Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking 15mg daily for over six months and it has been working great. The only problem is I now have dry mouth and a decrease in taste. Oh well, at least I don't pee on myself anymore.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

have been taking this drug for months and wake up wet all night. Have to get up 3 times to urinate. Feel I am wasting my money on this drug.

Shared reviews and ratings

Julie | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/9/2019
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

slowly less effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
susan | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/9/2019
Condition: A Condition of Bladder Dysfunction from Nerve Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steph | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/15/2019
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works very well! One annoying side effect - Dry mouth.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SilverLady | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/3/2018
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use the generic oxybutynin ER and I can now control urination as long as I don't try to hold it too long. I now only need to get up once rather than every 2 hours at night. And I can also empty my bladder completely. However the oxybutynin CL ER originally prescribed made my hair fall out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juliej | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/17/2016
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take a 5mg tablet any day I don't wanna pee 30 times a day, it brings it down to maybe 7 or 8 times a day which is amazing, side effects I get extremely tired after taking it and need a nap, stomach pain, constipation, I have also wet the bed once so I don't take before bedtime anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tammy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2016
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can't believe after taking the first pill how much this drug helped! My Dr. put me on this to calm my bladder down until they find out what is going on with my bladder. I constantly feel like my bladder is full...very uncomfortable, but this drug takes the edge off the pain. My only complaint is it's so expensive. $100. for 30 pills!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lolapop | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/30/2015
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 15mg daily for over six months and it has been working great. The only problem is I now have dry mouth and a decrease in taste. Oh well, at least I don't pee on myself anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
reatta90 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/21/2013
Condition: Difficult or Painful Urination
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pammielock | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/23/2013
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this medication for 5+ years, and I think the generic oxybutynin chloride ER 10 is just as effective as the ditropan. I hate taking medication and tried to stop taking it for the last month and I need the stuff, so just placed my refill order in...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2013
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ditropan | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/31/2013
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/21/2012
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this medication after bladder surgery, because for no apparent reason I start to leak upon standing up or walking. I did as my doctor suggested and waited for 3 months after surgery before taking the pills. I have been given the generic extended release form and it is not helping. I am getting side effects of drowsiness, dry mouth and upset stomach after I eat. I am wondering if I should notify my doctor or take them another two weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lois G. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/20/2012
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for a number of years. I recently had to increase from 10 mg to 15 mg per day. It has been very effective for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sdavidek1 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/24/2012
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband had a stroke and since then wakes every 2 to 2-1/2 hour in the night to urinate. At the rehab center the doctor ordered this medication, he is still up every 2 to 2-1/2 hours to urinate and sometimes every hour. We will talk to his primary doctor at his next appointment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
antandie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2011
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maryjo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/30/2011
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had stomach problems, extreme sleepiness, fever, swelling of hands and legs, pounding heartbeat, and blurred vision. I went to doctor to report all of the above not connecting these problems with the drug Oxybutynin. My doctor apparently did not connect also and wanted to put me on an antidepressent! I checked webmd for any side effects to this drug and found all of the above to be connected. I have suffered greatly for many weeks. I hope going off the medication with return me to my normal life even if I have urinary incontinence. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/25/2010
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The dry mouth is the worst experience. And a funny taste in my mouth.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
george pakis | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/26/2010
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

keeps me up at night..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gemstone | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2010
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had frequent UTI's & also IC (interstitial cystitis). Anyway, this drug work rather well, but it takes 2-3 hours til it kicks in. I am going to try taking it at 6 a.m. when I first go to the bathroom.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deweyguy | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/21/2010
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking for a few days the frequency of night time urinations decreased. After several weeks I noticed a very dry mouth and a change of taste in foods. Continured use resulted in sore gums and tongue. I have now discontinured taking the drug and frequent urinations have returned and I am waiting to see if the dry mouth and taste changes disapear.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More