Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

31 People found this comment helpful

vraylar started working for me within the first week of being on it. improved my mood and felt positive about everything in general. have been taking it for about a month and it has helped more than anything i have taken. have not noticed any side affects either. i also have more energy and actually WANT to go to the gym.

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

Akathisia

Shared reviews and ratings

Veteran | 0-2 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 1 day, 1 freaking day. I have akathisia very bad, I woke at 4am today, this hasn't happened in months. I have bi polar 2 and depression. I was given this to help with the depression, I do have to say idk if it helped with anything as it's just been 1 day but the dry mouth is ridiculous, akathisia is so uncomfortable making me want to cut my legs off. Then the insomnia in just a day. I have literally tried almost every medication their is for my condition and lithium is the only thing helping with my mood, but not the lows. I still feel like a walking zombie, just going with the motions. I wouldn't recommend this if u have allergies period, have had akathisia, insomnia, headaches, upset stomach with other medications as this one for me has made them come back. I will not keep taking this medication. Please do research before taking any medications. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeannine Grimbl | 13-18 | Female | Patient
4/30/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

By the afternoon of the 4th day taking this medication it felt like 100 pounds had been lifted from my shoulders and it no longer feels like an alien is getting ready to burst out of my chest. I now have a handle on my anxiety and I can finally take a deep breath! Thank you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob s | 55-64 | Male | Patient
4/4/2022
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gained 10 lbs with this med. Always hungry and have ED and low interest in sex. I think it has helped my head as I was dillusional when I started taking it. I just can’t take these two side effects. Those in themselves are making me feel worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
purple rose | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/6/2022
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Bi polar mixed episodes. It is a juggling act to be on the meds I need to take for my other disorders. The meds never felt like they helped my bi polar much until my psychiatrist prescribed Vraylar. People and family members noticed the positive change in my personality and the way I am dealing with life.My depression is nearly gone. I do get very mild manic episodes but they feel like I just have more energy. I need to follow up more often with my MD for blood tests. It feels good to feel normal. I started at 3mg and titrated up to 6mg. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ravensong | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/30/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take it for mood stabilization in Borderline personality disorders and to help with Negative symptoms its very long acting so its very gradual but Ive noticed a difference in a month of motivation, confidence, and my mood Im able to comprehend the emotions and I was on rexulti for mood but it increased my Anxiety but helped with truama and getting to the root cause, but Vyalar helpes me motivation and brings joy back into my life slowly

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Just Me | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/30/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please do not let this med scare you. I suffered from severe depression and anxiety for 10 years. I have tried 13 yes 13 different drugs. Nothing worked as I am very med sensitive. I must say I was scared to death to take it as I do not suffer from schizophrenia or bipolar. I was ready to end it all. I was done! Thank god for a psych and psych nurse that did not give up on me. I thought what do I have to lose. People the first the very first morning I was back. I was no longer in hell. With a lot of prayer and this drug I'm here I laugh again I love being around friends and family again. If anyone has a question or two feel free to ask me. I'm no doc but just a lady that's was ready to end it all to fn living life again. Thank you vraylar!!! Love,peace and hope to all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anthony | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking for a couple of weeks. Does Not control my symptoms as well as Olanzapine but the weight gain and lethargy of Olanzapine were too much. I don't sleep well and Vraylar isn't much help for that. It took a few days for the drug to take effect but when it did it works well enough. Good thing is insurance covered the cost otherwise I would not have been able to afford.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan W | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/12/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this for a year now. In the beginning it was a miracle drug, lifted me out of a deep depression and made me functional and generally feeling good. However, it’s now beginning to fail me. I’m having multiple dives into depression again. Up and down. Makes sense to increase the dose but I can’t tolerate a larger dose. Makes me irritable and uncomfortable in my skin. I loathe trying yet another drug when vraylar worked so well. I’ve also started gaining weight from this medication, 12 pounds in 2 months. This Med lifted me out of serious depression in the beginning but maintenance is a whole issue in itself. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
creesiekay | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/10/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After barely making it through my most recent major depressive episode, I finally broke down and agreed to try anti-psychotics. I first tried quetiapine then switched to Abilify (I went off both due to quick weight gain), but I did like them both a lot. I had gastric bypass in 2016 and have maintained the same weight since then, so gaining weight is something that is very scary for me. I started on Vraylar because it was supposed to be 'weight-gain neutral' as compared to other anti-psychotics. Well, I have had a great response to this medication also, I went from 1.5 to 3mg then when I found myself still a bit weepy I went up to 4.5. One day I got on the scale and I had gained 25 pounds since starting the Vraylar. I've been on the scale regularly since then and continue to gain weight which is not okay. So I am weaned back down to 3mg and I do 'feel' better on 3mg not so bloated out. I will continue to monitor my weight and go off of this drug if necessary and perhaps just switch from my SSRI Celexa to a SNRI Effexor or something like that. Overall, this is a very good drug. I have not had one argument with a family member, I actually feel like going and talking to my mom, sitting down with her and having a conversation nearly every day. This was not happening before Vraylar. It has lifted me out from myself and my misery. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BETTY | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/20/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

vraylar has changed my moods from bad to worse within an hour of taking it im mad at the whole world i snao at my family for no reason i am type 2 bi polar DO NOT RECOMMEND TAKING THIS PILL

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Casey | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/9/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started vraylar august 2020 and I have to say out of all the medications I have been on for bipolar and depression this one is by far the only one that has ever worked for me 100% I am finally stable and for the first time since I can remember I am truly genuinely happy inside. Only side effects i have noticed is when I first started taking it i was nauseous so switched to taking at night it made it easier to deal with . But that only lasted a couple of weeks. Also I have decreased appetite which is fine with me because I gained 25 lbs on another medication before I started the vraylar so I had a bit of weight to lose when I started this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Danette | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/6/2021
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vraylar is the only need that has ever 100% worked for me. Started working in just a fee days. Been on it 3 months now. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brenda | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/9/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Once I got over the initial side effects after the first few weeks, my body acclimated and it has controlled both my depression and hypomania very well, giving me my life back. I have had no lasting side effects except for occasional restlessness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pincushion | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/3/2020
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Bi polar type 1. I was placed on Vraylar starting at the 3 mg. dose every day. It worked very well. About 6 months later I was still taking it when I switched Psychiatrists, my new Psychiatrist bumped up the dose to the 4.5 mg. but I only need to take one pill every 4 days, because the half life of the drug is 4 days. This way, you can get a prescription for 30 days saying take one per day, but actually you only take it one every 4 days, this will last you 3 months. The drug is expensive, my cost for co pay for a 30 day supply is about $120.00, but again, it lasts me 90 days. When I went up higher I had some nausea, I was taking it in the morning, so I simply switched to taking it at bedtime. I also notice some difficulty swallowing my other pills, which can be a side effect of Vraylar; but not enough to make me stop taking it. My mind is no longer racing and having uncontrolled thoughts. All drugs for Bi polar have side effects, in my opinion. I only take Vraylar and Valium for anxiety. That's it. I feel like it is a very helpful drug, it's true it can cause akathesia if taken every day, according to my Psychiatrist, but by only taking it every 4 days, I really don't have much problem with akathesia, and it saves me a lot of money. I much prefer it to Lithium, which turned me into a drooling zombie.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angel | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2020
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got horrible headaches, that wouldn't go away regardless of what I took. For me it seemed to make the depression worse and I was more easily agitated. I stopped taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hey Now | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2020
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine has changed my life. I had no idea the depression I was in for years. I really feel better. I have been on it for about 3 weeks now. Just give it time. I was scared to use it at first, but kick myself for just letting it sit there for awhile, and not trying it. It's a little hard to get insurance to pay for it, but they will eventually. No weight gain, no nothing else, except some slight insomnia. It gives me a lot of energy and clear thinking at 3mg. I take it first thing in the morning. I hope this helps...try it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vickygardens | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/7/2020
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this for bipolar 2, mainly depression. It has given me a good level of mental energy for the first time ever (but not wired, like a stimulant), I suddenly have no problem motivating myself to do the things I want to do, I don’t have the urge to overeat, and I am a happier, more cheerful person. I have had none of the extra pyramidal or cognitive side effects, but it did make me a little bit hypomanic at first and has made my sleep very fragmented, so I have had to take Saphris some nights to bring me down and help me sleep.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2020
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hands down the best med I have been on for bi polar. Has helped immensely with hallucinations and keeping my mind clear and energy up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2020
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hands down the best med I have been on for bi polar. Has helped immensely with hallucinations and keeping my mind clear and energy up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/31/2019
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been one this medicine for a year. I currently am on 6mg. I cannot sleep, I am not hungry, no interest in sex, I feel basically numb to everything enjoyable. But, I do not want to die or feel suicidal. I have to take restoril and trazadone to sleep. The cost of the drug is so expensive that I am afraid to stop taking as I may not be able to afford it later if I need it. Bipolar with mixed episodes is miserable. I have been on every antipscyhotic made. I do do not know what to do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More