Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

I am 49 y/o and have suffered w/ this problem for 30 yrs. Aciphex is the ONLY drug that has worked for me. Very expensive. My insurance co. has just raised my deductible, but there isn't anything close to this product. I love it and have suggested to friends to talk to thier doctor about getting them on Aciphex also.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Terrible name. I'm glad to hear it works for many, but I wish they found a better name then one that sounds like special effects for your rear. "A** F/X". Not the best. Everyone that watches this commercial that I know has noticed this, especially if it's on in the background and they hear the name. Oh well, as long as it works it can be called anything.

Shared reviews and ratings

Twinsmom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/7/2018
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctors have prescribed all the other drugs for me but this is the only one that has worked for me. I've taken it for more than 10 years and its been great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dingowez | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/17/2016
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Gastroesophageal Reflux
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Aciphex (20) has been great at controlling my GERD and healing inflammation which caused trouble swallowing food. I used to take Nexium (40) for over 3 years which began to affect me adversely (frequent BM) and cognitive decline. I was switched over to Rx of Pepcid and later Zantac, neither of which helped long term. Finally had an endoscopy that showed inflammation and weakening sphincter. Doc gave me 20 mg Aciphex - Within a week of taking it, I was a new man! I have been taking it for about 6 months. Long(er) term, I'm not sure how it will work out.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RAISOR60 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/2/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maxine Hanson | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/26/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this for years. It has always stopped my acid. The last prescription made by new company does not touch my acid pain! It is supposed to be name brand, which I have always paid for, but it acts more like a generic I've tried before with no effect on acid. I am wondering if this is name brand at all. Has anyone else had this happen? I just don't know what to do because I am in so much pain! Help!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NA | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Joint aches, dry eyes, severe uncontrolled heartburn. Heart irregularities

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/16/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jheste | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/12/2014
Condition: Symptoms Accompanying Esophageal Reflux of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Aciphex for ten years. I have Barrett's esophagus and I have been told by my doctor that I have to take this drug for the rest of my life. The insurance companies have fought me tooth and nail and refused to pay for these drugs every step of the way. They are now making me use Rabeprazole which is the generic of Aciphex. I don't know anything about this drug because it has only been out for only 4 months. I can't find any experience on this drug. I was told by the insurance company that Aciphex cost over $1,000 per month without a tier exception and $400 per month with a tier exception. This should be considered dam right robbery by the drug company that manufacturers this drug. What a complete disgrace. As much as I hate to say this and I certainly don't like government control on anything, but, these greedy drug companies have gotten completely out of hand. They need to be reined in and I guess the only way to stop greed is to clamp down on them by government price control. We can't rely on the drug companies to be honest.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kippur's mom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2014
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a hiatal hernia and GERD. I took aciphex 8 years ago and it really worked for me with NO side effects. Insurance stopped paying for it and I couldn't afford it. I tried ALL the other PPI's suffered all kinds of side effects. Aciphex went generic 6 months ago and now I can afford it. Started taking it again and relief again! No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nola | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/30/2014
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Babs | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/22/2014
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Aciphex for 5 weeks and became increasingly ill with loss of appetite, tiredness, shaking. I went to the MD and had blood work done and found I was going into renal failure due to hypersensitivity to the drug. In hospital for 1 week and only regained baseline kidney function after 2 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
exotec | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/28/2014
Condition: Symptoms Accompanying Esophageal Reflux of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this for 2-3 years now. I get the generic via our insurance. I've run the gamut of OTC and many other Rx meds, and this is the only one still working. I have some symptoms which are listed under side effects for this drug, but I can't tell if they're side effects for me, or simply how things are for me. I like the med. It works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sisseypoo | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/29/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Stomach Lining caused by H. Pylori
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used the medication for several years I have a very bad case of H Pylori that cases raw places in my stomach (so the dr says) after a scope test But now I have to find something else because of the price of this med sky rocking which people can not afford I need help finding something what will work ;(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rosalinda Barragan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/18/2013
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried generic medication rabeprazola and I have nausea and cough and dirreal.And I get dry heaves.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/10/2013
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried many medications over the years, this is the ONLY one that has worked. The generic doesn't work for me, has to be Aciphex. I take 20mg twice a day and couldn't live without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ededdneddy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/21/2013
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Gastroesophageal Reflux
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took PPIs for almost 15 years. Had Barrett's esophagus and GERD unequivocally. Tried for years to wean myself off this drug many times, with GERD recurring within a week. A year ago I developed an allergy to shell fish and high iodine fish, would rather put a bullet in my head than give that up. It is a convoluted story so I won't tell it but my research over a month or so led me to believe that the PPI I was taking could be the cause and I quit taking it. After about 3 mos I went to Dead Lobster and ate the fried crustacean special with no ill effects. It was difficult to nail down why the allergy occurred as it occurred 1.5 to 2 days later after eating shell fish. I figured the lack of stomach acid allowed "undigested proteins" in my colon to cause the problem. Afterwards it occurred to me that I had not had a reoccurrence of reflux????!!? Flashback 1 yr before and my cat bit me. Almost died, wound up in ER/ICU 24hrs later and had 11 bags of IV antibiotics over 4 days. Back to the future. I really tried to wean myself off of the PPIs, many, many times, to no avail. Now, no prob., why? I had BE, I saw the pictures. I had GERD, just cuz I had GERD and you know what I mean if you have it. This was prolly the reason for the BE. BE was gone years ago and the PPIs are prolly the reason. The GERD is gone and prolly because of the massive dose of antibiotics the year before. Don't know if I was tested for H. Pylori but it is 18 months later and the GERD is still gone. If your BE is gone, OR you only have GERD and have been taking this (it is a short term drug you know) for some time, you might want to query your provider about checking you for H. Pylori or prophylactic antibiotics so you can get off this med. It is bad for you IMHO. I also had low vitamin and mineral issues along with varying medication responses from other meds. I personally think "unnecessary" PPIs are more dangerous than we are led to believe. They are not benign!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/26/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on it for 12 yrs, now I must watch bone density and magnesium levels. FYI you can get a prescription card from aciphex website for 35 max.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MEMA | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/17/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ACIPHEX WORDED FOR ME WHEN OTC DRUGS DID NOT. I HAVE TAKEN IT FOR SEVERAL YEARS. BUT NOW I MUST DO WITHOUT AS THE COST EVEN WITH INSURANCE IS PRICING IT OUT OF MY REACH. I WAS GETTING 3 MONTHS AT A TIME FROM A MAIL ORDER COMPANY WHEN THE PRICE WENT UP I TRIED WALMART. LAST TIME IT WAS OVER $150 FOR 90 PILLS, THIS TIME IT WAS OVER $250 SO I TOLD THEM TO KEEP IT. I WILL HAVE TO DO THE BEST I CAN WITH THE OTC UNTIL THE PATENT RUNS OUT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2013
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Gastroesophageal Reflux
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

SEVERE NAUSEA, which replaced pain before taking

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/24/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

dry mouth

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/17/2012
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have use other medication and it does work like aciphexl do

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More