Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

141 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this generic form of Celexa for ten years, next month. I was hesitant about getting on any mood med, but it has helped me tremendously. I am here writing this review... that's the point, I'm here. Diagnosed with major depression at 19, I was prescribed this pill by my family physician after several doctors visits relating to depression and its toll on my mind and body. It took m...

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

I found that my whole life experience worstened and I encountered severe suicidal thoughts. T rying to commet suicide twice! My female partner was a huge cause of going on Citalopram in the first place. I was trying to stabelize my family. It's her way or the highway. Also, I thought it would help me with the mind games she always played! She always has to have her way.

Shared reviews and ratings

Colin | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/19/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking Antidepressants or any form of medication can always be scary as all bodies react differently. I suffer from Depression, anxiety and intrusive thoughts. I have been on sertraline before but i wanted to try something different so was prescribed Citalopram. first 2-3 weeks were the worst as your body needs to get used to the drug in your system. After 4 weeks i do feel better and after 8 weeks i feel much better. I feel like my old self again. There are days where i feel down and the odd intrusive thought but this drug really has helped me live a normal life. NO drug will ever get rid of your problems completely, but they will help reduce your symptoms and not consume your mind. Remember you are not alone, good luck with your journey and remember.. Give Citalopram at least 8 weeks and if you do not feel better, speak to your GP. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yani | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/28/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'd tried Praxil, it was ok but others claimed my sweat stunk. Then Effexor SNRI and that made me anxious. I started taking citalopram 15 y ago. It's by far the best of these 3 with a better profile if you miss a dose. Note: Scientology hate mental health drugs. You should be a spectical of 1 star reviews as this is a know activity of Scientologists. And from I read here, pretty poor writers making insane claims that are deliberately negative and pretty clearly over the top. I know 5 people taking this drug, it's a cognitive enhancer and it has assisted all 5 of us to make better life choices. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Natalie_Yeats | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/18/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 10 mg of citalopram and it sat on my dresser for 2 weeks. I was afraid to take it. Finally, I decided that things just couldn't get any worse, why not just try it and STOP if there was no improvement? Now I'm at the 3 week point. I never had any horrible side effects, just some dry mouth, waking up about an hour earlier than the alarm, and sometimes my heart will feel like it's pounding. My anxiety is 90 percent gone. I take this pill when the dr advised: around 6pm (because I have other medications and I need to space things out). Everyone's experience is different, but if you and your dr have determined that this might help you, it's worth a try.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rose | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/26/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After over a year on 20mg I have recently ( with no withdrawal effects whatsoever) started on 10mg. I intend to gradually ease off of it, despite it being really, really helpful. I had major stress with life trauma, hence l could not sleep more than two hours a night, lost weight and couldn’t go out of the house - it was horrific. My doctor, helped me even though it was only by phone calls, and suggested an anti depressant. I did feel, as he had warned me , that l may feel unpleasant for the first few days. Yes, l did, but after a few days l started to feel normal as l was able to sleep! I gained my confidence back, sleep like a log, 7 or 8 hours a night ( Sleep Station ) my doctor put me in touch with them online - and am generally okay. So I would say thanks to my doctor and to the treatment that worked! I do try to stay strong and as a senior keep moving and busy. Walk every day See friends. Exercise Watch re runs of comedy on iPlayer Hope Respect all life Eat healthily Don’t let my stomach be a graveyard for animals !! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Felt like acid was being poured into my body, tremors , shaking, feeling cold, shivering , heightened anxiety, severe muscle ache and weakness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Craig | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/19/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every year or so I have chronic spells of panic disorder. These usually last for 4/5 months but are at there peak from a month to 3 months. My main symptom is dizziness which makes me afraid to do even the most simple of tasks, in fear of passing out. Even a simple 1 to 1 conversation can have me fighting to stay conscious. Anyway, citalopram. Currently on my second spell with this medication and here's my experience. On 10mg, Days 1 and 2, really sick, could hardly eat. Days 3 and 4, borderline unbearable. Felt so dizzy it was a struggle to even go to the toilet. From around a week the side effects slowly started to pass but the anxiety was alot higher than it was before medication. After around 2 weeks the heightened anxiety passed and I was feeling similar to how I was pre medication. Between weeks 2 and 3, I started to notice I felt more calm, my eating had picked up and my mind was racing. I was no longer pre meditating the worst outcome in every situation, though I was still getting the odd moment of unnecessary anxiety. Dr decided to move me up to 20mg. I was fearful at first, because the side effects were so severe on 10mg and I had to take time off work. I've been on 20mg for a week now and I feel like I'm getting closer to being my old self again, and as an added bonus, absolutely no side effects at all from the upping of dosage. All these feelings are very similar to the 1st time I took citalopram. They make you feel disgusting to begin with, even I wanted to stop after a few days despite knowing from before that this was normal and that it would help me in the long run. Give it a chance. This pill helps me when I'm at my lowest and I plan on staying on it alot longer this time. Book a few weeks off work, don't make any plans at all and ride out the storm. It will get better, I promise. Good luck to everyone fighting mental illness, it really is hard and I hope you find peace soon.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MissJ | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more |
7/17/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went on citalaptam in 2009. My daughter had died in 2006 and I had a nervous breakdown. I was having panic attacks, constant anxiety and depression. I spent 3 years spiraling downhill in denial until I was out in Citalaptam. I actually remember the day I became normal again… it took about 5 days to work and I had taken the kids to a birthday party. Usually I could only handle being anywhere for a short time before I became maniac and would have other things I needed to do. On this day I actually sat down and was able to let the kids play without thinking something terrible was going to happen. Over the last 16 years the dose has slowly increased from 10mg up to 40mg. It has started to wear off again now and im a little panicked as this drug has been my lifeline. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jerry | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/11/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 10 years Lexapro stop working so I try Vellaflaxene up 250 mg no improvement anxiety right when I wake up took week from work because I couldn’t function I lost 20 pounds then I tried citalopram took about a month I felt better so from 20 MG I bumped to 30 MG lifesaver don’t be afraid of switching meds I wake up with that anxiety and you can drink small amount of alcohol with this and you don’t wake up next day like a zombie this is my first review of any drug because it worked I want to share it with everyoneRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kaz | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on citalopram for 4 months and they are brilliant had a few side-effects making me sick the doctor suggested taking it with my evening meal which I did and now I haven’t looked back with them I was pretty bad before taking the tablets couldn’t sleep couldn’t get to work and now I can do all those things again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Timothy | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/28/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Citalopram SAVED MY LIFE! I suffered many years from depression and anxiety. I tried everything you can think of before medication. Cognitive Behavioral Therapy and associated techniques helped me survive but Citalopram helps me thrive. You have to be patient with dosing and allowing the medication to work. With virtually zero side effects, I can only say this drug was an answer to my prayers, a miracle. I was on it from 2017 - 2021 and felt so good that I thought I could wean myself off. After a few months off the medication, I once again felt hopeless, tired, and lost all motivation to enjoy life. The smallest of tasks, like getting up in the morning, were harder to complete than climbing Mt. Everest. Thankfully, I knew I had to go back on Citalopram and I did. I am once again living my best life. Thank you God! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/20/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can not believe this crap drug got by the govmt folk. Who did they pay off? The side effects are atrocious. Tinnitus, difficulty breathing, shaking, tremors, appetite loss (I have short bowel, 3 days without food with this drug) . After smartly stopping this poison, I walking 2 streets away for groceries, my chest was extremely compressed, and I could barely breathe. On the return, 1 street away, I fell to the ground gasping, food everywhere. One more street, and I could not go up the stairs. I dropped the food, sat on the lowest stair, and was violently shaking. It took ovrr 1 hour to enter my home. For something this bad, money was exchanged somewhere. I will advise my dr to remove this from this prescription list. Pure poison. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AidoPotato | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/14/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Citalopram has been so good for chilling me out. I initially took it for anxiety, but realized relatively soon afterwards that I was so much more content with life on this medication. I don't suffer boredom anywhere near as badly as I used to, and boredom for me led me to do things like drink too much alcohol which I have since completely removed from my life. Almost 4 years now as a non-drinker. My wife has noticed huge improvement regarding my general level of contentment. One draw back; I'm almost always tired. It definitely makes me more fatigued even when I get to bed before 10pm each night. That said, the alternative to not being on Citalopram is far worse for me so it's a side effect I'll happily put up with.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave From Iowa | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/2/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Be patient. This medicine messed with my sleeping I kept waking up throughout the night and had a hard time sleeping. I started sleeping with the light off and TV off and it helped but sleep was still not great. I also switched to taking the medicine at about 6am instead of 5pm this was recommended to me by my pharmacist. About 2 months into taking the medicine it finally stopped affecting my sleep SO HANG IN THERE. This medicine was the best thing I ever did in m life. I feel so NORMAL. I can go out of the house again and do things im laughing, joking, and being myself. No more depression or anxiety. I still have some anxiety maybe 1 time per month or less but compared to every waking min of every day it has improved 99.9999999999%. If you are struggling with depression and anxiety give it a try. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lo12345 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/2/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered with depression all my life still do till this day , I was on citalopram for a few years I’m not now as it stopped working for me after a while, but what I will say is It was a decent anti depressant no weight gain , sleep is ok not brilliant and I did personally have my good and bad days on citalopram it’s just a shame it stopped working after a while

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dirt Road Doll | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
5/20/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First 2 weeks of side effects on 10mg were AWFUL! Severe muscle and body aches, tiredness, nausea and total loss of appetite. About week 3 these effects tapered off and my energy and attitude improved greatly. I am now on 20 mg and feel like I’m starting to crawl outta the hole I was in. Things aren’t perfect but this medication has made many of my anxiety symptoms calm down to a manageable level fairly quickly, panic attacks much more mild and sleep has improved overall. I am anticipating feeling extra good in the next few weeks. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Morris | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The efficacy of SSRI’s have been exaggerated

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nick | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/24/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this medication over a year ago due to aweful general anxiety disorder mainly manifesting in vile physical symptoms such as palpitations, severe hot flashes, tinnitus and intrusive thoughts that led to depression. Started on 10mg two months after taking sertraline for 4 days prescribed by my doctor and not being able to cope with the bad reaction to sertraline. Citalopram has really helped me live a normal life free from daily Agitation and other symptoms, I still have the odd physical symptom such as the odd palpitation and random heat localised hot flush but I pay no attention to them, overall the medication has helped me feel somewhat normal again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SadAnger | 45-54 | Male | Patient
3/22/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Significantly reduced outbursts of sadness or anger.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeremy | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on for 4 weeks makes me happier not sure if it normal to be dizzy and off balance/ headaches

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pai Pyae | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/17/2022
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used it 4 years ago

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More