Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

after albuterol taken off the market and replaced with Pro air -an ineffective placebo type inhaler , I ended up with several trips to the er and ultimately a trip to the hosp in the ambulance under the impression I was having a heart attack from the over use of pro air ..I was advised by a pharmacist to inquier about xopenex.. has the same delivery system as the old albuterol inhaler. Worke...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I hate this medicine. I was given it after years of other medications. At first I gave it a go, and noticed that my asthma attack just kept getting worse, so another treatment was taken, once again I seemed to be getting worse instead of bed, Third times the charm and gave it one last go. At this point I was turning blue and could not stand. I had to be rushed to the hospital and given a 5 hour tr...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/16/2017
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

very short duration about 30 mins. waste of money and time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jakeanddana | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/20/2012
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using the Pro-Air (albuterol) inhaler for years, I was recently prescribed Xopenex after being sick of my heart racing from the albuterol. Xopenex does not work as fast as albuterol (works in minutes as opposed to seconds) but doesn't make my heart race and I have no side affects. On my cigna prescription plan Pro-Air was $40 and Xopenex is $25.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trekia Malaysia | 3-6 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/5/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 3yr old has Trekia Malaysia and Asthma and we have tried numerous breathing meds for her that have not worked. Currently she is on Budesonide( Which is a med that works over time with a steroid in it), Ipratropium (Which is used for immediate relief to open air way and clear up sercreations) and finaly the Xopenx (Which opens her airway) We have tried all the rest but have found these 3 to really work well for her.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/27/2012
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's easy to use but I ended up in the hospital with an asmatha attack because it didn't work at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
colleenme | 3-6 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
2/17/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Xonepex is the best thing invented for my now 4 year old son. He had rsv as an infant, and has had allergies and recurrent colds in the winter ever since. He has the worst cough related to brochospasm, and this is the 6th med we have been on- 2 inhalers, another kind of albuterol, and singulair, zyrtec. This is our family's lifesaver- helps him sleep better than the albuterol, and gives the rest of us a chance to sleep. no side effects that we see, but he's pretty grumpy when he's coughing so much before treatments~ Highly recommend~ Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amanda | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/6/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had walking pneumonia and was given this. While it did improve my breathing, it was terrible. I was very anxious, dizzy, and jittery all day and I couldn't sleep at night. In my case it really wasn't worth the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/20/2011
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had asthma for 30 years.I have found that you need to mix up your meds for example albutoral use too much will become inafective.XOPENEX SOLUTION works great if you use it selectivly such as when you have a cold or lung infection.I use it if we are having a dusty day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
12/29/2010
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been a great med. for my son. He has had asthma since he was 2yrs old. Its been like a gift from God gince he has gotten older and his allergy spec. put him on this but he also has to take several pills to go along with these treatments.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tooangelbabe | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/17/2010
Condition: Bronchospasm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff does me no good. After a couple months of use I developed increased breathing problems. Because of insurance I have to sufer with it or use nothing, I'll use nothing. This stuff is bad news.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
- | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/8/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
map | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/6/2010
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works okay,although not very fast, but causes insomnia if I use several times for a day or two. Not jittery, but wide awake for hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
betty | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/15/2010
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chia | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/24/2010
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched to Xopenex Inhlation Solution(levalbuterol HCI) over 2yrs ago since regular Albuterol made me jittery and sometimes made my attacks worse. I do not use this or recommend this as an emergency treatment, that is what the inhaler is for. I use this in my nebulizer. It does work great when my symptoms are not under control with my day to day meds. I have a support group with others who have Severe Asthma/Chronic Bronchitis and those of us who have switched to Xopenex have had excellent results. I advise anyone who says Xopenex hypes them up more then regular Albuterol speak with their doctor, I was switched to it specifically because it is less likely to make you jittery. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cj | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/4/2010
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stops coughing after 15-20 min.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/30/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 3-6 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
2/18/2010
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My child has suffered from asthma attacks for quite some time. I have tried many different neb meds, but most of them leave him very jumpy and agitated. It is not as fast acting as albuterol inhalant is, but it doesn't race his heart as much when he needs double doses.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brgarcia | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 14 mo. old daughter was given this medicatin for RSV. Shortly after using this small ulcers formed on her toung. The more that we used it they got worse. This is my first time to have to use any type of medication like this and the pore thing is in so much pain! She has lost 5lbs in less than a week. She can not eat many things that do not hurt her. If anyone has had thi experance please let me know what to do to help her! I have stopped the treatments due to this and she sound good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LATucker | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
1/26/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 3 year old daughter has been on this since she was 6 months old. It works very well and we have absolutely NO side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jemeneye | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/19/2010
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after albuterol taken off the market and replaced with Pro air -an ineffective placebo type inhaler , I ended up with several trips to the er and ultimately a trip to the hosp in the ambulance under the impression I was having a heart attack from the over use of pro air ..I was advised by a pharmacist to inquier about xopenex.. has the same delivery system as the old albuterol inhaler. Worked alot better, and I have been happy with it but not good for long term use, may lose some effectiveness .I have been using for approximately 2 months and it isn't working as well ..or I am getting worse ....may need to rethink my medical professionals at this point ..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
asthmasucks | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/13/2010
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this for asthma, only use it when an attack occurs, but it hardly helps. I switched from Albuteral when i was eight, and want to go back to it because xopenex stinks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More