Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

85 People found this comment helpful

I take Rexulti and Viibryd only, after 6mo of 7 diff meds. For months and months I googled symptoms of my mental illness (after a severe psychotic break and 8 hospitalizations) and could rarely find any thing good to read. Only the bad. I have been doing AMAZING (with normal ups and downs) for a year now! I am writing a review because I want people to have hope. I almost wasn’t going to because on...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Horrible. My doctor put me on a trial .5 dose. For the first few days I felt energetic and calm -- like my feelings of dread and anxiety were going down. Then I started feeling flu-like symptoms and I just assumed I had caught a cold. The "cold" progressed for but also brought with it severe panic attacks. The Rexulti was the only new drug in my system, so I determined it to be the culprit. After ...

Shared reviews and ratings

jamie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/1/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

We were told we would see results in 3 days on the 3rd day Rexulti killed my family member. She took her life and it was all rexultis fault. this drug has destroyed our lives

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/5/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brett | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this medication for almost 5 months for treatment resistant depression and bipolar. Have not even felt a noticeable effect. Got very sick and dehydrated with cold and flu like symptoms that won't go away same happened with my current medication zyprexa. Anytime I go on an antipsychotic or anytime the dose is raised I get really bad symptoms of either cold or flu which the doctor told me is impossible. Definitely not a very big but glad to see that it's working for others

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Crystal Crandall | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just get really hot but it’s worth it because it helps me live a normal life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peter | 13-18 | Transgender | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/31/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects weren’t worth it, caused interpersonal confusion and hunger. Prefacing this by saying, I’m not sure what exactly it was treating because I’ve had a lot of these my whole life, but couldn’t be diagnosed with BPD at 10, despite it being VERY obvious. But I have OSDD, PTSD, BPD, MDD, GAD, ODD and some learning disabilities, so basically, I as a problem child, and they didn’t know what to do with me lol. It did stop mental breakdowns, but at the cost of being hungry, all the time, always, painfully so. If i felt that I hadn’t had enough to eat, and tried to eat, I would be seen as eating to much, but if I didn’t eat, I would feel light headed, nauseous and dizzy. I could eat a full meal and after a small amount of exercise I could barley stand. Due to this constant hunger and my insulin resistance, I got bullied for my weight, and for eating as much as I did. For years me and my parents blamed me for my weight and eating habits, now that I’m off it for the first time, my hunger isn’t debilitating, I sometimes don’t even realize I’m hungry because I don’t feel like I’m starving. That being said, I also am able to be afraid again, I have PTSD episodes every time I see my parents. (I still live with them) but I’m getting used to it, and it helps me know that I’m not “making up the abuse” or “I actually love them” or “i’m the abusive one” because they scare me to such a huge degree that it’s easy for me to reason that no, I’m not making it up, and my trauma is real and valid. That being said, I’ve felt more emotions which is nice. I’ve never been happier than some of the times recently, and my lows weren’t the worst i’ve ever had. I started this medication at 10, and took it for 6 years. Please, don’t start your kids on something that caused things such as hunger or pain commonly, I didn’t understand that this wasn’t how it was for everyone until 16. I can’t imagine how many people are living believing that their pain is normal, because they’ve been on a medication so long. If you’re going to start something like this *please* wait until your kid understands the weight of their choices, and stick to very safe medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
winstax | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/20/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

From extreme suicidal thoughts to none in less than a week and they haven't been back. I feel like a normal person now. I have tried other anti-psychotics with terrible side effects and the only thing I could point to with Rexulti is a little weight gain. Totally worth trying.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RMMGEST82 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/27/2020
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor gave me a free trial pack of Rexulti to add to current med in an attempt to boost my moods and give me more energy. I should start by saying Iâ??ve tried just about every anti depressant and mood stabilizer known to man at this point and have gone to many doctors over the last 20 years with little to zero success. With that in mind I was willing to try this new medication. Within the first two days of taking a .25 dose I felt like a literal insane person. I was crawling out of my skin. Could not sit down, had racing thoughts, rampant anxiety, explosive outbursts of anger, general overall awfulness. I stuck it out for about a week and just called my doctor and told her no way Iâ??m done with this! It may really help some folks but in my experience this was the worst drug I ever put in my body. I wouldnâ??t recommend it ever for anyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wdchuk20 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/1/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was suffering from depression. Despite abstaining from drugs, alcohol, and tobacco, meditating, socializing, and exercising regularly, I still felt very low, unmotivated, and did not experience much joy from anything. Psychiatric recommended Rexulti because I had mixed results with SSRIs in the past (they tended to make me hypomanic). Started at .25 mg for a week. Would get hypomanic for a few hours after taking dose in the evening. Felt like I had to get out of the house and do something. Impulse control went way down. Found myself watching Youtube video after video late at night despite knowing I should stop. Driving was very difficult as there was a brief delay in reaction time. I was legitimately scared to drive for a few hours after taking my daily dose of only .25 mg. However, it did take the edge off the depression. It was a bit easier to get out of bed in the morning. But I noticed I was losing empathy and connection with people. When I bumped up to .5 mg, the effects were even stronger. I felt more energized in the morning, but I also felt disconnected, rushed, unable to really connect with people. Started getting nauseous in between doses as well. Had trouble recalling information, difficulty concentrating and speaking. Felt like I was going senile or something. Overall, the minor positive benefits did not outweigh the negatives. Stuck it out for about 5 weeks, but it was making life harder to live. All that said, I did have a few moments of clarity that reminded me what "normal" felt like. It had been nearly 2 years of feeling dead inside, so that was the silver lining. Now I know what I should be aiming for mood-wise.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
#WinningEachDay | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm diagnosed with ADHD, Anxiety, MDD and SAD. I take Focalin (ADHD), Stratterra (ADHD), Pristiq, Rexulti (Anxiety/MDD) and vitamin D (SAD). Rexulti has worked to improve my antidepressant. On 2 mg and will probably have to move to 3 mg at my next appointment. *Advice to anyone taking medication.* - Take a good pro-biotic daily.Pro-biotics build up good bacteria in the gut to absorb the most of anything passing through. This helped me see the most improvement in the shortest amount of time. Hope that helps any and all. Keep at it! Remission is possible! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ricruler | 35-44 | Male | Patient
3/14/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Currently taking 3mg and have noticed considerable differences with energy, happiness, and cognitive function. I take this with seroquel 1500 mg daily dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anita | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/15/2018
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began with .5 mg for major depression. Increased to 1 mg after 3 weeks. My major depression disappeared and my energy level went out of sight. I have experienced periods of impulsive spending, strong emotional periods, a racing mind, extreme anxiety to the point of a racing heart and I can almost feel panic attacks coming on. I have noticed that my OCD is 10x worse than ever before. I may have overcome my deep depression but I am certainly undergoing some heavy challenges in other areas. I don't know if this expensive medication is worth the other problems that it is creating. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KayMarie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/23/2018
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Rexulti and Viibryd only, after 6mo of 7 diff meds. For months and months I googled symptoms of my mental illness (after a severe psychotic break and 8 hospitalizations) and could rarely find any thing good to read. Only the bad. I have been doing AMAZING (with normal ups and downs) for a year now! I am writing a review because I want people to have hope. I almost wasn’t going to because once people are feeling better they rarely write reviews. Usually people more want to write or complain about negative stuff. Rexulti has literally SAVED MY LIFE!!! It took my out of a YEAR straight of suicidal depression/severe anxiety in less than a week. No pill is going to 100% fix you (you need therapy, lifestyle change etc) but I can’t explain how amazing this drug has been to my life. I am so grateful to come across my psychiatrist who does genetic testing, and has prescribed me this drug. Everyone’s chemistry is different. It took me a year of wanting to kill myself every day to becoming stable. Please hang in there, I promise you there is hope, even if Rexulti is not for you. I hope that my post can help someone. Don’t give up and don’t let your illness take your life!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bubbycakes | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/16/2018
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Second update - Rexulti was initially great for me at .5mgs, but slowly inching up to 3mgs, the drug made me incredibly restless and anxious. I didn’t take it at all today and I feel better. Sigh, back to the drawing board.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JuJu | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2018
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having been on many MDD meds over the years, none of which worked very well, I have to say this one is working. Almost immediately I began to feel human again and not like a slug. I have motivation again! I still have suicidal thoughts but nothing like before. Now I am back to doing things I enjoy. Before I didn't want to do anything. A little concerned about possible weight gain, but I will deal with that if it happens. I have been on this med for a couple months and it has helped me so much. I hope it works for you too.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AnneRN | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/15/2018
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying almost every antidepressant available and still having suicidal thoughts almost daily my psychiatric NP prescribed this as an adjunct with Effexor. I have been on the medication for 6 weeks now and have started to feel motivated and doing projects I haven't been able to get started with. I still have occasional suicidal thoughts. The one effect that has amazed me the most was pain relief in my joints. My pain in my hip and knees was 6-8/10 almost daily. I had a hip replacement 6 months ago and from my level of knee pain I was thinking a knee replacement would be needed to relieve my pain. My pain level is 0 most days and occasionally a 1-2/10 on pain scale. I am not taking any pain medication that I can attribute this to. Previously I knew my level of pain was contributing to the depression as I am used to being a physically active person. This pain relief effect has been a miracle for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bubbycakes | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2018
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Update: I had initially said in a prior review that just one .5mg dose made me feel less depressed and it's still doing wonders for me. Here's the biggest news of all: NO MORE RESTLESS LEGS!!!!! OMG, I have suffered from RLS since I was 10 years old (we're talking 1973) and this stuff just made it disappear! I am so so grateful. Nothing, but nothing else ever worked for my RLS - supplements, massage, hot baths, sleeping pills, nada. This proves to me that RLS is a result of some kind of disruption in the brain processing dopamine because that's precisely what Rexulti works on. I have heard that Rexulti can GIVE some people RLS symptoms. Maybe if you already have RLS then Rexulti will cure it? Don't know. I just know it's working for me and I could be happier!!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roodeltee | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2017
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just took my first 0.5mg dose and already feel so much less depressed and more hopeful. This was prescribed as an adjunct to Effexor XR (already on a very high dose of that). Fingers crossed that the good effect continues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/24/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kelcan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2017
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was crying everyday for 2 months and once I started taking this I stopped crying and eating more

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/7/2017
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Love life now. I am only depressed at the cost of this drug. Costs me over $900.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More