Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

47 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at age 22. After trying a few drugs with hideous effects that worsened my condition, by doctor recommended this. I have used it now for 4 years and it has saved my life. This drug can be used to treat manic depression, though it is not widely prescribed for the condition. If you are suffering or know someone suffering from this condition, please recommend ...

Most voted negative review

17 People found this comment helpful

The drowsiness caused by this medication caused me to get into an accident. This drug should be banned.

Shared reviews and ratings

fedup# | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/4/2022
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has been a year since I've been on this poison. No change in controlling my epilepsy despite increasing my dosage. I have gained over 30lbs, severe nausea, on and off tongue numbness, hardly want to eat, dizziness, off balanced, vaginal problems, hair loss, and a bunch of other symptoms I can't remember at the moment either (add memory issues and migraines too). Do not recommend

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zmnelson88gmail.com | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this drug for bipolar. The drug has not worked at all, I have already gotten low sodium once & almost ended up in the hospital after vomiting every hour for 24 hours straight. The drug gives me muscle tremors in my hands and eyes, nausea, constipation, blurry vision, severe abdominal pain for up to 10 hours straight & multiple times now. Headaches, eye pain, back pain. So many side effects, Just waiting to tell my psych to take me off and put me back on depakote. She tried this drug on me so I wouldn't have to go get blood tests monthly from the depakote. I'm also, only, on ½ mg of Suboxone twice a day. I haven't noticed any interactions other than the severe constipation & abdominal pain, it also made my top front teeth go numb after dosing, for the first month. Still happens from time to time. I can't wait to get back on depakote, it's the only thing that's ever worked for my bipolar disorder. Unfortunately...means I have to go get blood drawn monthly to monitor my liver cell count, I think so anyways. Hope this helps. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna P. | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2019
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this drug to control my trigeminal neurolgia. Previously I was taking Tegretol, another anti-convulsant, but I turned into a puddle of mud when I took it. So far, I am able to function on the Oxcarbazapine and it has kept that excruciating pain away. I have MS and I had mild tremors in my hands before I started Oxcarbazapine and this medication has made them much worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emotional-cancercrab | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/12/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this medication for bi-polar disorder. It has worked wonders. There was a little dizziness in the first month but quickly changed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/21/2018
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given oxcarbazepine 300 for paroxysmal kinesigenic dyskinesia (PKD). And it worked great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ftnssb | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/16/2018
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have TN and ATN due yo a crushed nerve in my face. This and associated medicines (tegretol, neurontin, lyrica) all have serious mood effects on me because they are predominantly for the treatment of bipolar disorder. I found clonazepam (a benzo) to be almost as effective for the pain but 100% effective for the anxiety the pain causes which is the worst part of it. I do not recommend oxcarbazepine for anyone without bipolar disorder who has serious side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thegardener | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2018
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medication side affects are noticeably affecting me! I am not sure if this medication is worth taking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sketchypheebs | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/28/2018
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Honestly this medication made my life hell every morning for about a year. Iâ??d get dizziness and double vision every single morning, often having to keep one eye closed to be able to even vaguely make out the words in PowerPoints in my college classes. I continued to have seizures, even having one onstage at my graduation. My doctor wouldnâ??t believe me when I told him it was the meds causing it so I kept taking it despite the side effects. Recently he caved and switched me to lamictal which is my miracle drug. No side effects, and not a single seizure since. Oxcarbazepine sucks. Donâ??t waste your time, money, or physical and mental well-being for this. I was afraid to go outside alone because I was afraid I would lose balance and fall or even have seizures. Had one in grand central station despite taking this medication mere hours before.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DebbiBear | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/14/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this for bipolar disorder and it is the best medicine I have used. Caused drowsiness the first 2 weeks but that went away. THE BEST!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/19/2016
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Oxcarbazapine for about 10 years. When I first started, my doctor started at a low dosage then stepped it up to the final amount. It took at least 6 months to adapt - zombie-land the whole time. Also paranoia and bad dreams, but those went away with time. Even after I had been on it for a while I still wanted to take frequent naps. Earlier this year my doctor switched me to Oxtellar XR, an extended release version of Oxcarbazapine. It cuts the amount you take in half, one dose per day rather then two. I can actually stay awake all day, never have bad dreams and lost about 10 pounds. Oxtellar costs more, but if you have a good health plan, ask your doctor about changing. Oxtellar also has a program that will cover your co-pay. My only bad news on Oxtellar is that I start Medicare in January, and Oxtellar isn't covered. I'll have to swith back to the old medicine, or try something different. Not looking forward to the change.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/7/2016
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seems to work well. Was unaware that it caused such drowsiness. Take it twice a day. The two pills I take at night are like taking sleeping pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AcassidyIam | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2016
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug for over 6 months. I think it takes some time to know if it will work properly. I has for me right off the bat. My seizures almost completely stopped immediately. Plus it helped with the MS hugs. It did cause some drowsiness at first for me so I would caution others to not drive until they know how it will work with them for, safety reasons.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/22/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far I love this drug! I use it for my MS Hug, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Migraines, and probably my mood after all that! I was in such stabbing pain, and I know it works due to being able to feel when its time to take another one. My side effects-hands shaking much worse than before, some anxiety but not every day or all day, and I need a 15 minute nap around 2pm. I will take those willingly, to not have the lightning bolts in my head, and feel like I'm being suffocated by my loving MS partner. So thank you Oxycarbazepine!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/2/2015
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not had any negative reaction to this drug. I am assuming it is working since I have not suffered a seizure in over a year.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amanda Leavitt | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/5/2015
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got put on this medicine when I was 15yrs old.ever since I have been on it I have been a groggy mess.I can barely function at my job.this medicine should be banned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chicagoan | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drowsiness caused by this medication caused me to get into an accident. This drug should be banned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/9/2015
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this medicine everyday for my nocturnal seizures. I haven't had any major problems. One problem I had was dizziness. It also helped me sleep better too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
intel-i7 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/10/2014
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 450mg of this medication twice/day for over 3 years and now my epilepsy is in remission. Have a few side efects though like hair loss and dry skin, but it is better to be seizure free.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/1/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for bipolar.... made me worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/26/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this medicine for Trigeminal Neuralgia.I had to increase dosage from 300mg, to 400 mg and now I am taking 600mg each dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More