Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

My acne has gotten worse after about 6 months of taking this. I have breakouts all month around my chin.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

Pharmacist switched my prescription from Junel FE 1/20 to Noreth/e Es Fe(blisovi)tab 28 1/20 without consulting my doctor. Horrible side effects. Elevated/erratic mood swings (PMS all month, basically), random breast pain, swelling in legs and ankles (edema), irregular menstrual cycles, and an increase in menstrual cramping, headaches, and acne. Effective only in preventing pregnancy.

Shared reviews and ratings

Myra | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/16/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first I was loving the effects of this pill such as no more painful cramps, until I started to notice my hair was thinning. This pill caused me to have a slightly longer period as well. The cons weigh more than the pros.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/11/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Continued spotting all month long. Had been prescribed Junel Fe and Expeess Scripts changed without notification. Terrible drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CaliMom | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/21/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HORRIBLE SIDE EFFECTS! Pharmacy switched to Blisovi FE without doctor's authorization after being on generic for heavy, painful periods. My daughter then started having HUGE headaches and pain to the point of nausea. No amount of Tylenol or Motrin could touch them. Breast soreness and breakthrough bleeding also. STAY AWAY!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
okay | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/16/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't had many side effects other than the fact that this pill has caused me to have two monthly periods for the past 2 years. At first, it was just a couple of days of bleeding but now it's practically like I have one long period every month, and it's awful. It doesn't solve my cramps or heavy flow issues, the only thing this pill has done is stop me from getting pregnant, which is good too but that wasn't the reason I wanted to start in the first place, it's just a bonus.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blisovi FE | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/13/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Aurovela Fe, my pharmacy randomly changed it to Blisovi Fe. Im on my 3rd pack now and just now i realized this pill in the cause of all the changes in my body. Ive been getting headaches every day mixed with nauseas, ive gain 15lb in 2 months. Im always bloated and my stomach is always hurting. I havnt experienced mental health issues like ive been reading but im a very strong minded individual so i do understand other ppl might struggle with this. Overall not a good experience, i will be making this pack my last after i visit my doctor . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MTJ | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/8/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unfortunately, this is the WORST OF THE WORST. I have struggled with severe menstrual cramps my whole life and was very apprehensive when I was switched from Junel to Blisovi. I was correct to be apprehensive. Blisovi increased my period cramps, caused daily nausea that sometimes led to vomiting, horrendous mood swings, and caused a weight gain more rapid than ever before. I am currently trying to fix my body after use of this and would like to warn all those who are potentially using it or thinking about using it. I am a young female who would like to warn other young females about the detrimental effects this pill has on someone both physically and mentally. 0/10. STEER CLEAR! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paula | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/4/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pharmacy switched me from Junel Fe to this and I am on week 3, I have terrible acne all over my neck and chin, back and chest. I am very self conscious on the acne and also have erratic moods swings from the pill. I went from clear skinned and zen to very high strung pimple covered. I am very unhappy with this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control is awful personally. Only good thing is no periods, skin clearing up, and no baby, that’s it. My mental health has seriously declined since starting Blisovi. I went from a outgoing very social person. To someone who can’t even get into a car or go anywhere not even a grocery store without having a mental breakdown and feeling like I’m dying. I have panic attacks every single day now and anxiety 24/7. I know it’s the pill because when I wasn’t on any form of birth control I was completely fine and extremely happy with no mental health issues. I cry everyday and my anxiety makes me feel like I’m gonna vomit. I read the reviews before starting it thinking the side effects wouldn’t happen to me. But I was very very wrong, I scheduled an appointment to try a different birth control because blisovi is so horrible. It has ruined my life and made me fear everything. My sex drive has become non existent. I recommend staying far far away from this birth control. 0/10Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/12/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it’s better than what else i’ve taken, my periods haven’t gotten better but it’s better than what it used to be. i’ve been on this pill for around 3-4 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DR | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/4/2022
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Microgestin Fe 1/20 and Junel Fe 1/20 for several years and loved them both - zero side effects and they relieved all of my PMDD issues. My pharmacy was out of stock of those brands and subbed with Blisovi and wow every negative side effect that exists happened all within the first few days of taking it: terrible acne all over my face, breast tenderness, cramps, severe mood swings, you name it. I'm in the process of finding a pharmacy with Junel or Microgestin in stock and I'm willing to pay out of pocket for them to get off of Blisovi. Miserable experience. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BB | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/3/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on Junel Fe and then was switched to this by the pharmacy, I didn't notice a difference at all. I've been taking this to help with acne and it definitely has been working for that. I've had terrible nodule and cystic acne since my teens (32 now), and while it hasn't gone away it's decreased significantly. I was told by my doctor that this type of pill has much lower levels of androgenic progestins, which can worsen acne, compared to other brands. For years now it's been a huge help. My OBGYN told me I could continuous cycle with this as well since the dosage does not taper in the pills week to week. I haven't had a period in years and I loooooove it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blood | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/3/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For some reason my pharmacy gave me this BC instead of Junel Fe. I hate this BC. I get my period every 2 weeks for a whole week! My cramps are by far the worse they have ever been. I feel nauseated and have mood swings. I’ve never had acne, but now I do. Also, I don’t know if this is a coincidence or not but I get charley horses randomly when I have never experienced them like this before. Something ain’t right. I felt way better with Junel Fe and they are supposed to be the same. Something isn’t right.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
6/3/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this bc after being off bc for a few years. I was prescribed around the same time as acne med because my acne was also going crazy. A few weeks after taking the bc and the acne med at the same time, I noticed swelling in my knuckles, ankles and toes. I went back to the dermitologist and they told me if it was in my feet and hands that it was probaly not the acne med. I am beginng to wonder if it is from the bc and will be getting it checked out with the dr soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carly | 13-18 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/14/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started blisovi in middle school because of extremely painful and heavy periods that would sometimes last more than 7 days Almost immediately it helped with period and within a year and even now about 2 years later my periods are light, consistent, and relatively painless. It also unexpectedly cleared up any acne I had and to this day I do not struggle with acne it works wonders for that. Side effects: I have not noticed any changes in weight due to it. In the beginning the side effects were extremely rough but after a couple months they go away. The ONLY side affect I experience to this day is nausea. Always eat with your pill and take it around the same time and never miss a any days if you want to avoid nausea/vomiting. Iâ??m not sexually active so I donâ??t know how it works for that. I would definitely recommend this drug and it has worked very well for me for several yearsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TK | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/20/2020
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THEE worst birth control I’ve ever had in my life. I was prescribed this by my OBGYN for 4 months due to the discovery of a small fibroid tumor on my right ovary. Within that 4 months, I’ve gained almost 40 pounds, retained fluid on my legs and had horrible cystic acne. I eventually concluded that the issues were related to the birth control and DEMANDED to be switch to a different brand immediately. If I could have given it a review under 1, I definitely would have. This drug need to be discontinued ASAP. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
geminicoven | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2020
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been full of acne ever since I started taking the medication. I used to never get any pimples at all, if this keeps happening after the three months is up I will change the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Starxoxo | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/5/2020
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I read a lot of the comments and I’m actually really surprised that there was so many negatives. Please let me start by saying everyone’s body is completely different ladies. So I wouldn’t go based off any of the comments. Sometimes u have to try it to see how ur body will react to it. What is good for someone else might not be good for u. As for me this pill cleared up my acne. Periods were 3 days and light. Like any new medication your body has to adjust so u feel the nausea for a little and mood swings. Cramps are not as bad as when I was off the pill. I gave my self a 5 month break from the pill and honestly I can’t handle the pain I feel anymore and have decided to start again. Since it helped me so much. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/23/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ladies, this pill has been the biggest most positive life changer I've been so fortunate to have. I've spent many years trying different hormone and non hormone birth control options and had absolutely sworn off any and all hormones since I had tried pretty much everything on the market. Over the last couple of years I've developed extremely painful periods that have kept me from functioning at all. I became open to whatever my ob/gyn wanted to try so we tried blisovi fe four months ago and not only have I been able to bypass my period completely, I have zero side effects :) Nothing at all!! No spotting, weight gain headaches tenderness - nada. I'm so grateful for this you have no idea!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
celeste | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

when i first start the pill 4-5 months ago, i was previously on the bc shot (which was horrible because i had breakthrough bleeding from the second i got the shot for 4 MONTHS) i didn’t have any crazy side affects probably because i was already on the shot. i get my “period” when it’s supposed to. no other bleeding throughout the month. i get emotional every now and then. acne isn’t too bad, only on my forehead but i think it’s because i have oily skin so i get some breakouts but nothing major. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jdiaz | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/20/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking blisovi for about 2 years. In the beginning the side effects were preety rough (headaches, nauseous, mood swings.) I use to take the pill in the morning but would always get nauseous in the afternoon. After three months my bodies hormones leveled out and my side effects decreased drastically. I also switched the time of when i take the pill. Highly recommend. This is the second brand of bc i've tried and i'm very happy with the results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More