Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

31 People found this comment helpful

after going to the gym three times a week for over 12 months and not shifting a single pound and having the usual blood tests for diebetes etc my doctor prescribed orlistat, after 3 weeks of being on orlistat i have lost weight (6 lbs) which is amazing. If you think yeh i can eat what i want and loose weight your wrong this drug makes you think about what your eating and i think overall it teache...

Most voted negative review

13 People found this comment helpful

THIS MEDICATION DOES NOT PRODUCE RESULTS

Shared reviews and ratings

Pam | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/6/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used with a healthy low fat diet and visits to the gym I have lost 9lbs in 5 weeks. Apart from head and stomach ache when starting on it I had few side affects. I found if I slipped up and overdid the fat consumption I got flatulence and stomach ache for a couple of days which was a great incentive not to do it. I am trying to lose 4 stone. So far so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MIKE L. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/18/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am grateful that I lost between 10 and 15 pounds in several months, but the side effects are very uncomfortable. I am still undecided whether it is worth it, whether I should continue and try to tolerate the side effects. If I continue to lose weight perhaps I will continue, grin and bear it. Perhaps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CharTex | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great as a supplement to healthy eating and exercise. This isn't a wonder drug, you still have to put the effort in to lose the weight. Calorie counting and minimizing fat intake will show good results over time. I've been losing 3+ lbs a week with help from Orlistat. The first few weeks will have you sat on the toilet with runny stools for several hours a day, but it gets better over time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Javiria | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
9/27/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this medicine for 20 days and lost 5 to 6 kg weight but its effect my immune system and i feel very weak due to weakness covid attacked me then i severely ill with covid then covid loss my weight around 4 kg now i am 75 kg from 84??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lenny | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/20/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is really helping me with the food choices I make ..ive realised that I don't need to binge on unhealthy food to feel good . I have had no side effects as of yet . I havnt weighed myself but my clothes are so much looser and I feel clean inside and seem to have more energy .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am almost two weeks in with taking orlistat my doctor recommended it. I had bariatric gastic sleeve surgery 2 years ago and after the weight loss I started to gain weight again after my weight got steady. I went from 281 to 180 to back up to 211 pounds and I was so worried that I was going to be back at my original weight. Diabetes has always been my weight factor and low iron. I have an awesome diet that I am used to for years now, and it was so close to the nutritionist I got excited about that. So I started orlistat with my current high protein low carb diet with exercise I am at day 10 and I have lost 15 pounds weighed myself this morning I am 196. I am so happy to be back under 200 my goal is 155 for I am only 5'1 lol. Well I hope this review helps just know that you have to do the work it's not a magic pill. The magic is you applying yourself to meet your health goals. I will post an update after 6 months... I have hope that this can be my weight management pill after I get to my goal. Yawl pray for me and I'll do the same for you all! Thanks!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeffrey, RN, Ph | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
6/4/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a nurse and an educator too. I used the first commercial orlistat way back year 2004-2005, very effective then, and it still is now. I know that there are only 3 important concepts to gain/lose weight --- your input/intake/what you eat & drink, output physical activities, and your metabolism for your body's daily survival. This drug inhibits the enzyme that breakdown fats, therefore, fats will not be absorbed. Clinically, it is stated, orlistat may inhibit only 30 percent of the taken fats (not to be absorbed). It is a genuine EB (evidence-based) experience as you may see copious amounts of "the less dense oils" in your feces colored with your stercobilin (bilirubin derivatives & bile salts). You should not be grossed with it because in the first place you know the physiology of human feces/stool formation and what would happen if there would be undigested fats in it. Your feces denotes your internal organs' health as well. Happy weight loss everyone! One of the most revolutionary pharmacological oral invention of the century!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elizabeth | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don’t take if you’re not prepared to change your lifestyle, I started this a couple days ago and no side effects. Today I noticed what everyone was on about with the orange oily farts, I didn’t take it too far with my food but realised the fat percentage of my meals were higher than I realised and I now can see where I am going wrong in my diet and I’m excited what I can change for the future and whilst I carry on taking it it’s been 3 days and I’ve lost 1KG already, I’m eating far less and I’ve stopped snacking in between Meals, not because it’s suppressed my appetite but because I know I don’t need it. It’s a really Good eye opener if you’re unsure where you’re going wrong in your diet.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this for over a month at 120 mg x 3 a day. To be honest first two weeks daredn't go anywhere as effectively incontinent with chronic diarrhoea and that was with a low fat diet. By week 3 my body had started to adjust lost about 3 Kg in that time. So its definitely not a quick fix and its actually if your working quite restrictive on day to day activities if you don't have ready access to a toilet despite being on a low fat diet. That's something I don't think doctors realise when prescribing. On balance I think its got some value but the side effects are significant as I suffered from sore gums which were really painful as I wear dentures and anxiety and it doesn't help on that score. As trying to find a toilet when doing an hour long commute to work is not helpful.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2cool4skl | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/14/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my 3rd time giving these tablets ago and in 3 days I've dropped 6lbs My diet still isn't the best but I'm trying and the fear of eating certain things is there to help Fingers crossed I can this keep up this because I want this to work

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jack | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/1/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I lost 10 stone in a year with these but yeah I agree they can make you run to toilet but if you eat healthy with very little fat intake they don't effect you that much I broke my back last year and put weight back on now starting these pills again and can't wait to see the results again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
*** | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/13/2021
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking this medicine I almost had severe hair fall... headache and wasted almost a dozen of my panties with orange oil stains... I have stopped taking this tablet.... now I’m treating my fall hair....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Honest | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2021
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only been taking for a few days and I've already had 2 bright orange accidents, luckily I was at home. I would highly recommend trying not to break wind.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Techmann | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/30/2021
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I want users to know that after just one pill,I was rushed into hospital,cold,with a numb hand and arm.I spent 3 nights in hospital on IV drip.I very much doubt I will continue,after taking 3 weeks to feel ok again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Xxx | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/25/2021
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Will help you loose weight but be warned you shouldn’t be far from a toilet for the duration of your treatment. Sudden need to go to the bathroom with no control. Suffered 2 accidents without warning. Sweats and headaches so be sure to take a multi vitamin also as they will leave you feeling drained after 12 toilet visits in a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rnurse88 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/7/2021
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this than a month ago and I'm dow 12lbs. Going into week 4 and determined to lose that extra for my 1stone award at slimming world

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Orlis | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/6/2019
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this medication more than three months but I have just lost only 02 ponds. Kindly tell me the side effects of this tablet and whr did my weight not loss

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CrossFitGirl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2019
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am not heavily overweight, I am 5'4" and 167 pounds, but I am overweight enough to where it makes me uncomfortable. I exercise, I eat healthy but I have never been able to lose the extra weight i have. I tried Lean Bean, which made me gain 10 pounds, and I tried Hydroxycut which also made me gain weight. I have been on this for one week, and yes the loose bathroom habits are annoying and uncomfortable, but they are manageable after the first few days, and make sure to decrease the fat in your diet or the symptoms will come on suddenly. Its totally grossRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/14/2019
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had success with weight loss on prescription orlistat but I suffered with embarrassing side effects. I was shopping when I had my first reaction to the drug. I bent over to pick an item from the bottom shelf when I raised back up I realized I had lost control of my bowels. It turned out to be the first of many accidents. So my advice would be to find alternative weight loss treatments unless you don't mind buying diapers.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2017
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this drug for 2 weeks everything was going ok untill sat 5th aug when i needed to go next thing i am was still on the loo 6 hours later. My stools colour was orange

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More