Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

26 People found this comment helpful

I take 10mg at night an hour before bed along with 10mg of Valium. It is the only combo that I have had success with and if I don't take it I cannot sleep at all. I have tried Ambien and Trazadone in the past and they stopped working. Also tired Serequel but had an adverse reaction as it woke me up instead of making me sleep. I am very happy with it and have no drowsy side effects in the morning. ...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Scary stuff Heed the warnings - e.g., avoid alcohol and taking more than prescribed dosage Has led to bizarre dreams, sleepwalking and potentially fatal bike race accident when the dosage belatedly became effective Not worth the risk Instead try exercise, hot milk and a good book

Shared reviews and ratings

Diedra | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/2/2022
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Saved my life. 10mg I Have had insomnia my whole life. I’m almost 40. I sleep soundly for about 4 hours as my doctor said it promises for hours of uninterrupted sleep. If I’m still sleepy when I wake up, typically at 3 or 4 am, I’ll take another. **KEEP IN MIND” when using this message, it works fast. I know I’ve got about 10 mins before I get weird and don’t know it. So, I’ve learned that once I take it, I have to put my phone down, turn off the tv and just wait.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jayne | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/10/2022
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication did nothing for me. I would like a refund please.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zaleplon | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking 10mg. This medicine had no effect on my sleep. It doesn’t work for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Med does not put me to sleep right away, but within a hour, sleep for three, or four hours, after that can't sleep for three hours

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mr hinge | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/29/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First attempt was a dud. One night I came home from having a few drinks and took a 5 before bed. It was pretty crazy. According to my girlfriend, I almost peed on our floor and my drumset (Oops). Complete blackout. As far as sleep goes, I would hold your breath. I'd settle for ttazadone since I no longer drink.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brian Valerie | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/19/2021
Condition: Insomnia with Middle of the Night Awakening and 4 Hours Sleep Time Remaining
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works well when I am unable to RESUME sleep after having already slept for about four hours or less.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
1/21/2021
Condition: Insomnia with Middle of the Night Awakening and 4 Hours Sleep Time Remaining
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My PCP prescribed this as-needed for early morning waking and middle-of-the-night waking, a big problem for me. She said it was good for when you need to sleep a few more hours and it's used by shift workers. I take 5 mg when I wake up and it does not work well at all. On the few occasions I've been able to get back to sleep at all, it can take up to 2 hours to fall asleep which defeats the whole point because I have to get up for work. So I feel worse than if I had taken nothing. Very disappointed. This drug doesn't work as promised. Generic Ambien used to work well for me but then it stopped working.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doesn't work - doesn't help falling asleep - and only sleep for less than 4 hours

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
taps | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2018
Condition: Insomnia with Middle of the Night Awakening and 4 Hours Sleep Time Remaining
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after 5 years on bipolar medications I could not sleep without psych meds. After stopping the meds,my melatonin level has not returned,so I am awake a lot at night. zaleplon was prescribed and told that it would take a year to regain normal sleep without zaleplon. Exercise helps only alittle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lady | 45-54 | Patient
6/28/2017
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it does nothimg for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
worksforme | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/24/2016
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 20MG once or twice weekly when I have trouble falling asleep (10MG has little effect). After taking I generally fall asleep within 30 minutes and will sleep soundly for 4 to 6 hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
peterbradleyphd | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/18/2016
Condition: Insomnia with Middle of the Night Awakening and 4 Hours Sleep Time Remaining
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken this for an extended period of time due to nighttime awakening (after 3-4 hours sleep). I have no problems falling asleep. This medication wears off in 3 to 4 hours, and I awaken feeling rested and usually without any grogginess (slight grogginess on occasion).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SFC A | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/8/2015
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med has a short halflife in the system, so it does not give the feeling of "moving around in a haze" the next morning, albeit taking Xanax or valium along with does contribute to that haze or drowsy feeling if taken in high doses in conjunction with zaleplon/sonata. The only negative side effects I have encountered is when attempting to go to sleep it seems like I am starting to have a dream and I hear the voices of who I am thinking or dreaming about and I wake up abruptly sometimes smiling or laughing even..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/3/2015
Condition: Insomnia with Middle of the Night Awakening and 4 Hours Sleep Time Remaining
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
2/22/2015
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
navilenn65 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/22/2015
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Scary stuff Heed the warnings - e.g., avoid alcohol and taking more than prescribed dosage Has led to bizarre dreams, sleepwalking and potentially fatal bike race accident when the dosage belatedly became effective Not worth the risk Instead try exercise, hot milk and a good book

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
XCalburLdy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/16/2014
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 10mg at night an hour before bed along with 10mg of Valium. It is the only combo that I have had success with and if I don't take it I cannot sleep at all. I have tried Ambien and Trazadone in the past and they stopped working. Also tired Serequel but had an adverse reaction as it woke me up instead of making me sleep. I am very happy with it and have no drowsy side effects in the morning. Also used to use Benadryl but that stopped working too. But I always need to get an exception for my insurance to cover it for more than 3 months.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pink60 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2014
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To fall asleep QUICKLY - must take 10 mg 2 hrs. BEFORE planned sleep time. ALSO, MUST TAKE - TRAZODOL 100 MG - HALF HOUR BEFORE PLANNED SLEEP. I sleep 8 hrs - BUT - feel UNBALANCED next day - not happy about that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donottrythismedication! | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2014
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medicine at 11:30 pm, and woke up in the middle of the night 5 times very abruptly with intense anger, which has never been a problem for me. This medicine was made by the devil, do not take it!! It doesn't work, and waking with such intense anger all 5 times is very scary!! Only took it one day, and that's enough for me. Asking doc for new med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cecropia | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2014
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Zaleplon five times to help me fall asleep . It has done just the opposite. I feel wide awake and am up most of the night. It does not relax me at all. I plan to ask my doc for another med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More