Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

140 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this generic form of Celexa for ten years, next month. I was hesitant about getting on any mood med, but it has helped me tremendously. I am here writing this review... that's the point, I'm here. Diagnosed with major depression at 19, I was prescribed this pill by my family physician after several doctors visits relating to depression and its toll on my mind and body. It took m...

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

I found that my whole life experience worstened and I encountered severe suicidal thoughts. T rying to commet suicide twice! My female partner was a huge cause of going on Citalopram in the first place. I was trying to stabelize my family. It's her way or the highway. Also, I thought it would help me with the mind games she always played! She always has to have her way.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous |
8/25/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

FDA Approved medicines without prescription Kindly place your orders here with heavy discounts available, Call and text 1(775)-773-5306 Whatspp only :- +1(775)-773-5306 are Ambien, Valium, Xanax, Klonopin, Tramadol, and Soma. We have available stocks for Oxycontin, Hydrocodone, Adderall and Ativan etc. Deliver the package in 2-3 days after placing the order.' Don't think just place your order now by email or by sending SMS. Also, if you need a picture of medicines, place your order. Do let us know because we believe in Customer Satisfaction. We do overnight shipping also on request. Feel free to contact us for any queries. Regards, Health Care Call and text 1(775)-773-5306 Whatspp only :- +1(775)-773-5306, You can send a small note to: peterkings2014 @ gmail. com.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
8/25/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

FDA Approved medicines without prescription Kindly place your orders here with heavy discounts available, Call and text 1(775)-773-5306 Whatspp only :- +1(775)-773-5306 are Ambien, Valium, Xanax, Klonopin, Tramadol, and Soma. We have available stocks for Oxycontin, Hydrocodone, Adderall and Ativan etc. Deliver the package in 2-3 days after placing the order.' Don't think just place your order now by email or by sending SMS. Also, if you need a picture of medicines, place your order. Do let us know because we believe in Customer Satisfaction. We do overnight shipping also on request. Feel free to contact us for any queries. Regards, Health Care Call and text 1(775)-773-5306 Whatspp only :- +1(775)-773-5306, You can send a small note to: peterkings2014 @ gmail. com.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jess | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/27/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since age 16, I have been on/off various antidepressants. Citalopram is my golden ticket and works best at managing my symptoms. The symptoms of depression that I have are; anxiety, trouble sleeping, always tired, lack of emotions such as happiness & empathy, lost of interest in life, feeling angry all the time like having a short fuse, feeling emotionally numb. It's normal for one to cry when sad, however when I'm depressed I don't cry at all. Upon starting the medication, I felt drowsy and actually slept better, so took my dose at night before bedtime. Two weeks into treatment, I noticed my temperament was better and felt less anxious. Five weeks is when I had an "ah ha" moment of realizing that the medication was reallly working! I actually had a normal sleep routine again, no more staying awake for 2 days straight. My energy levels were up, I was eager and capable to conquer the day. I smiled a whole lot more and found pleasure in even the smallest of moments. I began to take better care of myself, had better focus and concentration. I was ME again and boy did it feel amazing to be back! In closing, it takes trial and error to figure out what works best for YOU. What works best for me may not for you, and vice versa. BUT you must be patient and give medication the proper amount of time to fully feel the benefits. Importantly, once you do begin to feel better, do not abruptly stop taking your medication. I've made that mistake in the past and it only put a major dent in my progress. Symptoms immediately came back and had to start all over again. Don't give up, keep your head up, stay strong, and best of luck!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/26/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on a 10mg dose daily for two years. It worked great for a long time until It just stopped working at all. Felt very unmotivated 24/7 and just had no energy and became a very angry person with no normal emotions. Decided to stop taking it but didn't do it the smartest way, now struggling with "withdrawal" symptoms currently and its no fun.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/16/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been on 20 mgs daily for 20 years.10 years ago I began feeling fatigued and crying needlessly and having irrational anger outbursts.My Doctor just doubled the dose to 40mgs.Recently I couldn't even work anymore so I INSISTED he take me off it.Im now on Prozac 20mgs daily..and I have my life back in every possible way.Citalopram almost ended my life to be honest.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anderson | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/18/2021
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I more than Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, I also have major depression especially around the holidays is when it gets worse. I also have anxiety and trouble falling asleep. I normally take this medication around 10pm every night and it sometimes doesn't kick in when I want it to so I have to take a 10mg melatonin on top of it along with my hydroxezine. It has helped me some but may need a higher dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/17/2020
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took about 2 weeks for me to start feeling a difference. Citalopram doesn't make me feel medicated but early on I did have mild side effects. I take it every night at 9:30 and have to have a reminder set or I will forget. The situations that made me miserable and caused so much anxiety don't even phase me now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Modernmama | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/2/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had depression my whole life. Very intense around the 9 days before my period and very mild to nonexistent any other time. I tried Zoloft off and on but saw no results.. to be fair I should have tried a higher dose but have always been nervous about meds. Finally in my 40s a Dr friend convinced me to try citalopram at a higher dose. I started with 10 mg and am now on 20mg and I canâ??t believe the difference. I wish I would have done this earlier. I regret all those years I suffered. I feel very much myself without that gnawing pit in your stomach depression. I did have insomnia so realized that I have to take it first thing In the AM or I canâ??t sleep. Even then sometimes I have to take melatonin to get to sleep ( I take 300 mcg melatonin-most people take way too much and it messes with their sleep cycle) itâ??s only been 2 months but no other side effects. So thankful that this worked for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ellzeena | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2020
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

only 2mg oral solution up from 1mg because I have side effects to everything. My eyes are extremely dry, impeding my vision. Dr. says it's not the drug. I think it is. This is the only antidepressant I can tolerate. I don't know what to do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/9/2020
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Citalopram for 14 yrs now, my body cannot go 1 day without this darn pill, the side effects are horrible, I get vertigo, I feel like my head is above the clouds and Iâ??m walking in circles, the panic that comes is horrible. My doctor has tried other medications but my body rejects it and I only take 40 mg. If they had a higher mg I would welcome that because the citalopram does not work for me anymore. Citalopram did work for me for about 5 yrs, but if I had it to do over I would not be taking this drug... I was not diagnosed with depression. I take this medicine for anxiety and sometimes it gives me anxiety .Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JC | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/13/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for a little over 2 years and I have absolutely zero energy, zero sex drive, zero motivation to get out of bed most days. Finally switching to a new medication next week. Fingers crossed it will be better than citalopram!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brianna | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/11/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only anxiety/ Depression medication that’s actually worked for once. I’m very happy with this one. Only side affect for me is loss of appetite and wait loss 20lbs since I started it in October 2019.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MyLife | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/2/2019
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On and off, Mostly on for 3 or so years. 1stly, effects were noticed by others before noticed by myself. Weight loss due to loss of appetite and then mild weight gain once I started feeling a little more care free. This 'drug' definitely helped with my anxiety. It made me overall very positive. Not 100% better but way more bearable. Helped with getting angry. All was great until I started to continuously notice this lack of empathy, cloudiness In what felt like my frontal lobe, my sex drive severely dropped, and then this major suicidal depression came like a freight train for some reason. Honestly It bummed me out but I knew getting off it was for the better. Now that I have been off of it for a few months, I like the natural feeling better. I think. My anxiety is back but I feel like I can deal with it better. My thoughts come easier. My memory is better.. It feels more 'real.' However I still have a depressing cloud that lingers over me But SO much better then what was happening to me towards the end. I miss not getting angry so easy and the ease of having positive thoughts. However Im hoping that this experience has helped me learn how to balance things on my own without the help of a prescription. Overall it 'worked great,' My dosage might have needed to be changed. It could be the stressful but Im confident that being off medication is more the type of life I wanna live. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/5/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed me 20mg Citalopram for depression. After a few weeks, there was some improvement, but I felt the drug helped my anxiety more than the depression. The dose was increased to 40mg. Still felt "lopsided", in that the anxiety was under control but not the depression. This drug clouded my judgement, as I said some things and felt like I put my foot in my mouth! Very embarrassing! I mentioned these things to my doctor. She said Citalopram is more for anxiety than it is for depression. My doctor switched me to another drug, which is helping alot.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grace D | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/14/2019
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has made a world of difference in my life! I was always so anxious and suffered from depression, but feel like I can handle life much better now. I initially started with 10 mg and moved up to 20 mg which is perfect for me. Highly recommend!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Josie | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this fr about 10 years and found it really good. Was recently taken off by my GP, because of another issue not related to the medication, but requested to go back on it this week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Josie | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this fr about 10 years and found it really good. Was recently taken off by my GP, because of another issue not related to the medication, but requested to go back on it this week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Josie | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this fr about 10 years and found it really good. Was recently taken off by my GP, because of another issue not related to the medication, but requested to go back on it this week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cnos21 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/17/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Depression is so hard to deal with because first you have to be get out of the funk enough to realize you need help. I felt better in about a week, so much so that I thought it was just me, and the placebo effect. I went on to look at reviews, and realized it happened that way for a lot of people. I recommend it, the side effects for me are nothing compared to the doom I used to grapple with. I am so grateful to be able to feel relief finally.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More