Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

I have uterine fibroids and would not listen to my doctor for years although he told me to take some birth control pills for the fibroids. I now take this for a birth control method, and it has made my life so much better. No more heavy periods and I am no longer drained when my cycle comes on. My period only last about 4-5 days. It used to last for 1-2 weeks!!! I wish I had taken these years ago....

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I had to have a cholecystectomy (removal of the gallbladder) at the age of 18, and I also have FNH (focal nodular hyperplasia; also known as a benign liver tumor) as a result of taking this medication. I likely have depression as well, but undiagnosed as of now. I have no period whatsoever, and it has prevented pregnancy so far.

Shared reviews and ratings

gggirl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/28/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To preface, I started birth control for contraceptive purposes and not to regulate my period or my period cramps. I'm 5'3 and 105 lbs and I am in the process of recovering from an eating disorder (I'm only saying this so you can get an idea of what shape I'm in). After reading all these reviews, I was certain that my nausea and hair loss from my ED would only get worse if I started taking this birth control. Regardless, I gave it a try and fortunately, I had no dreadful symptoms! I'd even like to think this birth control has been improving my recovery as my appetite has increased. I used to go about my days eating one meal a day, and now I find myself eating all three meals in a day! I also read that this birth control increases your likelihood of breaking out, but that has not been the case for me. I have a combination skin type (dry and oily), and I used to break out once a month before or during my period. However, since I've started this birth control, my face has not broken out at all! If you have concerns about acne, consider trying a birth control that has lower androgen levels. The only horrible side effect to this birth control is how short-tempered I've become. My boyfriend and I have been fighting so much since I got on it, which has mostly been due to a toxic reaction on my end. So if you have a boyfriend or girlfriend, I really recommend explaining the effects of birth control to them so they can really understand what you're going through! This really helped my situation. I know it's different for everyone, but If you are already in a sad place before you begin birth control, consider inquiring with your pharmacist for one with a lesser dose, because this birth control (along with others, I'm sure) really messes with your mental wellbeing and overall mood. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JG | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/27/2021
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It makes periods shorter and SUPER light but it creates burning down there for me every time I have my period, makes my anxiety much worse and now I have very negative and depressing thoughts randomly, and it has also created bad underarm odor which I have never struggled with before in my life. Gonna try estrotep and see how it goes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/19/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to have a cholecystectomy (removal of the gallbladder) at the age of 18, and I also have FNH (focal nodular hyperplasia; also known as a benign liver tumor) as a result of taking this medication. I likely have depression as well, but undiagnosed as of now. I have no period whatsoever, and it has prevented pregnancy so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
4/22/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the second birth control I have been on and while the mood swings arent too severe, I did gain a TO. of weight. Easily 10-20lbs after 5 month of use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lucysmiles | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/12/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

blisovi has its ups and downs. My acne is gone and my skin is very smooth. I haven't had any weight gain but I have had a little bit of weight loss. The major problem is the mood swings it makes me feel like I have depression! I catch myself crying for absolutely no reason! I might consider switching back to loestrin, because the mood swings are so bad. I had been on loestrin for over a year but they switched me to blisovi. Worst thing ever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janice | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2016
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with fibroids and my doctor suggested birth control pills and the most conservative treatment. She wanted to stop my periods, so I was to skip the placebos. Well, the first month, I had a full, normal, heavy period (which I suspected). By the third pack, I spotted a few days and then I had severe abdominal pains. After researching, I found that this is actually a common side effect. So, naturally, I stopped taking them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tam | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/12/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have uterine fibroids and would not listen to my doctor for years although he told me to take some birth control pills for the fibroids. I now take this for a birth control method, and it has made my life so much better. No more heavy periods and I am no longer drained when my cycle comes on. My period only last about 4-5 days. It used to last for 1-2 weeks!!! I wish I had taken these years ago. I have no bad side effects either. And no pregnancies! yay! (1 child is enough for me!) :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
46yearold | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/3/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

in the past I had very good luck with loestrin 24 fe, but the copay was so high for me. This is essentially the same but much lower co pay. Although minor, the only thing I dislike is the packaging. I find it hard to push the pills through the back since there is no plastic casing to support the cardboard.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More