Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

After vacomycin IV and extremely resistant MRSA staph bacterial infection, completed rifampin oral 300 mg twice a day for 28 days. Am now free of MRSA staph.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Here again i was prescibed this drug without any of my drs having first checked that it would be in conflict with the methadone that i take for relief of cronic pain.it has only been four days that i have been taking the 600 mg tablet,however the side affects are the worse i have ever encuntered.so much so,that i had to be taken to the emergency room during the night to seek relief of the extreme ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | Patient
3/26/2021
Condition: Inactive Tuberculosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using this drug abt 1 month I had everyday headache, is this okay?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dfs | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2021
Condition: Inactive Tuberculosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So much joint pain, I can’t stand the pain in my legs and it has been only 2 weeks, I have an appointment with my dr tomorrow to see if he changes the medicine, it hurts so bad

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Just Trying to Help | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/15/2020
Condition: Inactive Tuberculosis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this drug after being diagnosed with inactive/latent TB. I’ve been taking it for 2 months now and luckily have not suffered any significant side effects. I do however feel that my energy levels are significantly lower, and i lack motivation to get out of bed everyday. I take an extra cup of coffee every morning just to wake myself up. I’ve also seen changes in my bowel movements within the past week. Getting a lot of watery stool and diarrhoea. Will be glad to have finished this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jessabell | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2019
Condition: Inactive Tuberculosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with inactive TB through some lab work prior to starting a new prescription for my psoriasis. The infection disease doc recommended Rifampin because it was the shortest treatment time (4 months). I started with it once a day for a week, and took it right before bed. Outside of some restlessness, I felt okay. The second week I started the full dose, taking my pill in the morning and at night, at the same time each day. That's when I started getting terrible headaches during the first few days, and noticed significant drowsiness. After a few days, I felt cloudy and confused, and had a very difficult time concentrating - it was like being unpleasantly drunk all the time. I felt constantly out of it, had a hard time getting through the workday, and didn't feel safe driving because I couldn't focus easily on the road. My doc didn't have any suggestions except to try taking the pill with some applesauce (no help), or to wait it out to see if it got better. I am switching to INH this week because things are only getting worse on the Rifampin. It was worth a shot, but I'm crossing my fingers the Isoniazid will suit me betterRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SuzyQ35 | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2019
Condition: Infection due to a Brucella Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 600mg combined with 200mg of Doxycycline daily for 8 weeks. Please keep in mind, that my my experience is based on the combi treatment. However, Doxycycline is not as strong and more harmless. My liver (already damaged by Brucella and under fire from taking Effexor and quetiapine for depression) was not happy, but will recover. I got blood work done every week and I am still under "survelliance". I often felt nausea, but still gained weight rapidly. I did not get my period during that time, but had water retention and a puffy face. I developed nerve sensititivy, which worsened throughout the day due to sun exposure. My urine turned orange, which I considered a pro as the colour is a great reminder to take the meds. Rifampin interferred with Quetiapin, an antidepressant I usually take. And this is where it gets really complicated: a. I suffer from bounds of depression since I was a teenager (now aged 35). b. Brucella causes depression c. Rifampin may cause psychosis /depression d. Rifampin impacted one of my antidepressant meds, which I had to stop taking during that time. My mood swings and depression were pretty much out of control for that treatment time and shortly before (about 3 months overall), but I really could not tell what the exact cause was for that out of that mix. Overall, the nerve sensitivity, weight gain and the depression was the worst side effects / symptoms I suffered during that time, but I am still very grateful that meds like this excist and could kill all bacteria off.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SDpmez | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2019
Condition: Inactive Tuberculosis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am almost done with my first bottle, three more to go! This drug is the worst. It's a beast of an antibiotic and I hope that all of these side effects will go away with time. I had really bad insomnia the first week - 48 hours no sleep, followed by only 5 hours of sleep, followed by another 48 hours of no sleep. After those crazy few days, I started sleeping ok. But I have an anxiety attack every night which I got prescribed Ativan for, and this helped a lot. I do get the joint pain, fatigue, chills, and low grade fever (99F) almost every night but it subsides by bedtime. Oh - I also have ORAL THRUSH! Hooray. This has been an awful month and it's the most inconvenient timing too. I just have to remind myself I'm taking every measure to make sure the latent TB doesn't activate for the sake of my family.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2018
Condition: Inactive Tuberculosis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't know how anyone can handle this medication. From the severe heartburn, nausea, and fatigue, I so badly just want to stop this medicine and just hope it doesn' become active. My doctor suggested I take an acid reducer since TUMS was not working for me. I am drinking as much water as I can but let's just hope that the acid reducer works because I don't know how I am going to last much longer on this while also starting a physically active job.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Windycity | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/21/2018
Condition: Inactive Tuberculosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking Rifampin for 3 months now. Everything feels ok so far. Still have one month to go. The only inconvenience is not being able to enjoy my wine ð?· at home or when going to parties. I m 62 y.o. I would recommend this drug. Will see the effectiveness of Rifampin when I am done with my 4 month medicationð???

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bowmanhc | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2017
Condition: Bacterial Infection due to Staphylococcus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After undergoing IND procedure to clean out MRS Staph within full knee replacement #2. Have had 3 full knee replacements due to infection issues. Have had a total of 23 procedures to resolve MRSA, MRSA Staph D, and MRS Staph infections. Now on 4th IV AB infusion therapy to resolve infections post opportunity. Total of 23 surgeries due to infections within prosthetic implants. Infusions 1 and 2 were Vancomycyn, 3 and 4 (current) using Ancef followed by 8 weeks of oral A/B. Rifampin administered orally for 7 days during 10 days in ICU causing loss of appetite, severe nausea, altered sense of smell and taste (severe), headaches, blurred sight, and inability to concentrate. Unable to eat or drink and side effects have lasted for 7 days since discontinuation. Lost approximately 11 lbs to date. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/19/2016
Condition: Inactive Tuberculosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Developed migraines and stomach pain every day. Also developed unbelievable insomnia. I will never take this drug again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2016
Condition: Bacterial Infection due to Staphylococcus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on 300mg Rifampin and Cefazolin IV for 3 months until I broke out in a rash and the doctor took me off of both and put me on Bactrim DS 800mg twice a day. He then added the Rifampin 300mg again, and I discovered I was taking 1 capsule twice daily with food and the instructions say to take 2 capsules once daily on an empty stomach. I began taking it correctly and that same day experienced severe stomach pain and bloating which lasted for the 3 days I continued to take it. The fourth day I could not get out of bed due to severe dizziness at which time I called my doctor and he said to discontinue taking it. It has now been 3 days since stopping the Rifampin, the stomach pain and blosting has stopped but I am still dizzy! I just got off the phone with the doctor's office again to see if its normal for the dizziness side effect to last this long. I had to miss work because of it. I will not take this medication again. I was feeling very well after months of having the staph aureus and being rundown from the IV antibiotic and now feel like I am back to square one! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/17/2016
Condition: Inactive Tuberculosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with inactive TB after 5 years of complaining to numerous Docs about a chronic cough. Many chest xrays, all clear. Never a TB test. During the course of treatment for IBS and Fibromyalgia, it was found that I had a positive Quantiferon test for TB. I was first placed on Isoniazid and after two days of that drug, my lower legs, feet and ankles swelled up to the size of my calves. I was referred to a Infectious Disease Doc who put me on Rifampin 300mg 2x daily. Immediately I had the dark stained urine and stool. My IBS went crazy. I could not stay away from the bathroom. My fibro went haywire next. I was on 30mg oxycodone and it felt like it didnt touch my joint pain. I also used the oxy to control the IBS-D due to opioids causing constipation and relief of my stomach cramps. I started getting the blurred vision, fatigue, and could no longer concentrate at work. I began having anxiety attacks and soon had to take xanax. All of this affected my work as a manager for a large aviation corporation. I was told by medical staff to take a leave of absence from work. I was never allowed back. I lost my job over this drug. I soon took to only taking one dose a day, usually at night. Some days I skipped doses and prayed that the TB would go away. After six months the TB was cleared as verified by another quantiferon test. At times I debated quitting the rifampin and gambling on the inactive TB remaining inactive. I was 36 at the time. This was in 2014-2015. I hated it. I told the docs about the pain meds not working, they said impossible. I complained about my IBS and the mental confusion. Again, not because of the rifampin. I had continual monitoring of my liver functions. That part of me never faltered. Thank God. I only weighed 130lbs at the start of rifampin treatment, went up to 150lbs in six months. One month after quitting, back to 136lbs. I hated this drug. I wish I had read this site before now, I would have quit immediately. Worse experience ever.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ProPatient | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/16/2016
Condition: Inactive Tuberculosis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with inactive TB after 5 years of complaining to numerous Docs about a chronic cough. Many chest xrays, all clear. Never a TB test. During the course of treatment for IBS and Fibromyalgia, it was found that I had a positive Quantiferon test for TB. I was first placed on Isoniazid and after two days of that drug, my lower legs, feet and ankles swelled up to the size of my calves. I was referred to a Infectious Disease Doc who put me on Rifampin 300mg 2x daily. Immediately I had the dark stained urine and stool. My IBS went crazy. I could not stay away from the bathroom. My fibro went haywire next. I was on 30mg oxycodone and it felt like it didnt touch my joint pain. I also used the oxy to control the IBS-D due to opioids causing constipation and relief of my stomach cramps. I started getting the blurred vision, fatigue, and could no longer concentrate at work. I began having anxiety attacks and soon had to take xanax. All of this affected my work as a manager for a large aviation corporation. I was told by medical staff to take a leave of absence from work. I was never allowed back. I lost my job over this drug. I soon took to only taking one dose a day, usually at night. Some days I skipped doses and prayed that the TB would go away. After six months the TB was cleared as verified by another quantiferon test. At times I debated quitting the rifampin and gambling on the inactive TB remaining inactive. I was 36 at the time. This was in 2014-2015. I hated it. I told the docs about the pain meds not working, they said impossible. I complained about my IBS and the mental confusion. Again, not because of the rifampin. I had continual monitoring of my liver functions. That part of me never faltered. Thank God. I only weighed 130lbs at the start of rifampin treatment, went up to 150lbs in six months. One month after quitting, back to 136lbs. I hated this drug. I wish I had read this site before now, I would have quit immediately. Worse experience ever.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lwd01915 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/7/2015
Condition: Inactive Tuberculosis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just finished a 4-month regimen of Rifampin after testing positive for latent TB in preparation for starting on Humira for Rheumatoid Arthritis. I have no idea how/when I was exposed to TB but apparently I was and in order to start a biologic for RA, the latent TB needed to be addressed. I can't say Rifampin was an easy drug to take but it's hard to tell if the side effects I had (fatigue in particular) were symptoms of RA or the Rifampin. I was slightly nauseous when I started on the drug and had on and off mild diaherra during the 4 months on it but all in all, I'm glad I took it-didn't have much of a choice! More glad it's over but I tolerated it better than I expected.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MD7714 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/14/2014
Condition: Inactive Tuberculosis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was exposed to TB at some point in my career, but I'm not sure when. I found out I had LTBI (latent tuberculosis infection) through a physical for a nursing program. I have been tolerating the rifampin for the most part, but it feel like I have the flu all the time. I'm a newlywed who works full time and goes to nursing school full time. The flu symptoms definitely interfere with work and school, as well as my personal life. My joints hurt 90% of the time and if I don't take it with food it makes me sick to my stomach, even though it isn't supposed to be taken with food. My treatment is halfway through. I am counting down the days until this is through with.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Willy | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2014
Condition: Infection due to unusual Mycobacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PLEASE!!! DO NOT TAKE THIS DRUG WITH METHADONE. I tell you as a friend. It effects some type of enzym in your liver and causes acute withdraw. Within 2 hours of taking my first does I about died. Please.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
betty | 55-64 | Female | Patient
9/5/2014
Condition: Bacterial Infection due to Staphylococcus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on rifampin for 5 days; constant nausea, dizziness, confusion. I know I need to continue, but am worried the side effects are not going away

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/13/2014
Condition: Active Tuberculosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/3/2014
Condition: Treatment of Staphylococcal Osteomyelitis with More Than One Medication
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cured | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/15/2014
Condition: Active Tuberculosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a few side effects that lasted 2-3 days such as a rash, headache etc. After a week or two into my treatment plan, there were no side effects. I would take the medication first thing in the morning. It has become part of my morning routine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More