Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

1 People found this comment helpful

Been on Larissia for 4 years— works as intended and I’ve never had any issues. Different meds work for different people, but my experience has been good.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

This pill is the worst! I’ve been on Orsythia for 6 years and was told that the manufacturer no longer makes this brand as of Oct. 2021. After calling around to different pharmacies to verify this information, I was switched to Larissa (being advised that this was the same thing as Orsythia- just the off brand label- NOT TRUE!). I took this pill for 4 months, I had break through bleeding during m...

Shared reviews and ratings

Kk |
8/7/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Larissia for 2 years before I realized the issues I was having was linked to this pill. I started getting severe anxiety, and panic attacks which I never had either prior to taking it. I also was nauseas to the point my doctor gave me an anti nausea pill. I never had an appitite and that combined with anxiety I went to therapy and was convinced I developed an eating disorder. The doctor not the therapist thought it was from birth control which I didn’t either at the time. I decided to get online and do some reasearch and after that stopped Larissia immediately. I have now been off it for 2 weeks and I feel a million times better. I have more energy, im calm I have a normal appitite and am SO much happier. I never had an eating disorder OR generalized anxiety. THIS pill caused that!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nat | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/13/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken larissia for over 2 years. It has never given me issues. I was terrified of weight gain because losing weight can be very difficult for me but when I started my health journey I was able to lose weight and keep it off. Like all bc at first there was an adjustment period which was nothing significant. Always remember to take a bc for at least 4 months! It gives your body time to adjust and don’t be afraid to tell your dr if it’s not working out!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/22/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although I have only been taking Larissia for about 7 months and it being my only birth control ever, I have been satisfied with my results. I have had no negative symptoms besides the occasional being hormonal and moody. After starting taking Larissia my periods lightened but then started flowing more normally. It appears to have helped with clearing up my acne and preventing against pregnancy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/2/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on my period for a month straight, it seemed to make my periods more painful and heavier. I had to change pads every 15-30 minutes. I’m gonna talk to my obgyn about changing my medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2001 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/20/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m really small and was taking a high dosage of birth control (Alyacen, not sure how to spell it). I was on that one for over 5 years and started to not get my period resulting in me spending a ton of money of pregnancy tests. I was told that the dosage was too high for my BMI so I was switched to Larissia. When I stopped taking this birth control, I felt like I could breath again. I used to WANT my period because I wanted a normal cycle (and to know if I was pregnant minus the fortune I’ve spent on tests). This birth control has made me dread my period to the point where I have to force this awful pill down my throat. I had periods for up to 3 weeks starting on just the 2nd week of the pill pack. On top of long and heavy periods, I was nauseous all the time. I mean seriously, I haven't taken pepto since I was a kid and needed to take pepto, it was so bad. It felt like my periods before birth control on steroids. I could barely eat. On top of feeling sick and long periods, I had no sex drive. Save yourself the time from sitting and waiting in front of the toilet, rewashing your underwear because of the heaviness, and fighting with your significant other because they are worried you’re not interested in them, AND AVOID LARISSIA. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/27/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unfortunately my insurance changed my birth control to larissa. Didn't understand how my insurance carrier could do that without my doctors approval. They suggested the head pharmacist of my pharmacy to replace my normal one with a cheaper generic one. Within 4 months of me using this I had gotten a knee injury and was not walking really good for about 4 days. After that I returned to work as a busy hairstylist but noticed swelling but just contributed it to my standing and on my feet with a knee injury. Within 1 month I had a severe DVT clot that was traveling to my heart. Luckily my family had gathered together and insisted that I go to doctors the next day, which I did. Went back to my orthopedic doctor and they sent me to hospital right away for an ultrasound and found a few clots but one really big one was in my groin area ready to travel to my heart. I have never had any clotting and no my family history also. I did some major reading on that small fine printed booklet that's inside box of Larissia discovering that: • this pill had a higher risk to DVT clotting then any other birth control pill I researched or used. •to also discontinue use if injury to legs, knees or feet disabling walking. •Any surgery, sedentary job, long flight, long car travel should NOT USE OR DISCONTINUE THIS PRODUCT. This describes most of us women in the U.S. This is a birth control product. We don't just stop or change this type in between all the risk possibilities ... you literally just can't take this product period!! Take off market!! This is my personal review and will never recommend this product to anyone. Luckily I'm alive Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeep girl | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/3/2022
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill is the worst! I’ve been on Orsythia for 6 years and was told that the manufacturer no longer makes this brand as of Oct. 2021. After calling around to different pharmacies to verify this information, I was switched to Larissa (being advised that this was the same thing as Orsythia- just the off brand label- NOT TRUE!). I took this pill for 4 months, I had break through bleeding during month 1, my pms was horrible and bleeding was heavy. I’ve gained 15 lbs. from October-February, I had no energy due to falling into a depression. I thought I was just tired (being fatigue all the time) but only wanted to sleep & eat. I had difficulty walking up in the mornings and slept my evenings & weekends away. I was constantly hungry & focused on eating throughout the day (when awake) due to never feeling full. I had no motivation to do anything that I once loved or enjoyed and let everything go. When on the active pills, I wasn’t moody but slept so much, I didn’t have a chance to be moody. I had no idea this pill had caused all of this until the pharmacy switched me to Vienva. My first day of taking Vienva- my hunger went away & I had this surge of energy like I haven’t seen in over 4 months. I’ve automatically connected the dots and realized that the weight gain, depression, fatigue, and overall yucky feeling was from Larissa! I’m hoping to drop the 15 lbs that I’ve put on from Larissa and gain my life back! I know all people are different & the pill affects everyone differently. Larissa did not agree with me & ruined my life for about 4 months (that I’ve been on it).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jasmine | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fatigue multiple times a day. Stomach burn also, especially around the time I take it. Headaches almost everyday. Had a few migraines here and there. Would rather deal with a headache instead. Also seems to be affecting my nerve pain and back injuries. Extra flare is what I call it. I however have no had acne but the medicine makes me sick in general.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1234 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/24/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Larissia for 4 years— works as intended and I’ve never had any issues. Different meds work for different people, but my experience has been good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ginagirl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/4/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works as intended. I have no had any bad side effects and have had light cramping during periods. At first I experienced a bit of vaginal dryness but after about 3-4 months this went away. My acne has cleared out and i only get small pimples every now and then. Noticed a little bit of weight gain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elle2470 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/15/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is by far the WORST birth control I’ve ever been on. My doctor switched me to this Pill because it has lower hormones....What a mistake! I’ve been on it for a month and have had Stabbing headaches, major stomach cramps, acne on my face, chest and back! (I have never have had acne before!!!); major bloating, increased appetite and weight gain. I finished the pack of pills today and will be switching back to Junel as it gave me no side effects. Don’t take Larissia!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
larissiaisloser | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/25/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got painful, swollen, cystic acne on multiple parts of my face when I used Larissia. I also got canker sores on my gums/roof of my mouth. My face was very uncomfortable for the two months when I was trying Larissia. I will never take it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although this birth control is effective and has not caused weight gain/facial acne, i have been getting breakouts and bumps on the anterior parts of my body. I'm getting small to medium sized bumps (breakouts, but feel like a minor bug bite) that are painful and wouldn't want anyone to experience. Overall for individuals who are looking for certain birth controls, do your research

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Previously taking lo loestrin i changed to larissia because the generic brands are free with my insurance. Only side effect was vaginal dryness. This caused extremely painful sex and has not been relieved since i started this medication. Deciding to change back to lo loestrin with which i had no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
7/13/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I have begun taking this BC, I have seen changes in my body. I am experiencing lighter cycles and limited cramping. While I have gained a few lbs, I am not sure if its from the pill or summer binge eating/drinking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kal | 13-18 | Female | Patient
2/8/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only just started taking it. I have had severe nausea since I started 5 days ago. I hope it will subside. I can't find any other reviews for it so I thought I would share my experience. I am mostly taking it to help my painful periods and make them more regular.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More