Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

2 People found this comment helpful

Mod-severe RA. Tried MTX, Plaquenil (no effect), moved to Lefunomide (some to medium effect) then combined with Olimiant which has reduced all symptoms to negligible. Have now ceased lefunomide completely and solely on Olumiant. Still some very minor flare ups/ associated aches but otherwise RA is diminished. Side effects for me are some loss of stamina when exercising and muscle stiffness (unsur...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Have only been on Olumiant for a couple weeks. So far the problem has been bouts of nausea and some vomiting. I haven’t eaten anything substantial since Christmas Eve and it’s now December 28, 2018. So currently all that comes up is water. I was on Humira so willbe interesting to see if there is a difference in pain levels. I am also on Methotrexate.Good luck to all

Shared reviews and ratings

Christine | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was able to recover from very severe RA symptoms along with heavy bone destruction. Recovery took few months but was stable .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caz | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/9/2021
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication did not work on my RA at all. I now need a cervical spine fusion. Be careful of the doctors forcing you to take this medication! My rheumatologist received it for free, made me pay 1500, he refused to change it when I complained of extreme cervical pain. Irreversible damage in multiple locations. Be aware!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
C.S. | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/24/2021
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this medication lead to cervical instability, the growth of pannus against my spinal cord and additional damage in all affected joints. 4mg/day over a seven month period means I need surgery in multiple joints. It wasn’t helped by the fact that the treating physician refused to change the therapy as he got the medication for free and was charging it back to me. Be aware.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2021
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Whenever I would get a very small scratch or poke on my skin it would turn into a hole about the size of a dime. Very sore and I'm still trying to get them healed up. They take months and hurt so bad you can barely touch them. I've been on antibiotics and stopped olumiant. So far I still have the sores after a couple of months. I want my life back. Hopefully I can get on a different med but I have to wait until the infection goes away

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patricia | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/9/2020
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hello everyone, I'm 43 and had RA since I was 29. Been on all the meds you can relate to RA.Still on Plaquenil and Sulfasalazine. Started Olumiant 4mg 3 weeks ago,after 1 week started vomiting and got constipated. In week 3 I started getting severe upper abdominal pain and ended up in ED with severe Pancreatitis. WILL NEVER TAKE IT AGAIN. Take care everyone, hope it helps someone.If you gets upper abdominal pain to go straight to ED.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ian | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/17/2020
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mod-severe RA. Tried MTX, Plaquenil (no effect), moved to Lefunomide (some to medium effect) then combined with Olimiant which has reduced all symptoms to negligible. Have now ceased lefunomide completely and solely on Olumiant. Still some very minor flare ups/ associated aches but otherwise RA is diminished. Side effects for me are some loss of stamina when exercising and muscle stiffness (unsure of from RA or drug but more noticeable since taking Olumiant) and possible folliculits on back and buttocks. No nauseaRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ivyskm2000 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2019
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi I am 38 years old was diagnosed a little over a year ago with RA, its gotten worse and worse and worse. I used to do yoga two almost everyday, I stopped to remodel my home and when I did after months of no yoga I suddenly started having all the symptoms. I am pretty sure I had RA (Moderate to Severe) while I was doing yoga, but was unaware, because my symptoms were being kept at bay unintentionally by the yoga. Since then I have gain over 40 pounds, sleep almost all day, am in pain all the time. So needed to try meds to kick start myself. I was on Plaquinil, then Methotrexate, then Humira, all failures. So far this drug is doing something, and NOT cause all of the horrendous side effects of the others, got Drug induced lupus from Humira, and violently ill with Metho and Plaquinil did nothing. This stuff is making me sleep literally ALL DAY, BUT no side effects other than that, thinking of taking it at night with my other meds. Also I am taking spironolactone 25mg for edema. Fingers crossed. Hope that helps others. There is literally NO information about this drug out there. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NM Woman | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2019
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used it for 11 days and ended up with nausea, a raging UTI, Sinus infection and my bowels were upset such that I also ended up with hemorrhoids. So I went off to take antibiotics to clear it all up and I am NOT going back on it. I was previously on Xeljanz XR and I'll go back on that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ali | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have only been on Olumiant for a couple weeks. So far the problem has been bouts of nausea and some vomiting. I haven’t eaten anything substantial since Christmas Eve and it’s now December 28, 2018. So currently all that comes up is water. I was on Humira so willbe interesting to see if there is a difference in pain levels. I am also on Methotrexate.Good luck to all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More