Show ratings & reviews for

2.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

I find Xiidra very effective. My vision is briefly blurred for about 15 minutes after use, but I just plan accordingly. The biggest problem I have with Xiidra is that the delivery mechanism is difficult to use. The drops are difficult to get out, and if you shake the vial between drops, a drop comes out and is wasted. I used to use Restasis. While Xiidra is more effective for me, the Restasis vial...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I didn't have any of the initial common side effects of burning or a bad taste in my mouth. I did have blurred vision for 15-20 minutes after using the drops. However, after 2 weeks, my vision blurred and STAYED blurred for two days. I immediately stopped using Xiidra. Two optomitrists, an MD and an Opthamologist could not find a cause. Slowly (days) my vision returned to normal. I do believe my s...

Shared reviews and ratings

Dana | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my experience. It raised my blood pressure alot. I almost went emergency room. I quit it immediately and its going down. It is an anti inflammatory and that can raise blood pressure. If you use it for what it’s intended it may be ok . I also got 9 out of 10 side affects. Its hard to use and co pay was alot. Raising blood pressure the worst tho.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julcat | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/24/2022
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially, the Xiidra started helping shortly after beginning the medicine. However, several months in, my eyes are frequently burning throughout the day and itching. Overall, I prefer Restasis. I had no trouble with that particular medication burning my eyes. The only reason I switched was that my insurance did not want to cover Restasis and wanted me to try something less expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dana | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Getting drops in eye is a nightmare and then the burning and itching is bad. Then I started getting this horrible white discharge . To add insult injury my copay was $95. Have only used 1 1/2 wks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JET | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/14/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side affects include burning and irritation of eyes after application, even if you refrigerate it. It drips down your throat, causing irritation and a bad taste in the mouth. Also very expensive, savings card provides little savings after the first 30 days. Would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vidal Knight | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/9/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have chronic dry eyes . Restasis made pain in my eyes and tried serum made my blood and every over the counter thing I could find . My eyes were so dry they were painful. I was certainly willing to try Xiidra . For the first ten days it burned and itched so bad but I was determined to try for two weeks . These side effects soon vanished. Yes it still makes eyes at little blurry for about 15 minutes and leaves a disgusting gel like substance on your lashes which I clean off with warm water and soft cloth. I no longer need OTC drops and my dry eyes are so much better . What a relief . I am on my second 30 day subscription now . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Randy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2022
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Xiidra for 2 weeks. I had every side effect that they show on TV. My eyes couldn’t take the burning. Would not recommend this product to anyone!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vanity6 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made my symptoms go from mild, familiar, and manageable to severe, unfamiliar, and unmanageable. The only thing that saved me from the Xiidra-induced damage was Eysuvis which helped calm my poor eyes. I've read the articles and I think Lifitegrast (Xiidra) is an interesting science experiment, no much else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JD | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have extreme dry eyes, this actually made it worse. Horrible burning for 30 minutes after applying and remained sore for the rest of the day. Tried for 7 days, discontinued use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/23/2022
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried my best to use it even though I suffered from severe dryness and blurred vision much worse than before. I stopped using it completely.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
5/22/2022
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Burning and itching! This medication caused my eyelashes to break off and fall out and the haven't grown back. I developed facial/and head cysts and facial ticks. My body hurt all over, especially my back, neck and head. I had heart palpation daily. It never occurred to me that it was all coming from the drops Xiidra. I went to the doctor and he told me that I was experiencing symptoms of anaflactic shock and to stop using the drops immediately. The cysts went away, and I feel better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rusty'sLove | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never in my 72 years have I tried a new medication and experienced virtually every bad side effect worse than stated. Immediately on instilling drops there was extreme itchiness that made me want to rip my eyes out. Then the blurry vision that was not transitory, but could last several hours at a time. Stinging, burning, irritation, sour mouth taste from it dripping down my throat. Then the extra discharge like gelatin. After one month it hasn't gotten better. I seriously have to find a different medication that can prevent my allergic conjunctivitis.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Xiidra actually made my eyes drier than before I began using it,... to the point that my eyes felt very tacky and sticky, had to stop using it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angry patient | 19-24 | Other | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
5/12/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible side effects that still linger. Vision has been worse since 4 weeks on it. Had to stop it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay Wenger | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/30/2022
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only way to get four drops out of the plastic container is to use a needle and syringe and draw out all of the liquid, including the drop left in the twist-off top, and then remove the needle and use the syringe to put the drops into each eye. That requires a second person to accomplish effectively. Hardly user friendly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LH | 35-44 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/14/2022
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First plan on dropping this in around a meal time. It does help if you put the drop in and then eat after. It prevents the after taste issue. These drops like many drops out there burn like crazy and will likely cause some temporary blurred vision. Blink frequently after a few minutes of putting the meds in and you'll decrease how long you are blurry for. At first I blurred for 15+ minutes but now it's about 5. I have Sjogrens and this drops worked far better than Restasis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meh | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2022
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Something important to consider is that Xiidra was developed to treat dry eye in Sjogren's patients whose immune systems are impeding their tear production (usually comorbid with dry mouth). The active ingredient blocks the overactive immune response that causes the inflammation that reduces tear production. If this is not the reason for your dry eyes, these drops WILL NOT work, which is what I assume is the reason for all of the negative reviews. If you have Sjogren's, the drops are more likely to work but not necessarily guaranteed. Sjogren's can present as dry eyes and mouth up to ten years before other symptoms appear, which is why so many opthamologists try it as a first-line treatment for dry eye, which can have many other causes. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ginny | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/26/2022
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did no good at all for my dry eye condition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sonny | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/11/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

One worthless expensive product. I dropped my doctor for prescribing this worthless expensive medicine which does not work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindy G. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/9/2022
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Got headaches every day. After a few days the taste got stronger in my throat. Got horrible acid reflux. And a swollen throat. Had to stop using it, due the fact I can't afford to get acid reflux . Had emergency surgery on my throat a year ago, the horrible acid reflux would have caused me a lot of problems

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CJ Augustine | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/5/2022
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dispenser is poorly made. Drop does not readily dispense without shaking and squeezing really hard. May just go back on Restasis Xidra will lose many customers due to defective dispenser Restasis dispenser is 100% easier to use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More