Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

I am an insulin dependent diabetic they call me brittle. I started using Avandia two years ago and it was so good I didn't have to use insulin any more the pill did it all. Then after two years it stopped working cold turkey. I am now back to insulin only. No other oral medication works. I would like to know why Avandia all of a sudden stopped working. No one has an answer.?

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I am concerned about weakness in the joints and being tired. Vision seems to have become a little less clear. Not sure if medication is the cause. In the process of finding out.

Shared reviews and ratings

David | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/19/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After experiencing Congestive Heart Failure in 2003, my doctors prescribed Avandia to treat my Diabetes II disease. While being observed by a cardiologist and a diabetes specialist, I took Avandia oral for 2 years until the FDA warned against its use. I never experienced any side effects and my blood sugar was effectively controlled with Metformin and Glyburide without insulin to an A1C of 6.8.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
towdog | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/2/2012
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

developed heart problems have had stents installed,pacemaker, heart attacks, stuff has shortened my life span don't ever take this drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/14/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/11/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jim | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/16/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

new to this drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/26/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it has kept my glucose levels normal for 5 years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mmk456 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
3/19/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You people need to realize diabetes is a LIFESTYLE disease, caused by your actions- not by a deficiency of Avandia, or any other drug. The very food that you eat is either going to heal or harm you. No drug is ever going to fix that. If you believe you can eat whatever you want and take a drug to fix it, not only are you LAZY, DELIRIOUS, and sadly mistaken, but you are slowly killing yourself and taking away from your loved ones.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ozz | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/15/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after taking avandia for approx. 5 months, I developed cirrossis of the liver and am now awaiting for a liver transplant. while taking avandia I gained 50 to 60 pounds and developed excess body fluid all over my body. I have joined a lawsuit against glaxo smith kline.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dcnjim | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/14/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just stopped Avandia and switched,by Dr. to ACTOS. Blood sugar numbers were erratic without any reason, though overall dropped a bit. Problems with possible potassium retention causing multiple leg cramps, sometimes several times/day. Very concerned about FDA reports even though Dr. dismissed them as "rumor" and "bad research."

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
quinton | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/24/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/1/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nancyszy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/12/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On Avandia til reports came out-took myself off & dropped 10lbs & felt better but A1C went up to 7.6. Dr made me go back on in May & I've gained 10 lbs. & feel tired & ache a lot. Waiting to see Dr in Sept-I want off of this!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dale | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/26/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had no troubles with this med. I have taken this for 4 years and work well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CAROL1 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/19/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THIS DRUG HAS CAUSE ME TO HAVE HEART PROBLEM THAT I DID NOT HAVE BEFORE I STARTED TAKING THIS DRUG

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wade | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/19/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking for ~8 years. I did have some weight gain because, like most, I thought since I was taking this I could eat like I always did. That was a mistake in 4 years I put on 30 pounds. I read/heard all the issues with Avandia and took note. I have had my heart checked for problems and none so far. I went on a low carb diet and lost the 30 pounds I had gained. I fell into the trap of "just take a pill" and go on about your business as usual. You can not do that. I read on this site where people gain 100+ pounds and then have a heart attack.. well DUH...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beneficial Dude | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

was on this years ago, doc took me off due to dangers of drug. new doc put me on it. have gained 10 lbs in a month, extreme fatigue, achy joints, swelling everywhere. has not brought levels down and I feel overall crappy! warnings on TV have made me decide to stop this drug. I have high BP and Tachycardia. don't think this is a good med for me with those conditions. I will look for an alternate med. Actos made me very tired as well, will talk with my MD on an alternate med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deise | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/15/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication for 10 months by which time I had gained about 15 kgs, was out of breath and had swollen legs and hands. I could only walk a few steps before being out of breath. It brought the blood sugar down but the side effects were intolerable. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sabrina | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/14/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On it for 6 years. Edema in ankles: but, worked very well for most of the years. At age 54 I see others that made comments are over 50. My weight gain;over eating! Now have had more heart palpations and BP went dangerously high. Family genetics....Heart trouble. Will miss 1 thing, I was not allergic to it like the others.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/13/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Female | Caregiver
6/24/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has assisted my husband into heart failure

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More