Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

86 People found this comment helpful

I take Rexulti and Viibryd only, after 6mo of 7 diff meds. For months and months I googled symptoms of my mental illness (after a severe psychotic break and 8 hospitalizations) and could rarely find any thing good to read. Only the bad. I have been doing AMAZING (with normal ups and downs) for a year now! I am writing a review because I want people to have hope. I almost wasn’t going to because on...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Horrible. My doctor put me on a trial .5 dose. For the first few days I felt energetic and calm -- like my feelings of dread and anxiety were going down. Then I started feeling flu-like symptoms and I just assumed I had caught a cold. The "cold" progressed for but also brought with it severe panic attacks. The Rexulti was the only new drug in my system, so I determined it to be the culprit. After ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Amber Gattis | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/15/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have multiple personalities, bipolar, MDD, and anxiety. Rexulti has helped me tremendously!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yetanotheranxietypill | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/5/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med helped with my anxiety noticeably but the restlessness was unbearable along with increased appetite... waking up several times a night to eat. Had to stop.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peggy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/5/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first it worked wonderful for me but the longer I was I was on it the more my feelings got locked up. And I had no feelings. So my Doctor had to take me off the medication. The experience was not good for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
7/28/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor started giving me samples of the rexulti 2 years ago. Really seemed to level my mood and I was doing well for quite a while, until my doctor could no longer get samples, and informed me the prescription was close to 1,500 a month, we decided I needed to discontinue the rexulti. So I have followed her instructions for weaning of the drug, and I am two weeks in and it is a terrible experience. I am having panic attacks constantly, I am in some sort of psychosis that I have never experienced before, I can't leave the house. I have been unable to reach my Dr for days, and I just don't know what to do at this point. I am unable to go to work at this time because of my symptoms, I have never experienced this before and I wish I had never started taking rexulti. Hopefully it gets better at some pointRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eve corinne | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can’t afford the misdiagnosis to keep disability on the diagnosis said not to work and to keep it on I thought I had to Chang emu medication to get I was living in pain I didn’t know not to use or send medical files from the hospital a misdiagnosis is very painful I knew what worked I didn’t know it’s my choice to stay on disability I kept sending them medical files and thought I had to follow a misdiagnosis taking kexaoro i got better and was told I would go off

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eve corinne | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was misdiagnosed in the or. Anxiety meds were the only thing throat worked I was told being fine I would go off disability the pain of a misdiagnosis and rhe shakes is really bad I thought to keep disability on I had to go through this pain. I was told how hard it is to get insurance and that kind of money by my grandfather I had fear I was told I had to take medication or this medication for my career so I knew it was bad but I thought I had to ruin my body with the misdiagnosis. I didn’t want to pay for a good doctor. I had anxiety of working after being taped and all my checks stolen and going to the police and not knowing how to file reports i had too much fear to file an Enron and go to jail for it said you do in the exam that you’re not supposed to because they could bomb if you see Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/7/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked quickly for relieving my depression, caused me to gamble and shop like crazy. Sadly no one mentioned that side effect to me, and it was severe. Didn’t even realize it till after I stopped this medication and realized all my urges to shop and gamble just vanished after roughly 10 days of stopping it. Also stopping this medication…at least for me caused severe panic attacks 15-20 times a day. And now I’m having worse anxiety then I’ve ever had in my whole life. This drug may work for you, but read all possible side effects. You would never think a medication could cause compulsive spending/gambling.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve only been taking Rexulti for about two weeks, but it’s been very helpful so far along with Lexapro for depression and anxiety. If you’re reading this and taking Rexulti for depression then you also should also be taking an antidepressant with it. So far so good and nothing else has really worked well, hopefully it will continue to help as time progresses. Give it a chance if you are just starting with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AndreaD | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from PTSD, Anxiety, Depression and ADD. I started taking .5 with cymbalta 90mg and my depression started getting worse so they upped it to 1mg then my psychologist seen me again and I was still getting worse and gave me 2mg and sent me to therapy and then that's when I got really bad. I literally wanted to kill myself and was preparing for it. I for some just stopped taking my meds because I stopped caring about everything. But I still took my cymbalta because I would get the brain zaps if I didn't. But then I started feeling better, thinking clearer and the realization hit me that I was ready to kill myself and me feeling sane again i got really scared because how close I was to ending it all. Please do not do what I did. You need to be honest about your feelings and see if the meds truly make you better or worse, confide in someone please. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/7/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the third medication my psychiatrist tried for a depression. I was taking it for 3 months. For the first month, I was taking 0.5 mg. I didn't feel much, except being slightly sedated after the medication. But, if I was taking it at night, I had a poor sleep. For the second month, I was taking 0.5-0.7 mg. I had more energy, although initial sedation was pronounced. Overall, I felt better at that time. For the third month, my psychiatrist bumped the dose to 0.7-1mg. And that's where the hell began. If I take the med at morning, sedation become really intense. Even if I was trying to split the dose in two. If I was taking it at night, my sleep become bad, and I was feeling myself quite sick next day - nauseated, weak, with a headache. These side effects started slowly, but surely Eventually, I started feeling really depressive again. But worst of all, this medication completely shut down my intellectual capabilities. If I am doing any sort of physical / handyman's work - it's not that bad; I feel sedated somewhat but can do things. But I'm a software engineer. And every time I was going to work, I was unable to do _anything_. Literally, it took any ability of mine to do any sort of intellectual work. Any attempt to think would make me sick, and even mildly nauseated. I tried to lower the dose to 0.5 mg - but after days the I still felt same side effects. So I had to stop taking the drug altogether.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gr8fuldeadgrl68 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/28/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started Rexulti after 6 months after having the Mirena IUD inserted. The IUD stopped my periods. Rexulti brought them back w/ a vengeance. Stopped Rexulti for 3 days & it went away. Started back up again and BOOM - periods started again in full force. Lasting over 9 days. Will be stopping Rexulti. The benefits are null.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lola | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/26/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking with Pristiq, other than getting alittle snippy and short tempered I am a lot more civil and racing thoughts and negative thoughts are reduced significantly. I have been on it 3-4 years, I show up for work, alert, positive attitude, I have even lost 50 lbs and since I'm still 80 lbs over weight it's a good thing. Thank God for modern medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kristen | 35-44 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/10/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication caused my throat to close up and result in trouble swallowing...Which then caused me to have my first panic attacks feeling as though I couldn't breathe...it was awful and scary...it took about 3 months after stopping the medication as well as having an endoscopy done and my throat stretched back out with a balloon to feel normal again...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Never again | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/14/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have CPTSD, bipolar II, ADHD, depression, and anxiety. My Dr put me on this medication after having me on a whole bunch of other medications at the same time with no relief to my symptoms. So I went on rexulti. HUGE MISTAKE. I spiralled almost immediately indo a deep depression and as a result had to go to IOP for 3 months 3 days a week. I stopped the meds when I heard that my Dr was fired for exactly what she did to me, which was apparently pushing rexulti on all her clients to gain a profit and I'm assuming it resulted in complaints like mine. But even though I've stopped it and been off it for a little over a year, I keep having these deep depression episodes that I've never had before. It's changed my ability to function and be a part of society in a regular capacity. For the past year, I've been in and out of IOP, seen different therapists and psychologists, and talked to Drs and specialists. Most of which is a direct result of taking rexulti. I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sophie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/6/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was suffering from depression and I didn’t know it until I went to see my psychiatrist. At that time I was taking Escitalopram 10 mg for anxiety(since 2015) and he added Rexulti 0.5 mg(May 2018). After 6 month of taking Rexulti I was feeling unmotivated and didn’t experience much joy with anything. I stopped working and socializing and became less talkative to the point of saying nothing. I was forcing myself to keep on exercising at least twice a week. After 2 years in Rexulti my depression got worse…. I began to go to bed many times during the day…I lost hope in life….there was no reason for me to be alive …. My kids and my husband were desperate and one day they forced me to call my psychiatrist and ask him permission to quit Rexulti. Thanks god I did it! Now I’m back!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
#karie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/5/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 0.5mg for almost a month and noticed improvement within a week. I have treatment resistant depression bipolar II and Rexulti has helped my SSRI work better. To those who are having side effects of drowsiness or dizziness: take it at night and you won’t notice. I haven’t had increased hunger or weight gain (yet). I feel more like myself with normal highs and lows, rather than the severe sadness that was pervasive even with my anti-anxiety, SSRI and Mood Stabilizer (venlafaxine, buspirone, and lamotrigene). It is very expensive, but luckily my insurance covers it with a $15 copay. There is a “savings card” available through the Rexulti website also. And someone mentioned mail order. Also, if your insurance doesn’t want to cover a 30-day supply, see if they will do 90-day instead and have your script rewritten for 90-days. Some insurance companies will take 90 but not 30 (for the exact same thing, IDK why). Good luck, don’t give up hope.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kaye | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/20/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was a game changer for my autistic son's anxiety. He is literally a different kid since starting this drug. His anxiety and accompanying paranoia and agression that it caused pretty much completely resolved.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MiMi55 | 55-64 | Female | Patient
11/13/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rexulti is my game changer. I am 59 years old and have been increasingly depressed from the time I was 6 years old, which is when my father started abusing me. I remember my 5-year old self as exuberant, excited, enthusiastic and courageous; those traits were snuffed out by almost 15 years of abuse. My depression became so bad that at 52 I retired on disability. I’ve used many antidepressants. Some worked—but it felt like depression had been lessened and little positive added. Rexulti took my recovery to a whole new level—I went from extremely depressed to exuberant in less than 2 weeks. I felt better within a few days but then it just kept going up. I started at 1 mg and am now at 2 mg. I have experienced none of the side effects. Like many, I was shocked about $400/mo copay. Then I found that mail order, through same insurance company, is $40/mo. Don’t give up, there is a solution for you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jill | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been in this medication for about 4 months now. I've noticed a lot more confusion in my brain. More forgetful. My psychiatrist and I have been increasing the dose over time. We got me to 2mgs and stayed there for a few months. A few weeks ago after a trauma, he suggested we up to 3mgs. Almost immediately it made me nauseous. So I went down to 2.5. Back up to 3 again. I have an appointment with him today to talk about it. I also find this medication to be expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
liz | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It did not work very well for me, I took it for around 4-6 months, made me gain weight and tired, that's about it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More