Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Got yeast infection within days of using Synjardy and despite using an anti-fungal cream prescribed by my GP the infection remained and the discomfort associated with this infection was most unpleasant. I developed a massive thirst which required numerous visits to the loo. My worst day was 14 loo visits during the day with an average of 11. It was usual for me to use the loo 3 times during the ni...

Shared reviews and ratings

gare | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Synjardy 12.5 X 1000 started October. Instantly high blood sugars probably due to 50% reduction in Gliclazide. Complete change in eating habits after years of metformin and gliclazide. Had multiple A1C's in the 7's. Walk miles every week and do weights 5 days a week. Blood pressure up 30 points after 5 weeks of treatment. Previous B/S 107/75 and 108/78...Jumped to 130/80. I prefer metformin and glic. Asked Doc to restore both. He wouldn't citing low blood sugar risk...no chance of that happening. Confused and angry. Will consult with pharma and doctor again soon.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cynthia K. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/8/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I injured my knee the week before and had a trip to the ER. My new physician put me on Synjardy because my A1C was 7.0. She also prescribed a statin. I had pain all over my body and would fall asleep 4-6 times a day. I was about to schedule knee surgery, but instead stop theses 2 medications. The next day little pain and I never slept during the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MAB | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In January 2021, I end up in the hospital cardiac unit for a week due to supraventricular tachycardia issues (which ended up for me in getting an implanted defibrillator), in addition to high blood pressure and was newly diagnosed as a type 2 diabetic (the doc didn't like my 400+ blood sugar level at admission). I was originally put on insulin and metformin. My GP who followed up with me switched the metformin to Synjardy along with continued insulin. My A1C at that time was 12. Initially, the way the Synjardy Rx directions on the label read, I was taking 2 capsules in the morning. I experienced great GI issues and I believe dehydration by taking 2 capsules together. I had lost 25 pds in one week when I was hospitalized and I continued to drop weight because I couldn't eat any real solid food due to the GI problems. I decided to to take one pill in the morning and one pill in the evening to see if that would have an effect. What a change that was for me. My GI issues got better, I was able to eat better (in addition in to having to eat more healthier because of the diabetes Dx). I Believe the Synjardy improved my insulin sensitivity too because after 3 months, I worked myself off from requiring insulin injections as my average daily blood sugars were 103. I now just use the Synjardy. My first 3 month A1C score was 6. I am 35 pounds lighter than what I was 4 months ago and I am guessing that also helps the bigger health picture for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kisha | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/18/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being diagnosed with Diabetes Type 2 I made some serious changes. Before starting the Metformin I fasted for 5 days which helped reduce my glucose tremendously. After I followed/continued with exercise and watching what I ate I saw some amazing results. After about 1 month of being on Metformin my A1C went from 14 to 9. My Doctor reduced the Metformin dosage and started me on the combination pill Synjardy. After about 2 more months my A1C dropped to 6.5. So far it has worked great and I have maintained below a 7.0 A1C now for approximately a year. I have also loss weight with the medication. I had no negative side effects for the past year until now. For the past few months I’ve continued to get yeast infections. It’s gets treated and it comes back every month after my menstrual cycle. I am making the decision to stop taking the Synjardy and start another medication. Loved it before this uncontrollable side effect. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BobD | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/16/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Got yeast infection within days of using Synjardy and despite using an anti-fungal cream prescribed by my GP the infection remained and the discomfort associated with this infection was most unpleasant. I developed a massive thirst which required numerous visits to the loo. My worst day was 14 loo visits during the day with an average of 11. It was usual for me to use the loo 3 times during the night. I experienced several dizzy spells causing nausea as well as hand tremors and all in all Synjardy for me was an extremely unpleasant experience and I have just been taken off it and am feeling much better already. And the benefits werenâ??t necessarily there as my blood glucose readings only dropped from 10.4 to 8.3 whereas the target was less than 7? Iâ??m left feeling I was just part of a trial period so if ever asked, will report the side effects are so unpleasant that new patients need to be warned!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bobbyj | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/12/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes excessive thirst, yeast infection and too many trips to loo. Iâ??m finding Iâ??m visiting the loo at least 9 times a day and twice at night. Iâ??m keeping myself clean and using cream prescribed by doctor but yeast infection keeps occurring. Have been taking Synjardy for 5 months and have arranged an appt with GP to be taken off. Only positive point is blood sugars reduced fro 10.4 to 7.6.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KT | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

New doctor switched me from Farxiga to Synjardy. A1C went from 6.5 to 8.7. Not effective at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/17/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Synjardy for a year and have had no side effects and my A1C has averaged 6.0 and started at 10.6

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/9/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr. Prescribed. Got worried rt away. Blood sugar went way up. Even tried higher dose. Not very effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication gave me a yeast infection within days of starting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
seanixguy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/9/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More