Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

4 People found this comment helpful

I've been taking this BCP for 9 months and went from 113 lbs to 128 lbs...and am still gaining! My appetite is horrific. I just called my dr to schedule an appointment for an IUD.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

It caused abnormal cells to grow on the outside of my daughter's uterus and she was bleeding for three out of four weeks but not ovulating. This means the blood she was losing was because of the abnormal cells the drug caused to grow - not her period.

Shared reviews and ratings

Bella | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/19/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on levlen for around 5 months. After the first 3 months of being on it I had gained 5kg, I noticed my moods were affected, I was sad and anxious all the time. After being off it now for 6 months, I lost the weight and my moods are great. I know everyone has different experiences but levlen was definitely not for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
airea | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/11/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I grew lot's of dark hair on my lower back and around my nipples!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vjw | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
8/1/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It caused abnormal cells to grow on the outside of my daughter's uterus and she was bleeding for three out of four weeks but not ovulating. This means the blood she was losing was because of the abnormal cells the drug caused to grow - not her period.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sassy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/21/2012
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

very affective ,easy to take

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CaliGirlinFL | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/1/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had no problems at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adele | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/2/2011
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went from having an 8 day period to a 2.5 day period which was its greatest advantage. Sadly it also gave me increased feelings of anxiety and helplessness and I was having aggressive mood swings as well as tears over nothing. Good for the body, VERYbad for the mind. I don't think I've ever felt this anxious. Being on this doesn't make me feel 'right'.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steph | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/4/2010
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this pill. I tried eight different BC pills before my doctor put me on this pill. I was having my period for 30 days then off of my period for only a week then back on it, so it has helped in that way. It has worsened my anxiety and depression a little but I had a problem with it in the first place. I have had a migraine disorder before this pill but it seems to have made it a little worse at times. I would definitely take a migraine before the 30 day period. This is a great birth control and I love it. I would recommend this to anyone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sbabs | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/9/2010
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 36 yr old female and was prescribed this BC for ovarian cyst prevention after trying Ortho lo for 3 mths and gaining weight, I tried levlen..it was awful! I not only gained more weight ( i work out 3-4 days per week) but I had severe depression and when I started my placebo I got horrible vertigo that lasted for hours. I would not recommend this pill to anyone with hormone sensitivity!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WRb | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/3/2010
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill has been amazing, I started taking it 3 months before I had sex for the first time, and it regulated my periods as well as giving me peace of mind contraception-wise. A positive side-effect I hadn't expected was a total escape from depression which I had suffered for 4 years prior to starting on Levlen. I went from 49 kg to 53 kg and I'm now very happy with my weight! Brilliant introduction to birth control pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Executive/Mom/Jack-of-all-trades | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/8/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this BCP for 9 months and went from 113 lbs to 128 lbs...and am still gaining! My appetite is horrific. I just called my dr to schedule an appointment for an IUD.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/16/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/15/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worst bc ever! After going to an acupuncturist I realized my recent mood changes, depression, headaches, stomach problems, and the worst fatigue I've ever experienced in 34 years of life was contributed to this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/22/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
trinklest | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
11/16/2008
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gained 10 pounds of water weight that I quickly lost over 2 months after stopping Levlen, and another 5 pounds that I had to work off. I was very depressed and it made my headaches into migraines which has not changed even after a year. This was a horrible introduction into birth control pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/29/2008
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hated this pill, because I was sick all the time and felt depressed non-stop. It was amazing how my body felt after I got off this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/17/2008
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this pill after been on depo for 10 years and finding out that it was contributing to early osteopenia (and I was only in my 30s and a highly active athlete). In less than 2 years, I gained over 20 lbs, despite being very active and eating well. I also started to get hot flashes and extreme travel sickness, particularly when flying (and I worked for a travel company at the time). My periods also were heavier, but after so many years of depo, I forgot what a normal period was like. The dramatic increase in body fat caused me to consider other options, but I'm limited since I've not had children (no IUD, uterus is too small). I have recently switched to lo/ovral, so we'll see how that works out. Hopefully the weight will dropRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/8/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I noticed I am a little moody, never motivaited to do anything, I feel like sleeping all day, I also gained 15 pounds that I am unable to take of I cut my eating habitts in half and go to the gym 4 times a week. None of my pants fit, so I am switching very soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
costumegirl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/25/2008
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This BCP was terrible, I cried non stop for the 3 months I was on it! Yeah, I didn't get pregnant, but it was because I was crying so much I had no interest in having sex! This was the worst BCP I've ever taken. Levlen not so leveling!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ann | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/28/2008
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Makes periods a lot lighter and has all but stopped period pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More