Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

I wanted to write a review on this after I had finished 3 packs and so I could maybe help someone. And I am glad to say I am very satisfied. Vienva was not my first birth control. I first started on Syeda and that was the worst experience of my life. I didn't even get through 2 weeks and it ended up destroying all my relationships. I stopped taking birth control completely after that and then trie...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

My insurance company switched me from Orsythia to Vienva without notifying me, so I took it for the first week thinking they had the same ingredients. Within the first week my boobs shrank, I was nauseous all the time, I was eating like crazy, and I got cystic acne all over my face (again). Orsythia has been the only bc in 6 years that has worked for me since I went from LoEstrin(discontinued). I ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Everyone can have a different experience on this pill. However, if you struggle with anxiety or depression my advice is to really stay on top of how you feel.This made my mental health decline so quick and I was only on it for a month. Things such as mood swings, hopelessness, and feeling extremely irritable were some things I was experiencing, and not to mention I was suddenly waking up up in the middle of the night trying to fall back alseep everyday after the first week of being on it. I knew the pill had something to do with it since i had never felt like that low before before, It just amplified everything. Again this may work for you but stay on top of how you feel because if you’re not feeling your best, this could be the reason. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kali | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/31/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill destroyed me, the past 6 months of my life have been a nightmare. Crying every single day, anxiety over the roof (shaking), depressed ( can’t get out of bed or do anything), I because abusive and aggressive with my boyfriend blaming him for all my symptoms not knowing this stupid pill was causing it. He had to take me to the Er because my body wouldn’t stop shaking and I was throwing up acid every 20-30 minutes, my heart would beat so fast and I would sweat while having chills. Instead of realizing it was the pill they just gave me anxiety medication which made things even worse. I don’t recommend this pill at all! I had to move back in with my parents and that’s when I stopped taking it and realized it was the pill all along.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
???? | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got on this birth control to help with cramps and also because i heard it makes your chest bigger and makes your skin super clear. Now keep in mind, i had really clear skin to begin with but i just wanted to ensure it stayed that way. I was only on it for about 2 weeks but i experienced severe bloating to the point i looked pregnant which created emotional distress for me as someone who has dealt with eating disorders in the past. My skin isn’t clear anymore and one side of my face is in the beginning stages of acne so i’m going to see a dermatologist next week. I also felt extremely nauseous at night and most nights felt i was gonna vomit. I was kept awake by feeling so sick. I also noticed my emotions were out of wack. I started crying because i couldn’t find a plastic water bottle. I felt crazy and frustrated so i just stopped taking the pill. I’m still feeling the effects but much less intense now it’s been 4 days off it now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2590hft | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/25/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT TAKE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!! I went from 119-145 within 6 MONTHS OF TAKING THIS!!!!!! I have always been a slimmer person and kept active / ate pretty well and this pill has destroyed me. I’m praying that since I have stopped taking it (just a few days ago) that I will start to feel back to normal soon and be able to lose some weight. I feel bloated, uncomfortable, mood swings are INSANE, I’m aggressive and snippy and just overall not myself. This pill is the worst thing I’ve ever experienced. Not trying to be dramatic - just sharing the honest truth so no other woman has to go through this. Almost destroyed my relationships because of how awful this pill was making me! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Denise | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/23/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 47yrs old and taking vienva to stop my cycle from happening. I experienced some spotting during the first 3 months, but that has stopped. Weight gain is the only side effect for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vienva | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/17/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this birth control for several years. Over the years my alkaline phosphatase kept going up. A CT scan showed i had hepatic adenomas on my liver several large and multiple smaller ones. These were brought on by vienva birth control. I had taken birth control tell with no issues and OBGYN switched several years ago to Vienva which is when we noticed increase in alkaline. DO NOT TAKE THIS PILL. I had to stop taking BC immediately and also had to have a hysterectomy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ash | 25-34 | Other | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Vienva for about 5 months now. I did experience major irritability and anxiety in the first couple of weeks but I haven't since. My main concern is that I haven't had a period since I began taking Vienva. My boyfriend and I have unprotected sex so I've taken a few pregnancy tests because I was getting nervous. They were all negative, so I at least know it works! I was just wondering if anyone else experienced having their periods stop. I haven't come across a review that mentioned it yet.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/6/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on multiple different kinds of birth control pills over almost 2 decades. They just recently switched me to Vienva... It's been 6 days and I have had very bad side effects. Huge painful pimples... Cramping...nausea... And my mood is extremely poor. I've never had side effects like this before from other pills. I have an appointment for an iud within 3 weeks I will be stopping these pills asap. Worst birth control pill I've ever been on.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
annie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/16/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got on it because I have painful periods and also I just don’t want to get pregnant but so far it’s probably been the worst. I have had terrible mood swings, I’m always crying and I have no s*x drive :(. It’s given some acne and constant headaches, I already have a pre existing mood disorder and I take medication for that but this birth control has made it a lot worse. Don’t take it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lrod | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/5/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the worst bc I could have ever been on.. I tried it for 3 months and experienced hell.. depression, headaches, mood swings, aggressive, angry all the time. Almost ruined my marriage and my job. Worst ever do not try it! I gained weight and spiraled down the worst hormones from hell..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kkiss | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2022
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What I liked about this birth control is that it did not give me headaches and nausea like most pills do. However, it did give me such severe acid reflux that I had to stop taking it. Since the acid reflux started with the first pill and stopped once I went off, I can only attribute it to this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tonya | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pharmacy switched me saying it was the generic brand and I didn't pay any attention to it but here it is a month into it and I have gained weight. I have had mood swings and depression and that's not normal for me. I have had no energy. I called to get my regular birth control so I can feel normal again!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarah | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/23/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control pill made me extremely depressed, aggressive, irrational, gave me panic attacks, and increased my appetite to an almost painful degree. However, I never got pregnant while taking it. Overall, would not recommend at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jordan | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was switched to this medication without my permission because for some reason NURX and all the pharmacy’s all of a sudden couldn’t get Lutera? Which I had been on for 2.5 years and loved. I was told it was the exact same as lutera, just the off brand. Well, it’s not!!! This medicine has made me so emotional and made me have major mood swings! (I never have mood swings normally) I have gained about 10 lbs since starting it 3 months ago and I always feel bloated and absolutely miserable. It does not ease my period pain or symptoms. And my face breaks out like crazy!! By far the worst experience I have had on the pill.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Asia | 19-24 | Female | Patient
4/4/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this BC at 18 because my periods would last 9-11 days and my cycles would skip around from 32 days to 64 then 43, etc. with my initial goal being to regulate my period, it works fantastic. The first three months were horrible—probably the worst pin in my life was the third period I had on Vienva. But I’ve been on it for two years now ( will be going off next year) and my periods are clock work with flow and timing. I’ve even accidentally skipped a month, gotten back on, and did fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BreJoi | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/4/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before I started taking any form of birth control I was looking into Pill Club (now Favor) and I was trying to get a sense of what my options were. The nurse that I ended up meeting with told me that I would be prescribed Vienva due to it having the lowest dosage of hormones they could offer. I ended up looking up reviews and was overwhelmed by mostly negative reviews saying the side effects were so terrible they had to switch. I would be lying if I didn't say that I was extremely nervous to start but I have been taking this birth control for almost 3 months now and I feel amazing. No serious side effects! The worst thing I have felt this whole time was probably some light cramping every now and then but it isn't bad at all. Otherwise, my weight has stayed the same, my acne has been regulated and I don't break out as much anymore, my periods are lighter and less painful, and I have not experienced any mood swings. I think each person's reaction is different but give this a try and if it does not try something new until you find something that works for you :) Good luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennem84 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cannot begin to tell you how grateful I am to you women for sharing your experiences of Vienva. I was switched without notice from Lutera. I did not realize after 3 months on Vienva that the issues that arose were side effects and not me having a mental breakdown. My marriage has suffered due to major mood swings, intense depression, anxiety, random crying episodes, and complete loss of sex drive. My face has broken out and I’ve gained weight. I will be tossing this bc and I’m hopeful that the side effects will soon go away. Please read the reviews if you are on this prescription.. it will save your relationships and your sanity!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rebecca | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/13/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on quite a few birth control pills that didn’t work for me and the side effects were too much (emotionally). I’ve been on Vienva for a year and I have had no problems whatsoever and I’ve been really happy with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kaycee | 25-34 | Female | Patient
3/5/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for about 2 weeks. I was very skeptical about birth control in general. So far I’ve noticed that I’ve have some mood swings and my sex drive has decreased. I have low energy but I thought that might be due to poor diet choices... I’ve noticed A tiny bit of weight gain and bloating... but again it’s too soon to tell if this is from the birth control or other things going on this past few weeks. I’ll write another review after a few months but so far not bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kyanna | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/2/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this brand for 5 years. I was 14 when i started, I’m about to turn 19. INITAL: So i don’t really remember if it made me gain weight or anything but I know when i first started it it gave me terrible migraines and nausea, and chest pains for the first 6 months then it stopped. So I was satisfied with it. I noticed over the course of the next 4 years, especially as I became VERY active by the time I’ve been 16-now, working out consistently following a calorie deficit i have NOT been able to get lean whatsoever. This medicine doesn’t make you necessarily gain weight that much (maybe 5lbs?) BUT it will make you unable to get lean at all, it’s almost insane my pumps last like 1/2 the time of my friends, and the next morning it looks like I haven’t worked out in two years. My body looks the exact same as it did when I was 14, and honestly it shrunk my boobs at least 1 cup size. I used to fill a B cup pretty well and now i can barely fit in a AA. But my stomach and legs and everything else look the same and aren’t lean at all either. THE BREAK: I stopped taking it for about a month last June (after being on it for 4 years) when I just was wondering how I was like without birth control- because it was so long since I haven’t had these hormones in my body- plus i thought it was starting to break me out (maybe the formula changed at that point). It made my boobs small & wasn’t getting lean SIDE EFFECTS after getting back on it: When i got back on the pill i developed painful cystic acne on my cheeks and back. My sex drive dropped. I became angry and depressed all the time. Still wasn’t having any progress in the gym despite following a personal trainer and personalized meal plan. Boobs got EVEN SMALLER. My acne made me so insecure I don’t have a single photo of my freshman first semester of college. CONCLUSION: It’s now March 2022 and I’m switching to Loryna, i’ve been so scared to change birth controls because of weight gain and other painful side effects that occur within the first 3 months. But my acne and mood changes have made me so miserable. They’ve only gotten worse and it’s been more than 6 months since I got back on it. I don’t know if the formula has changed over the past 2 years or what. Wouldn’t recommend if you want to be happy & not feel insecure 24/7. Hopefully my boobs grow back & I can actually see progress in the gym. I miss being more happy than this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More