Show ratings & reviews for

4.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this birth control over 10 years. No spotting or bleeding between periods, I rarely have cramping. Although I do experience breast tenderness, but nothing that can't be handled.

Shared reviews and ratings

Mile | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/5/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this birth control for 6 years now and I just recently found out that I have depression. I always thought it was normal because I was tired but I do not feel like doing anything. Just sleep. As soon as I am off the pill I feel happy and my sex drive increases but as soon as I start back on it I have bad mood swings and sex drive is very low. I will say it works to prevent pregnancy but I think this pill affects your hormones A LOT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mali | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/2/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this drug because I had an ovarian cyst and it ruptured, abnormal period, acne and birth control. It is very effective on controlling all of which I was using it for. The reason I was unsatrisafied was because it made me depressed, aggressive and paranoid. I have switched to another brand of birth control with a lower estrogen level and I feel much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mojojojo6 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/23/2015
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was bleeding uncontrollably. i was given Mononessa after about 2 weeks and nothing changed i went back to the doctors and i was gi ven Norinyl 1/35 and after pne dose i was better and i keep getting better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wolfhogen | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2015
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I started this it was a shot in the dark. There was no way knowing if it would work and if it didn't I would need surgery. After 4 weeks I had my last ER visit where I was in a lot of pain. The doctors and nurses were there as I went through the worst trying to make me more comfortable. Then the bleeding eased up, the pain reduced. It took a total of 5 weeks for the bleeding to completely stop. 6 months later I only have spotting on the off weeks. No pain. Acne cleared up too. And the best part is I didn't need surgery. So if you're experiencing heavy painful bleeding be willing to give this a chance. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/28/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm In my 50's but took Norinyl for acne when I was 20. I suffered a stroke (blood clots in my brain) and was paralyzed on my right side for 1week. I met a nurse today who told me she worked with someone in her 20s who remained paralyzed from birth control pills. I was not overweight, drank alcohol or smoked cigarettes. Birth control pills are very dangerous and if I had known the side effects, I wouldn't have taken them. I'm lucky I survived. It controlled my acne, made me put on alot of weight and nearly killed me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/18/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The main reason I started BC is to avoid pregnancy. The other reasons were to regulate my cycle and give me relief. Before the pill, I had irregular, heavy periods, with cramps that would put me out of commission for a whole week. I never had problems with acne before the pill, and definitely have no problems after. My periods now are fairly light, very short (3-4 days). The cramps are still there but are nothing compared to what I had before the pill. I did not gain any weight, if anything my body fat percentage is lower (I've always been athletic). I do still bloat some before my period but if I care enough to watch what I eat I don't at all. I rarely experience breast tenderness. I am extremely satisfied with this drug. I can live my life without worrying about my damn period and I am definitely not pregnant.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only problem I have with this pill is that it makes my skin extremely oily, and therefore makes me break out. Very strange, considering I've been on Nortrel and Necon which is the same hormones and dosage. But it's awful. Aside from that, no side effects and I've experienced shorter, less painful periods. 3 months and no change, so I will be switching to something else soon due to my face though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AD | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/14/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for about 5 years now. It is effective for me, I haven't got pregnant for sure, but of course I take it the same time every day and use other birth control methods as backups just in case. The only thing that I'm not satisfied with is that I have gained sooo much weight. I weighed 110lbs when I started and now I weigh 133. My face also breaks out HORRIBLY. I'll get huge bumps that looks like warts on my face. disgusting. I went to my gyno and she put me on something different that I will start soon. I hope it works well for me. If you don't mind some weight gain or acne, then this pill is right for you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/25/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Nortrel before but then I changed doctors cus our insurance provider changed. The doctor the prescribed Norinyl told me that it was the exact same as Nortrel and said that nothing would change and I wouldn't have any different side effects. 3 months went by and I went back to pick up my yearly supply and found out that this pill made my blood pressure sky rocket. I had never had high blood pressure before switching to Norinyl. Other then that, thats the only problem I had with it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gertrude | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/5/2011
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The heavy bleeding menstruations stopped, however I only drink the white pills. If I use also the pink pills, I get symptoms like heavy headaches, painful lower abdomen, diarrhea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/29/2010
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this birth control over 10 years. No spotting or bleeding between periods, I rarely have cramping. Although I do experience breast tenderness, but nothing that can't be handled.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hellodolly88 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/29/2010
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Light, short duration period! I dont experience cramping. Went on another pill for a couple months and noticed a heavier longer period. Glad to be back on this one

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
uugii | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
5/31/2010
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/16/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No cramping, no spotting, no discomfort. What more could you ask for.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/28/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking norinyl for 4.5 years now & have not noticed any side effects at all, or none that I'm aware of. I have not had any spotting or bleeding not once while taking this. I have enjoyed the very light and no cramping periods also. I would definitely recommend this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2008
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this brand of birth control because I wasn't satisfied with my last brand. Norinyl is easy to use, like other pills but I have had severe discomfort and tenderness in my breasts from this medication. My doctor has switched me to Ortho TriCyclin Lo. Hoping it will help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More