Show ratings & reviews for

2.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

31 People found this comment helpful

This medication takes away most of my pain away. I have tried many different kinds of opiates and this one is amazing. It doesn't make me dizzy at all and it works great for all.my pain

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Hard to swallow. Doesn't work. Horrible dizzy headaches within 30 minutes of taking.

Shared reviews and ratings

Mitch | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/29/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been a chronic pain patient for over 20 years. I had been on OxyContin ER 40mg twice a day. I was given Oxycodone for breakthrough pain. I was now switched to Xtampza ER 36mg which is supposed to be equal to the Oxy 40s. It’s a joke. They don’t really tell you how much HFHC food you need. I have found that sprinkling it on food is somewhat better. I usually have a cup of pudding and sprinkle it on that. But one takes forever to kick in and I don’t feel any relief. I realize I’ve grown quite tolerant to this. I’m only allowed 3 Oxycodone per day for breakthrough pain. Most times I need to take those three at once to get any relief. I tried doubling up on the Xtampza ER but still nothing. The pain I encounter in my legs and back is excruciating. I’m waiting to get a new MRI but in the mean time the doctors don’t want to increase the dosage. It’s been hell living with this pain. I’m lucky if I can sleep two hours straight per night. I just don’t know what else to do. I’ve been on Gabapentin and that did nothing for me. I’m also HIV+ so that adds to my discomfort. I feel like the CDC wants to just watch us all die from this pain. There must be something we can do to get the CDC to understand what we are going through. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2021
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It puts my stomach in knots 24 hours around the clock even when I eat with food which you're supposed to, it doesn't last 12 hours it lasts eight hours so you go through withdraws if you don't have breakthrough medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barbara | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/13/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I like xtampza because it lasts all day. I was reading some reviews and while it's true it takes awhile to kick in most people don't know that you have to eat something with it to get the full effect. Most pain meds work without food but Xtampza you HAVE to eat for it to work properly. Doctors should let their patients know this when they prescribe it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
McCarthy Mor | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/2/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very minimal pain relief. I feel that Xtampza brought on more pain, and I began to have pain in places where there was no pain previously, to wit, my right hip.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sydney | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/28/2021
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My only issue is how long it can take for the meds to work. Usually takes about 2 to 3 hours to kick in. Everyone's body is different but I have been experiencing abdominal pain for over a year that I was taking 30mg of morphine 3 times a day for. Now I take 1 of these pills 2 times a day. The pain relief is a lot better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gail | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/16/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My xtampza has not worked for me. I started at 7mg now on 13 mg. Still so much pain! I’m afraid to complain because I don’t want the little I DO have taken away because I need all the help I can get even if it only takes a fraction my pain away. I just don’t understand why it isn’t working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unhappy | Patient
8/5/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used OxyContin for 22 years. Due to a multitude of problems (4 spinal surgeries, including 3 fusions; remaining ruptured disks; osteoarthritis, to name a few), I had found Oxy to be the ONLY medication that helped with the pain. I had tried Fentanyl (made me want to rip my skin off) and even drip morphine, which did nothing to abate my pain. I agree that the purported 12 hour life of Oxy did not work for me, so I took the medication (80 mg) 3 times daily at 8 hour intervals. In December of last year, my insurance company told me that Oxy would NO longer be covered as of January 1st. If I wanted to use it, my cost would be $3,000/MONTH. Accordingly, my doctor switched me to XtampzaER, the purported non-addictive Oxy. My experience has been that XtampzaER has done little to abate my pain. I thank God for Gabapentin, which I am also taking for ‘chronic and acute neuropathy’ resulting from nerve damage in one leg. Were it NOT for Gabapentin, I would be unable to get out of bed. The greatest area of efficacy for XtampzaER is in constipation - literally a Pain in My Ass! Am working with a nationally-known pain doctor at a major US teaching hospital who has NEVER prescribed this medicine. Am know hoping to wean off this and try almost anything else as this stuff is overpriced junk!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Osiris | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/25/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Takes forever to kick in and then barely helps for 3-4 hours. Many side effects. Would not recommend for anyone if you have better plan. I was forced onto this non-“miracle” drug. Run don’t walk away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deb s | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/24/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication doesn't help with my pain at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael | 65-74 | Male | Patient
5/10/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my second post because I want to share with those who have had to live with chronic pain in hopes of adding some useful information. Oxycontin hardly reaches the pharmacological endpoints to be called a twice a day medication with a half life of barely 6 hours. Xtampza is around 10 or so. So, if you can get it to work, it might be the best because it will work twice a day. But, if you doubt my previous post on HCHF (high calorie high fat) and sprinkling versus tablet ingestion, you can go to the internet and actually review the application and the comments by the FDA and the company and see the studies. Why this has been disclosed to the public as 'take with food' is just a gross mistake. This is why some people admit to chocolate being a good 'enhancer'. I have been developing and reviewing data like this for years on many compounds including opioids, and I truly think this is a gross oversight. All they have to do is explain how many grams they used in the clinical studies with patients on HCHF versus Fasting versus MCMF versus LCLF. But they haven't. So, if you are in pain and your doctor has prescribed this, please think about it. It might help. I know it did for me and took me over a year to figure it out.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/10/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been a severely compromised patient for well over 4 years with chronic low back pain. My goal is to find a treatment to not just treat the symptoms but eliminate the source. However, in doing so, I've seen 6 specialists and recently underwent a radio frequency ablation which I believe is helping tremendously. But, in the meantime, I have had to use pain medications and believe me, it's been over two years since I have been able to sleep more than 2-3 hours straight. However, after trying various regimens, I was put on an Xtampza regimen with breakthrough rescue of oxycodone. And, by the well, I've been developing drugs for over 40 years including understanding pharmacokinetics and pharmacodymanics. Xtampza, and I reviewed their application to the FDA several times, is a good 'book end' medication, but it has a fatal flaw that physicians and others forget to tell you about. The reason many find it doesn't work is because it must be taken with a HCHF (High Calorie High Fat) diet/food. If you compare the blood levels with LCLF or MCMF (low calorie low fat, medium calorie medium fat) or a fasting state, it won't get the job done. Also, if you sprinkle it on food with a HCHF diet, you will find the onset about 1-2 hours faster, but the peak effect is lower, while it still lasts about 8-10 hours. If you ingest it as a whole capsule, it will take 2-3 hours to start to work. I've been taking it now for almost 2 years and can tell you the FDA and the company have done A POOR job of communicating how to take it. They don't communicate how many grams of fat should be taken with it, and if you're like me, I am also trying to lose a substantial amount of weight. Getting up in the morning and taking Xtampza with a HCHF breakfast is very inconvenient, unless you ingest about 5--6 pieces of bacon every morning. Folks, the bottom line is, it might work if you pay attention. My guess is you probably need about 30 grams of fat to guarantee you get absorption and efficacy. That's about 270 calories. Unfortunately, no one has told us this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Oxycotin for 17 years due to severe neuropathy. My insurance company said they would no longer cover Oxycotin (with no explanation---presume it was cost, close to$ 2000 per month). I compared the cost of Xtampza to the Oxycotin and Xtampza was even a higher cost per month. The first month it cost me $47.00 the second month it cost $330 and the 3rd.month it cost $447. I called the insurance company twice on the price difference with a very lame excuse about reaching different points. I have to spend over $6050 to reach the doughnut hole. As far as does the Xtampza work----very little help. The Oxycotin that I had used was far superior and it helped for 17 years. I thought the Dr. is the one who knows what helps not the insurance company. Yet they are the ones making the determination for the patient. If I have to go without using insurance the cost of is over $2000 , far too much. So I am at the mercy of the insurance company for cost and for pain. Certainly I am not a street addict who has ruined it for the people with long lasting severe pain. I wish the people responsible for taking away a drug that works and replacing it with a much less effective painkiller had to experience the pain the patients like me have to go through each day. I would love to know how to fix this horrible problem. Any suggestions ??? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does not help my pain, gives me a red rash itching all the time, can anyone share a better extended release medication that works thanks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mozandy | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Inconsistent absorption creates a situation where you have to take twice the dose as oxycontin to get any pain relief and even then the pain breaks through. So rather than a consistent relief from pain that last for 12 hours or more, XTampza seems to vary in pain relief ability and not last as long. Sometimes too strong and sometimes not strong enough in the same 12 hour period. Itâ??s horrible!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandboss | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/6/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have 8 rods

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
benji | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/17/2021
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Oxycontin has worked for 15 years to control pain, same dose for years. Switched due to insurance not covering and hard to get the oxy. Xtampza switch caused withdrawel symptoms, itching, sweats, restlessness, and does not work to dull the pain. not happy but what can you do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/2/2021
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Xtampza 13.5 mg for a couple of months now for serve chest pain. Someday the medicine works quite well and other days it feels like there is no relief at all. Seems like that when taken with a fatty breakfast it works better that a normal healthy meal. Have recently switched from the morphine er (made me nauseas) to xtampza with no nausea side effect. Not sure if I am happy with the switch

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TTFusion | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/16/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just switched to Xtampza and I hate it , oxycontin is 100,000 times more effective for chronic pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2021
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It takes an hour and a half to kick in. For me it lasts only 6 to 7 hours

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bravegirl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/29/2020
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading these reviews I'm afraid to even go pick this medication up from the pharmacy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More