Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

I have been using Telmisartan (Micardis) since December 2008. My blood pressure is under control and normal, and I have had no side effects from this drug. Previously I was taking Lisinopril which caused severe coughing spells, which my doctor thought was due to asthma and bronchitis. I switched from Lisinopril to Telmisartan and both the asthma and coughing spells went away.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this med for 5 weeks along with my other Bd Pr med. and I take my old med in the morning it works, I take the new med at night and it does not keep my Bd Pr down. Also experiencing muscle aches and pain and developed a heel spur. It messes with my mind and causes depression.

Shared reviews and ratings

Alex | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

GP prescribed this in place of Losartan when that became unavailable. It has kept my bp down but makes me dizzy and tired. I have fallen twice and been unable to get up without help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stel | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/2/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 40mg 1x per day and immediately lowered my BP 6 months ago Dr suggested I take 20 mg and I feel wonderful my BP is that of a teenager again and i my 45 =yo

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anne | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started, but the pills have a sweet taste. I've never tasted a bp pill that taste sweet. Anyone else had this taste with theirs?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frogz | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
7/18/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My BP was running 160/98 and on 40mg once a day Talmisartan -it is now 120/70. -no side affects and I feel great. I am a 71 year old woman.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
5/15/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am tired, short winded, legs, back and stomach pains.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sugarjetwzzwqq | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/25/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Telmisartan for several months. It has not lowered by blood pressure. In fact, my diastolic reading has increased. My pressure reduces to normal or below 120/80 when I exercise and my heart rate is higher. Otherwise, its high when my heart rate is normal. The only response I got from the Cardiologist is "You are not normal." Thanks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
birdlady | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/25/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this med for 5 weeks along with my other Bd Pr med. and I take my old med in the morning it works, I take the new med at night and it does not keep my Bd Pr down. Also experiencing muscle aches and pain and developed a heel spur. It messes with my mind and causes depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Blood pressure is still high

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/13/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take it, in addition to my Diltiazem, which is also for BP. In combination, it has lowered my BP.v

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bunny | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched from Lisinopril due to horrible dry cough. Both meds control pressure well, but side effects are terrible. Extreme fatigue, body aches and pains, sleepiness, foggy thinking, blurred vision, headaches, backaches, sinusitis, congestion, dizziness, feeling unwell. And dry cough returning!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blackbird | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/28/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel terrible with this drug and seems like the asthma is worse as it's hard to breathe. Generally, I feel tired all the time especially after taking the pill. The confusion from exhaustion or the drug is hard to bear. Also feel somewhere between a little and a lot dizzy almost constantly; often feel about to faint. And then there is the chest pains from time to time. Overall, it's an effort to do anything including eat or read. I will be talking with my doctor and ask for something else. Cannot live like this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K V RAO | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/8/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been easy for me to use. Overall, I have been satisfied with my experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Johnfortich Vista | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/28/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using this for 4 years now at 40mg first then step up to 80mg. When i stopped (this cost a lot compared to others) it cause severe depression. Taking it again and hope that exercise and diet helps to reduce depression. Developed muscles and joint pains too. But, true, it lowers my bp from 170/120 to 118/90 in 3-4hours after taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/10/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my arthritis medication interacts with this medication and reduces the effectiveness of the telmisartan ao my blood pressure goes up and my arthritis med doesn't work as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mlw | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/9/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Plood Pressure Too low

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/25/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good for control of hypertension. but increases potassium and creatinine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Murthy | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/3/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
racsoesnama | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sunny | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/27/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More