Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

I started this medication about 3 months ago and I am so glad I did. My periods went from almost a week and a half long to 2 days. I have gained no weight and have no breakthrough bleeding.I have been on many unsucessful birth control medications and this by far is #1 for me.....

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

LADIES DO NOT TAKE THIS BC ! ! ! PLEASE DO NOT PLEASE ! ! You will experience EVERY POSSIBLE NEGATIVE SIDE EFFECT :( It DRYS UP your entire body and your emotions. You vagina will hate you because you caused her to DRY UP :( The ONLY "positive" side effect is the CLEARING UP OF YOUR INFLAMED ACNE but ANY Consistent Dosage BC will do this (i think)

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/15/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this pill for 19 years and it changed my life. Before Zovia I would bleed for weeks at a time. My periods were irregularly spaced and I would sometimes get two in one month. My cramps were so severe I could barely get out of bed on days 2 and 3. Since starting Zovia, my periods are exactly 6 days long. I can time to the day and often to the hour when they will start. My flow is greatly reduced and my cramps are completely manageable. Zero negative side effects. I've very briefly tried other, more convenient/period-free methods and hated them all. I will continue using Zovia until I hit menopause or the drug is discontinued.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/17/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on Zovia 1/35 for 7 years and experience was great and that rating would have been a 10. However, the manufacturer used to be Watson (pink packet), but now it is manufactured by Mayne (blue packet), which I give a 3 rating. I only took the Zovia pills manufactured by Mayne for 5 days. I stopped taking because I started to get acne and each day I was getting more pimples. I am not acne prone and the previous Zovia pills by Watson did not break me out. Now I am on Kelnor, which supposed to be similar to Zovia (both are generic for Demulen) however now my periods last about 8 days and I get small bumps on my face that clear up for a few days then reappear in different locations. So Kelnor is rated a 6.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ansstamps_ | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/14/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far, this birth control has actually been pretty great. The side effects are easy to deal with, every birth control I've been on has made me lose 10-15 lbs which my OBGYN says is impressive, so that's normal. The only downfall is Zovia makes me feel things more like overthink things and get moody easily. But, I'll eventually get over it I think. Zovia has helped w acne, period, cramps, ovulation was always painful now it's not, plus I've lost weight now I'm 110 and my B cups haven't went to a C like everyone else's but they were a little sore they are ok now and still same size. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brittany | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/8/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My personal experience with Zovia was awful. I was taking the pill for about four months before I decided to come off of it. The first month I felt sick to my stomach, which is something I've felt with other birth control pills.. But it gave me horrible, horrible acne. My skin had always been clear prior to taking Zovia. Then month two, I started to get bad migraines and nausea often. This continued up until the last day I decided to get off the pill. My husband said I just wasn't acting the same and he noticed it when I started the Zovia. I was always complaining of either "feeling sick" or "tired". Not to mention, my sex drive was non-existent. I wish that were an exaggeration. Will not be taking this pill again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this pill. Then stoppedw for many years I tried 4 other pillar before I came back to this pill. I tell you best thing that ever happened to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Claire | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/14/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There are a lot of negative reviews for Zovia, and I completely understand that birth control pills are different for everybody! However, I wanted to show that not ALL interactions with Zovia are negative. This is the only birth control pill that I've tried that hasn't given me awful side effects. My skin is beautiful, weight gain is minimal (less than 5 lbs.), sex drive is normal, sexual function is normal, and mood swings are minimal. The only negative side effect that I have had is a 4 day headache every month during the placebo pills. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/12/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

LADIES DO NOT TAKE THIS BC ! ! ! PLEASE DO NOT PLEASE ! ! You will experience EVERY POSSIBLE NEGATIVE SIDE EFFECT :( It DRYS UP your entire body and your emotions. You vagina will hate you because you caused her to DRY UP :( The ONLY "positive" side effect is the CLEARING UP OF YOUR INFLAMED ACNE but ANY Consistent Dosage BC will do this (i think)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenn1996 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this for a month and the emotional side effects have been awful. I'm normally a very happy person and my friends used to tease me about how I would never get mad, but now it's like I'm a ticking time bomb of depression and anger. I have never in my life felt this kind of raging anger and never ending feeling of sadness. The smallest thing will send me into a breakdown, and my family, friends, boyfriend, and coworkers have all noticed these changes and have told me that I'm Not as happy as I used to be. I'm also on this because it's supposed to help with acne but as far as I can tell, there hasn't been any changes. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jbmcposse | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/10/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will not say that zovia is bad for everyone, but my experience on this has been extremely difficult. The worst part is that I've been taking it for a decade. A decade that I've blamed motherhood for my moodiness, lack of motivation, sudden escalation in emotions, lack of focus/so much focus I will leave everything else aside, overwhelm. I've seen a counselor to help me but still couldn't shake this feeling. My pharmacist only had Kelnor, another generic form of demulen, 5 months ago. I was leery to try it, afraid of weight gain, acne, etc. I was nauseous for a few days to adjust but about a week in I felt as if a weight had been lifted, a veil had been drawn back. I cannot express how incredible I felt. I was myself again for 3 glorious months! It wasn't motherhood, thank God! Then my pharmacist ran out of Kelnor. Back to zovia. I am on my second month of tired, overwhelming feelings of hopelessness, no motivation to exercise, moods. It took a month of use to really kick in. Ugh. I asked my Gyn to prescribe Kelnor only - DAW, Dispense As Written. I will finish this month but will NEVER take Zovia again. We do not get along.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | Patient
3/30/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I put a 3 for the effectiveness, because I havent been on it THAT long. But I can tell you this, my boobs have grown and are sore all the time... it hasnt made me too hungry, I have been watching what i eat tho.. as far as sex drive goes, I still have it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
melissa1123467 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/11/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Became depressed and overly emotional. Even went into the bathroom at work to cry over NOTHING. Horrible emotional side effects. I praying I can find a BC that works without the emotional side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blondiegirl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/8/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am normally a really happy and positive person. On the first month I could tell I was not as upbeat and became a bit more anti-social, that was easy to fix, and also went away. I had fine C cups, and now after using it for 2 months I have good D sized cups. I also had little to no acne before using Zovia, and after the 3rd week I started getting acne everywhere, not horrible. But I hate acne and it never went away once it started. The acne problem was the reason I stopped taking Zovia after about 2 months. I did gain a little weight- maybe about 3 lbs, but got rid of that after the first month when I was using Zovia. I do get occasional bloating and cramping, but nothing to worry about. oh and I have not gotten pregnant!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cgoglip | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/23/2013
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Zovia for about 5 months now. I was put on zovia because of regular ovarian cysts. I hate it. I have constant mood swings, always wanting to eat, and my sex drive is basically non existence. I have terrible headaches, and im always tired. I exercise very regularly but still have gained 12 pounds. Trying to switch!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angela Fox | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/25/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Its my first time taking this birth control pill and i have been on it for about 2 weeks already. The only side effects that i have gotten is nausea and being tired. I am currently on my period and i find it very weird to have gotten it early. i wonder if this is normal? So far no weight gain but i noticed that my appetite is increasing and my sex drive has increased as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
elletran | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/14/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

okay. so let me start out by saying this is my first time take bcps and I have only taken 2 pills so far. I took the first one at 11pm the day I got it, the next day an hour before I had to take my second one, my face started itching. I wasn't sure whether it's because I ate xxhot cheetos earlier (but it shouldnt be because ive eaten it before and my face has never itched the way it did). the next morning, i felt my face and it was rough. i took a shower, took a look at my face and it had small bumps on it and slight redness. now let me tell you, my skin is very clear and it has always been compared to other people. and after taking the bcps this happens to my face. so yeah, i'm not really happy and I'm going to stop taking it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Zovia for 4 months and i started getting cystic acne one after another. I havent felt like myself so I am switching BC.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/21/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used Zovia for 8 years now. My periods are very very light....a couple regular tampons to just pantyliners for 2-3 days. I get no strange mood swings on this medication, unlike the past BCpills I've tried. The only PMS symptoms I get are mild bloating and literally, 1 or 2 pimples. Overall, my problems skin has cleared a lot....though that might be because I'm in my 30's now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/15/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the first birth control pill I've taken. Although it's easy to use, I've decided to come off it after using for 7 months due to rapid mood swings and weight gain. The plus side to this pill was that my skin cleared up immensely.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ck | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/18/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I understand that everyone reacts differently to different pills, so please take my review with a grain of salt. I was placed on this pill because I was spotting randomly but not getting my period. It did not stop my spotting, but I did begin getting my period - albeit a very light one lasting 1-2 days - and did prevent pregnancy. I have chosen to come off of it after 6 months, however, because of frequent mood swings, decrease in sex drive, and bloating I experienced. Nothing has really changed in my life in the past 6 months other than switching to this pill, so I guessed the pill was one of the main causes of these symptoms. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jlate45 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/1/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only reason I gave a three for satisfaction is because Zovia was too strong for me and my body was sensitive to it. I noticed my breasts did get bigger and closer to my period they were hurt more than they did without Zovia. It made me so uncomfortable. It was very effective at preventing me from getting pregnant. I would have continued taking Zovia 1/35 but it was just too strong for me so i had to switch.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More