doctor now suggests a new med, a non TNF blocker, to help relieve a now more active joint deteoriation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
George | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/29/2015
Condition: Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Developed severe antibody titre reaction. Three (3) months of therapy required to rehabilitate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/23/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was one of the original users of this medication. I developed RA at 18, although I wasn't diagnosed until 22 and was already in the "moderate to severe" category in every mobile joint in my body other than my spine. I tried everything on the market, and at best was only "surviving." I also have Type I Diabetes, so I can't take prednisone for flares (instantly develop high sugars that do not respond to correction). After I started taking a combination of methotrexate and Enbrel, I started having "okay" days. Then most days were okay, with a few "good" days. Then mostly "good" with some "what RA?" days. After faithfully taking this for 5+ years, I had to have some x-rays taken, and the radiologist noted that there was little to no evidence of RA in many of my joints! My only complaint is that the sure-click thingy injects way too fast and it hurts like hell for about 12 hours, in addition to an itchy lump under the skin. Annoying, but if I take it just before going to bed it's a very tolerable side effect for the amount of relief I feel.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gib | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/11/2014
Condition: Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Enbrel for 10 years for plaque psoriasis and associated arthritis. It worked very well for both my skin condition and joint pain. I recently had to stop treatment because of neurological symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More