Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

Hey, this medication is considered safe for up to 2 WEEKS. You should not be using it for longer than that unless you have exhausted every other safer option. Most notably diet. And don't ever trust that your doctor knows what's best for you, every doctor makes a mistake in his/her career and many do almost every day due to ignorance or inattentiveness. If you've been on a solid diet designed t...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Just started treatment. Will keep you abreast.

Shared reviews and ratings

Sean | 55-64 | Male | Patient
4/25/2022
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not working. 2 to 4 days before effect?! dizziness. headache. excessive thirst. abdominal bloating. cold brain. no appetite. no taste. no sleep. week long side effects. poisonous chemicals produced if with green tea: unknown chemicals in stomach; fingers, knees, calf and foots swelling; numb weak and shaking; low sodium in blood; heavy dizziness; very poor body balance; face and mouth swelling; shrink mouth; mouth wall broken; so on and on.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ST | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2018
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hey, this medication is considered safe for up to 2 WEEKS. You should not be using it for longer than that unless you have exhausted every other safer option. Most notably diet. And don't ever trust that your doctor knows what's best for you, every doctor makes a mistake in his/her career and many do almost every day due to ignorance or inattentiveness. If you've been on a solid diet designed to help your bowels move, with high FIBER (not carbs, you need whole/unprocessed grains and fruit), 6-8 glasses of water, and small amounts of natural laxatives and bowel stimulants like prune juice and coffee, and you still can't have a bowel movement once a day then there's either something more serious going on or you're one of the very few people in the world who have a naturally slow colon (very very few, most people who have chronic constipation aren't getting enough of the right nutrients or water or have a more serious problem going on.) If you take this medication for more than that 'safe' period of time you will permanently disturb your bowels. You will from then on NEED the medication to have bowel movements and be on it for the rest of your life. And as time goes on you will need more and more to be effective. And, that's right, the more you take the more side effects you'll get. This medication causes constipation in the long time and can cause diarrhea and horrendous stomach cramps. And that's my experience with the medication. Stomach cramps and nausea for the 7 days I was taking it then diarrhea for 3 days and then constipation for 4 more days. I've had constipation issues for over 20 years and I find it's much less painful and much less disruptive to my bowel cycles to try and work up a bowel movement another way. It also tends to be more satisfying. Take care all and be well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lydia | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/2/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a child I often had painful constipation. After being diagnosed with Crohn's disease 20 yrs. ago, my physician prescribed Miralax. The Crohn's went into remission after 1 yr. and never returned, and went off the Crohn's medication too.. I've used this medication for 20 years with no side effects. I have regular bowel movements every day--no diarrhea and no constipation. Guess I'm lucky.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/14/2017
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

recommended by an internal medicine doctor for chronic constipation. I take daily. works like a charm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/16/2017
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take every morning with coffee. Works like a charm with no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/8/2017
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking it because of BHP. Using this has released pressure on my bladder and now urine flows a lot better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JDK1940 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/26/2017
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/4/2017
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just changed to this supplier (Kremers Urban) and it is nothing like the old supplier. Espress Script must have changed the supplier to Kremers for costs, but it is not working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/7/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/4/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

don't like mirolax make me go frequently have to wear pad. took perrigo from VA and go daily without have to worry about accidents

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bit-Twiddler | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/4/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chronic constipation my entire life from childhood. First introduced to PEG by Rx during prep for colonoscopy 5 years ago. Very impressed. Then found it in LaxaClear at Costco when doctor prescribed it for 2-yr-old granddaughter. Find it very effective, when taken daily. But even missing one dose locks my bowels. Also found missing 3-4 doses starts intense itching of feet from withdrawal symptoms. Satisfaction needs finding the right balance between dependence and regular comfortable BMs. Still haven't found it. But when I take it, it works. Daily exercise walking and climbing stairs, and drinking plenty of water are also critical for success. I like to take it with fruit juices, or splash some lemon concentrate with it in water. I'm also cautious about taking it within 1-2 hrs of my other BP meds. Never had a problem, just cautions, based mostly on its off-putting industrial-sounding name. So far, after 4+ years of use, have not identified any adverse side effects, other than feet itching from missing multiple doses. Also get withdrawal feet itching when stopping antihistamines, so individual experience will likely be as different as people are. You may get good results with fewer doses than daily. Overall, very satisfied, just wish I could get good results from fewer doses, like weekly instead of daily. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ASH | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Constipation and straining during bowel movements caused my hemorroids to act up. Usually, they healed with preparation H, but this time the problem was more persistent. My GI prescribed me this drug and it worked like a charm. I was first kind of afraid of the industrial sounding name, but within a day of taking this drug, I was having at least two comfortable bowel movements per day and my hemorroids got a chance to heal. One huge plus is that unlike stimulant laxatives that can almost give you diarrhea, this drug just made my stool softer and easier to pass.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dean | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suspected that incomplete BM's may be responsible for stomach discomfort, which typically morphed to headaches. After 10 days it appears to be the case. Most pleased. Other laxatives may work, as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
barbie | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/27/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helps with my constipation. I take this medication at night and sometimes i have this nagging cough and chocking and i don't know if this medication would cause this annoying problem. So i was wondering if anyone else had this problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 days still no relief..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Designer39q | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/29/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Noticed progressive neurological, joint and muscle pain. Headaches became unbearable. Almost bedridden. Symptoms identical to Fibromyalgia diagnosed over ten years ago, caused by SOY allergen. Thank God I had blood testing for Soy and have not had symptoms of Fibromyalgia until using Miralax. The product worked beautifully for me EXCEPT for all the side effects. I wish there was/is an answer to chronic constipation. I now use two Senna twice a day, a good size mixed greens salad with a goodly amount of various raw vegetables and prunes/prune juice. Walking daily is a must.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorum Ipsum | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/11/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was placed on polyethylene glycol 3350 and an opioid the same day, and that was years ago. The one liquid it doesn't mix well with is milk. That may be because my milk has always been very cold; I don't know. It has been a bit difficult transitioning off of it as I transitioned off of opioids when they stopped working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SKYKING | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2015
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am an amputee veteran and have been on methadone for multiple years for a long term pain medication in my bones, and Opiate Induced Constipation was a big problem for years untill i was recently perscribed this medication and it did wonders for me the 1st day relieving the bowels and takeing the internal pressure of my body. It was smooth and mixed well in my ginger ale and it has no flavor to notice. I have much more activity and relief and recommend it to anyone suffering from Opiate Induced Constipation. (OIC).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/7/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This didn't work for me. I need to take this before my colonoscopy. I had an allergic reaction...neck tightened and shortness of breath within 5 minutes of drinking the first 8 ounces. Had to go to ER.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy consumer | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/25/2015
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered constipation all my life, including childhood. Doctor prescribed polyethylene glycol 3350 NF six years ago and I have not been constipated since unless I forget to take it. I dissolve it my stirring into warm water first thing every morning and always make sure to follow that up with another cup of liquid within the next hour or so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More