Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

39 People found this comment helpful

Repatha has really zapped my cholesterol. I was unable to tolerate any Stanton or non stantons, I had severe muscle pain with both. I am about 4 months in on Repatha use and am having dull aggravating muscle pain all over, don't know why, but seems have started after starting Repatha. I am also having joint aches that I have never had before. I think I am going to skip my next dose and see if ther...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

My 83-yr old mother has had two strokes and was taking Welchol to lower her cholesterol. It was not working so the doctor prescribed Repatha, calling it the new miracle drug. She took 3 doses, two weeks apart and then developed severe neuropathy. She said it felt like the blood was boiling in her hands and feet...it is very painful and dibilitating. The doctor could only surmise that her cholester...

Shared reviews and ratings

Loren | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Four months of Repatha have changed me from a thriving, 72 year old half marathon runner to an invalid and a cripple. Every muscle and every joint in my body aches so bad that often I am unable to get out of bed in the morning. I feel like I’m 100 years old. It’s awful. Yes, it it lowered my cholesterol from 160 to 70, but at what cost? My quality of life is zero. I am stopping the injections now and pray that I somehow recover the muscular healthy body I had before starting Repatha.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Horrific! | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrific side effects. Took single dose. Third night post injection lost ability to swallow, throat constriction. Severe night sweats. BP in excess of 160/110 (no previous history. Resting pulse > 150. O2 level<90%. ER diagnosis suggested anxiety attack (no previous history). Excess mucus production. Severe chest pain (EKG normal). Four weeks post injection: Night sweats gone. BP still elevated (130/90) Resting pulse >85. O2 level >95%. Ability to swallow improved. No chest pain. Still have excess mucus production. Six weeks post injection: BP120/85. Resting pulse <80. Ability to swallow near normal. Excess mucus significantly reduced (near normal). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My cholesterol has been in the mid 200's for years.Over the past 30years I have tried every statin out there. All caused muscle or liver problems. My doctor put me on Repatha two months ago. After the third dose I was unable to stand up. My thigh muscles were pretty much non functioning. I had to push myself up out of a chair. As a result I strained something in my left knee and am in intense pain there. I have to use a walker to move about. The last dose was 3 weeks ago and I am getting better. I have made it to 80 with high cholesterol and no heart issues. No more drugs for me!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barb DePersia | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/4/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects: a lot of muscle and joint pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mitch | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/21/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All the reviews freaked me out but I’m glad I didn’t listen. I am 35. Have familial hypercholersterolimia and wanted to get it under control now so I don’t have issues in my later years. Statins made my legs sore. Literally 0 issues with Repatha. Dropped my cholesterol really low and not a single side effect. People come on here just when they have a bad experience. These are the kind of people that probably wrote crazy stuff all over the internet and complain about side effects from everything. Not typically a review myself but wanted to balance the scales on here. Enjoy ! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AME from NYC | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 2 doses and stopped. Made me an invalid for 6 weeks. My feet were like jelly. I fell, but luckily only bruised. I weighl less that 95 pounds, exercise, walk, and eat no foods that would cause high cholesterol. Doctor took tests, and said it doesn’t run in my family, but something the way my liver processes cholesterol. Was on 7 or 8 different statins which I couldn’t tolerate, so I was looking forward to starting Repatha. Wrong. I would rather live and die with high cholesterol than go what I went through for 2 months. Feel almost back to normal.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
New Patient | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/9/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

62yo male. No history of cardiac issues. Cholesterol/tryglicerates elevated. Spotty history of statin tolerance (40mg Zocor intolerant). Currently taking 25mg prevastatin. First injection of Repatha. No issues with injection. Three days after injection began experiencing difficulty swallowing with increased mucus production. Also began experiencing extreme night sweats as well as waking multiple times during sleep due to breathing problems (no previous history). Breathing issues increased resulting in ER visit. Blood pressure increased to 150/100. Began experiencing significant chest pains around right pectoral muscle (no previous history). After consulting with cardiologist he recommended stopping prevastatin. Symptoms improved with exception of chest pain. Recent blood panel indicated indication of Diabetes (no previous history). Half-life requires 60-90 days to clear system.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/1/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Repatha for two months and my LDL (bad) cholesterol dropped from 180+ to 120+...very nice. I recently traveled and unfortunately exposed my dosage to heat over 80 degrees for three days. I called Amgen and they shipped me a free replacement dosage. Amazing generous service! I am so grateful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorybelll | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/25/2022
Condition: Changes Involving Fatty Deposits in the Blood Vessels
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried using Rapatha for 9 mo, it did bring my overall cholesterol down to 200 from very high. During that time I felt very ill all over, & much older due to leg pains & lethargy. I quit. Then tried it again a few months ago. I found I could not get up from bed to the bathroom without severe leg cramps & had severe hip pain. I have not had this before. And also a feeling of flu like symptoms aching all over.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thor | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/20/2022
Condition: Heterozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stating were destroying my liver. Repatha lowered my cholesterol by 60 percent without liver damage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happyman | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/4/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hear5 disease and unable to take statins due to it causing neuropathy. Repatha when started I had some minor reaction to the drug. But overcame in 2 months of treatment as my body adjusted. LDL dropped to an amazing 0.7 and HDL rose to 1.1. 3 years later and Angiogram showed no build up of blockage in arteries since starting Repatha treatment. Take 140mg each 14 days. Plus some blockage build up has reduced slightly. Repatha with lifestyle changes has changed my life. I found Repatha to be a lifesaver and I now have my life back. Heart disease runs in the family and I had 90% blockage at 56 years of age. My younger brother has the disease, my mother had it and my Grandfather. I trust Repatha will give my children hope for the future.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
charles | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/3/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i stopped taking repatha in 10-14-2021 because of the pain in my body real weak and unstable when walking after about 2 months i was feeling a bit better still a lot of pain in lower back .my dr said he did not think it was from repatha so to start taking again i did now i have flu like symptoms hard walk with out feeling of balance head aches just feel miserable all over.i will see primary DR TODAY to see where i go from here

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chris | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/28/2021
Condition: Changes Involving Fatty Deposits in the Blood Vessels
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Praluent for a year or so, but I had to change to Repatha because of my insurance. I have been using Repatha for about 8 months and every since I started or soon after, I started having some very disconcerting side effects. The main ones that have really affected my well being are severe fatigue, joint pain, brain fog and an almost constant dull headache. I also now have blurred vision in my right eye. Every morning when I wake up, I feel like I haven't slept in days and have to take naps during the day to get by. I have read on hear where people say they wake up feeling hung over and that's exactly how I feel. I just took my last dose. I am going to try and deal with my cholesterol issues with supplements and diet. It has been a horrible last few months, but I am hoping that getting off this crap will help get me back to my old self. Would love to hear from anyone else that has had these side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
m grupp | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/30/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Our family has a history of high cholesterol. My brother has been using Repatha for 4 years with amazing results and no side effects. I was having side effects with statins and my cardiologist recommended trying Repatha. Like my brother, my cholesterol has dropped significantly with zero side effects. Their is a small stinging sensation with the injection, but, at least with me, it's nowhere nears as bad as some the the other reviewers experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rvm | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/23/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My wife purchased the pack of 2 Prefilled autoinjectors. She used one in accordance with the instructions and it failed to discharge the medication. After reporting this to AmGen she tried the second injector and had the same experience. Since she is experienced in using injectors for diabetes for many years, it is obvious these injectors are defective. She called AmGen, asked them to refund the cost of the injectors. They have a NO REFUND POLICY, even for defective products. Is there any surprise they would not want to refund for a product they themselves have no confidence in? Stay away from this product!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charles Haywood | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/14/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have had severe pain fatigue, loss of strength, lower back is starting to hurt ,blurred vision, and ringing in ears is repatha the reason i don't know the answer but statins were not this bad and the dr took me off of them and i started repatha and all this started i have trouble walking some days are worse than others the dr said stop taking the repatha for 2 months and see what happens so i will let you no in to months if repatha is the cause for my sickness or its something else

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda J | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/12/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had tried statins in the past, as a result, I had severe deep muscle pains in many parts of my body. My doctor said I needed to be on Repatha because of my carotid artery had a mild narrowing of the artery, my high LDL & my father had high cholesterol & a massive heart attack. It took a few attempts before I became a pro at giving myself the injections. I took one f my friend's suggestions to inject the medicine subcutaneously into the stomach area. Since I started to use this site, I have been mildly nauseated for an hour or two afterwards. I had my blood cholesterol checked after 3 injections every two weeks, & the results were astounding. The bad cholesterol had dropped significantly. I use the dedicated Repatha nursing staff, & one time, I was referred to an Amgen Pharmaceutical nurse for questions and issues I had regarding the injections and medication itself.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Suzanne | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/29/2021
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Heart Attack
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took two injections so far and the first had severe headache, muscle pain and felt like passing out. Never put two and two together that it was from the Repatha. Second dose had symptoms of a heart attack, jaw and chest pain. Went to the ER and luckily not my heart. Today I have a severe headache, muscle and joint pain and had 2 panic attacks. I will not take another shot. Tried statins when I had my first heart attack and could not walk. Will change my diet again and exercise more now that I can after my knee surgery. Wish me luck I really need it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Florence | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/26/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

6 shots so far. Blood work indicates my bad numbers have ALL plunged into normal range. So glad for this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Puma | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/4/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All Statins aused nasty side effects. Lipitor being the worse. Rapatha came along and changed that. Very effective. A little runny node, dry cough every so often but that is about it and can cope with that. Ut you also need to excercise and eat healthy. I am on a plant base diet that greatly positively impacted on my heart health.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More