Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

Extreme mood changes and irrational crying. Slight depression and moderate to severe headaches/migraines. Very effective with regulating menstrual cycle.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

At the time I tried the orthonovum, I had taken ortho-tricyclen for many years, but continued to have my period for 6-7 days. I tried Ortho novum to attempt to reduce menstruation days. Unfortunately, I had one of the serious and rare reactions, in that I began to have severe mood swings precipitated by rather benign events. On one occassion, I became enraged that a particular street sign was no...

Shared reviews and ratings

MacAndCheese0123 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/4/2018
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my period for three months on this pill. It didn't stop so I switched to another.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DiscerningDecider | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/4/2016
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been suppressing menstruation since 1997 and this is the pill that I've been taking since nearly the beginning. At one point, it was removed from the formulary available and the doctor tried to put me on a few different pills. I became highly emotional and reactive to the simplest situations with heart pounding, shaking hands, teary eyes, etc. I found an alternate source for the pills as these are the only ones that suppress menstruation, stop the monthly pain and nausea, and stop the severe mood swings. The side benefit for me was to avoid pregnancy. I'm now peri-menopausal and scared to stop taking the pill. I had to suppress menstruation due to major cramping and nausea (in bed for 1-2 days monthly) so I don't believe HRT is an option besides I have a family history of heart disease and breast cancer. I'm working with a doctor now to figure out the next step.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/7/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Ortho Novum for 4 maybe 5 months now, and I love it! I was on Levora for almost a year and gained a lot of weight, grew two cup sizes. Since I have been on Ortho Novum, I have lost a cup size and lost 15 pounds. I feel great, no mood swings, my period only lasts for 3-4 days and it is very effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ttooth | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/2/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'v taken this medication for 30 years and have never had any trouble with it, i've tried to switch to others for one reason or another but have always returned to this one

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beccacarla | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/12/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have previously been on the Ortho Evra patch for several years, but got of that and switched to the Ortho Novum 1/35 pill. The pill has made my periods a lot lighter, my breasts have grown 1 cup size, and I always look bloated and I'm only about 93 lbs (a healthy 93 lbs). My major concern and I am wondering if this is a side effect and if any other users have this problem. I have a healthy, active sex life with my b/f. My libido is high, but it seems that once it is time for action, I have no natural vaginal lubrication. On the patch, I did not have this problem at all. I am wondering if anyone had this same problem and if you switched to a different birth control or what you tried. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mani0788 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/6/2013
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i took this after provera to regulate my periods. hadnt had a period in 3months. the provera induced my period but as i was taking these pills i never stopped my period. it lasted a month. i stopped taking these 2 days before my period was due back. n they weren't for me obviously.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paty07 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/29/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So i have been on this BC for only a month 1/2. i have been on Ortho Tri Low and Yazmin! I LOVED Yazmin. This one not so much. i've noticed that i've been breaking out more now i never broke out i would have a pimple here and there every 6 months and now it seems i have a new pimple everyday. I have also noticed that i crave everything im not a chocolate person and now i was chocolate all the time i crave sweets i eat all the time and im gaining weight. With the other to pills i lost weight 20lbs with Yazmin. Most importantly i've notice im losing my sex drive. i dont want to have sex anymore with my bf. and before we had a very healthy sex life. I thinking of switching. please let me know if any of your girls are going through the same!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nortrel 1-35 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2012
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

im stell bleeding

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MyAGA | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/28/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used this 5+ years ago (20-21yrsold) and didnt have any problems. I had a baby and now back on it (27yrsold)...I've noticed that I get more pimples. I don't know if age has anything to do with it or what? or maybe because I'm more active or heat could be the reason??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steph | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/29/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been very satisfied with this drug other than the mid month bleeding. I've never been on a pill before so i'm not sure if this is normal but i love the months that i do have a 2 day period. :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
..... | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/22/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying struggling to find a birth control pill that worked for me (previous pills causes acne, mood swings, etc) I was put on this pill - and it worked - all my previous symptoms stopped, and my period became lighter, and only lasted 2-3 days, as compared to 6-8 days long before. Unexpectedly, I became pregnant while on the pill. My husband and I were excited, but surprised. I'm guessing that the pill just isn't for me and I'm going to need to switch to something like an IUD after our second child is born. :) Besides Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CamL | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At the time I tried the orthonovum, I had taken ortho-tricyclen for many years, but continued to have my period for 6-7 days. I tried Ortho novum to attempt to reduce menstruation days. Unfortunately, I had one of the serious and rare reactions, in that I began to have severe mood swings precipitated by rather benign events. On one occassion, I became enraged that a particular street sign was not marked well, and I could not find my destination. I flew into such a rage, that I thought if I crashed my car into a telephone pole, maybe they would mark the street better. Obviously, mood swings that foster impulsive suicidal thoughts is not a good thing. Fortunately, once I calmed down, I recognized that my recent mood instability correlated with beginning the new medication. I immediately discontinued the medication, and returned to my baseline fairly quickly, which is typically very stable and euthymic. This event happened to me years ago, while in graduate school training to become a Mental health clinician. Luckily, I had enough understanding about the effects of medications that I was able to recognize the relationship between my mood instablity and the ortho novum. I was able to discontinue it after a short period of time and was able to avoid serious compications that the medication could have caused. I do know now that I am fairly sensitive to hormonal shifts, and may have been more predisposed biochemically to have such a reaction to this medication. Please consult with your MD before taking this medication if you already know if you are particularly sensitive to hormones, as it could potentially cause a lot of serious problems. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
faith17 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/5/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've gone through 4 different types of birth control until I found the one that didn't cause mood swings,nausea, or light sensitivity. And this particular one worked perfectly for me - no problems, no issues. But every person is different and sometimes one has to try several different kinds to find the one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MLLK | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/19/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Ortho-Novum for over 2 years and love it. Recently they gave me the generic, and I hate it! I'm so going back to brand. I have had no side effects and nice short periods.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nnnyckyyy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/3/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been on this birth control for about 2 years and its the best one ive been on so far i have had no problems it def regulates ur period im healthy no mood swings or out rageous sex drive reported from other people

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/21/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extreme mood changes and irrational crying. Slight depression and moderate to severe headaches/migraines. Very effective with regulating menstrual cycle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2009
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes me severe numbness, as well as nausisness an awful lot. I use for BC and had abnormal bleeding at 6 week post partum check up, but thats gone now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/14/2009
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this purely for my PCOS. I started this when I was also starting another drug (commonly used for Diabetes), Metformin. When I first start the cycle, I tend to get a little nauseous. Some random days, my night is so filled with nausea that I do throw up. It's a bit of a deterrent to taking it. I never got a period - and I was ok with that; still don't know why I need one - and when I first had one caused by the pill, it was MURDER. I remember not knowing what to do; the pads were uncomfortable - I don't use tampons, even now. I remember I had to silently suffer through a cramp that lasted for 5 minutes straight. But still, I'd tried others, and they made me moody, so I still stick with it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/13/2008
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
awest1984 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2007
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More