Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

Orth-Cyclen & it's generic brand, used as birth control, is wonderful! I have been on it for several months now. I have no negative side effects. It's very effective on preventing pregnancy! In my family we are all extremely fertile women, and my fiance and I started having unprotected sex a couple months ago, and I haven't had any issues with this birth control. It's also lightened my periods (wh...

Most voted negative review

17 People found this comment helpful

aint take iit

Shared reviews and ratings

Hannah | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/26/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This gave me severe depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Survivor14 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would say this is by far the worst birth control after taking this medication for only two weeks I suffered a massive stroke. I have no genetic predisposition for blood clots nor bleeding according to the extensive blood Iâ??ve had done. THis medication completely changed my life and for for the better I can no longer move my left arm, I have limited mobility in my leg and now suffer from seizures. I have contacted to manaufactured for compensation and help paying my medical bills and they could care less no lawyer is willing to help either apparently many women have to go through what I went in order for anything to be done. Please be careful and if possible donâ??t take this medication. I wouldnâ??t like for anyone to have to go through what I went. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/10/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

omg i love this birth control so much. ive been on it for almost a year now and it's amazing. no pragnancys. the first few months i was always nauseous around 5 AM but that went away and I havent had that happen since. I had horrible acne before and after about 3 months of being on this all my acne is gone. Its very effective if taken properly. My boyfriend cums in me almost every day and Ive never had even a pregnancy scare. I do take it at exactly the same time every day so i'm sure that makes it more effective than if you take it wrong.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hh | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/10/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Benefit for u | 13-18 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/4/2016
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication 2 years ago due to very heavy bleeding during my cycle. I have some breast tenderness, weight gain, and breast growth. It's also good at preventing pregnancy too. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has tried other birth control and has had bad side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nohappy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on many different birth controls and this is by far the worst one I have ever been on. I have been on it for just over a week and have already gained at least 5lbs!!! I also have had zero sex drive, which is very unlike me. DO NOT TAKE THIS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/11/2016
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is VERY effective and has made my breasts go fro a DD to a DDD! However, i dont like how my mood swings go back and forth and sometimes i feel depressed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/18/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took my body a few months to get adjusted to the medication. But since then I have had no negative side effects! No weight gain, my cramps are gone, my periods are light and short, and my skin has gotten clearer. And I haven't gotten pregnant!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/30/2016
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed Ortho-Cyclen to treat Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS). Since taking it my acne has cleared up tremendously. The only complaint I have is I often experience light breakthrough bleeding.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carissa456 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/23/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 19, and taking the generic Mononessa.No weight gain for me, MAYBE a pound, if that. I am now dieting and is not preventing me from losing weight. I do get some random breakouts, I would say acne is about the same as before. Haven't gotten pregnant either, so that's a good sign :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/10/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this pill for 6 months now. I haven't experienced any significant changes in my body. My cramps are gone, periods lighter, and my acne has subsided. I was on Tri-cyclen before this for about a year and had spotting/ a week of horrible acne. Therefore, I love the ortho-cyclen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/13/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been taking this for about 3-4 months and the only thing that i didnt like was the weight gain. i felt so bloated. oh and your breast get really sore and tender.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/7/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take non generic ortho cyclen. VERY good at preventing pregnancy if that is what you are taking it for and if it is taken on time. Causes some weight gain. The only large effect from this medication is that I went from a B-cup to a DD and it will make your breasts very tender at a certain point in the cycle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sl¡pn?t | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/5/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my second month on this pill and this will be the last. I have gained 10+lbs, I nornally have clear skin, I noticed my face beginning to break out and become oily. And on top of that the mood swings are terrible. I went from having just mood swings to wanting to snap or cry all the time. My periods have been more painful and lasts 9-10 days. I switched because my insurance changed and this was cheaper, I am either suffering and paying the money for the one I was on or just saying forget it and getting skyla. I do no recommend this at all. This has not been apleasurable experience.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
3/9/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

aint take iit

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MollyW | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on various birth controls over the years. I was previously on Brevicon but was switched because of spotting. I greatly dislike this pill. I've experienced weight gain, more head aches, and barely any sex drive (NONE). I am not pregnant, so thats good. Otherwise the rest is horrid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
seventeengirl | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/9/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first ever bc pill and have been on for a month, aboutto start a new pack today although im still bleeding. Havent really gotten to test its contraceptive benefits yet, but i experienced mild side effects which have cleared up. I had really tender breasts and some pretty harsh cramping even before i started my "period" thats really about it, i feel exactly the same and well. Im going to get a check up soon either way. For it being my first ever bc pill and considering that i was extremely hesitant about having extra hormones in my body because of my history with moderate acne, i am surprised at how good its been to me so far. Crossing my fingers for it to continue being that way!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/29/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pros: No pregnancies, regular periods Cons: Remembering to take daily pill, decreased sex drive, increased migraines As a chronic migraine sufferer the sudden drop-off of hormones just before menstruation caused "cyclic migraines." I went off the pill at the advice of my general physician while my husband was deployed. I still experienced migraines, but not cyclic migraines. A few months before my husband returned from overseas I restarted Ortho Tri-Cyclen and the cyclic migraines returned. After speaking to my OB/GYN about this she has prescribed Nuvaring. After reading other women's reviews of that contraceptive [Nuvaring)] an extra migraine a month [caused by Ortho Tri-Cyclen] may not be so bad.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toya | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/22/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this bc for a year. During month 3 I did spot for about 3-4 weeks and had a little breast tenderness but since then I have no other side effects. My period usually begins the 3rd day of the placebo pills (which I don't take anymore) and lasts about 4 days. The flow is moderate for the first 2 days and light for the 3rd and 4th day. I have no complaints, although i have been thinking about switching to a pill where I don't get a "period" every month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AJE27 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/17/2014
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began this birth control to regulate my period after Ortho-tri-cylen stopped working for me. It did regulate my periods but it also made me very irritable, and caused darken of skin on my face (especially above my top lip and in between my eyebrows). The WORST side effect that I received after switching to this drug was dark patches on my face that will not go away. I have permanent what look like "sun spots" on my face. I could have them lightened with a laser but have been told that they would come back. As soon as I switched to a new birth control, spots stopped popping up on my face. I later discovered that this very same thing happened to a good friend of mine. Bummed... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More