Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

This antibiotic is super-effective at relieving my tonsillitis. I suffer from severe tonsillitis once every year or two and Cefadroxil eliminates the inflammation and fever within a couple of days!

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I was given a rx for 1 gram twice a day and then developed liver inflammation X3 and was not well for about 2 wks. I think I was given a very high dose -

Shared reviews and ratings

Cefadroxil | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/5/2020
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects : Nausea and repetative dreams , heartburn, upset stomach

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2020
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 500 mg 2x a day for 10 days to treat a bladder infection. I had no side effects. My only problem is that it didn't work. 10 days and I still have a bladder infection. I am now on Bactrim.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tess | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was prescribed for sinus infection and ear problems after a bout of the flu. I had a headache for a time and some muscle aches. No worrisome GI problems. Sinus infection is cleared up and ear issues so it was effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/8/2013
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter is taking it for severe acne/infection as a replacement for Doxycycline. She reports severe stomach pain and nausea that become unbearable when she tries to exercise or exert herself in any way.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stan | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this drug for a glance infection in my leg. And I am extremely constipated and have extreme stomach pains. With a heavy migraine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 500MG prior to having a salavia stone removed from the duct under my tongue. I took 1 pill and my head started itching, I developed congestion and a cough and stomach discomfort. I got the Dr. to call in something else to take.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cefadroxil | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/29/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

vivid dreams when taken at night

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kml | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given a rx for 1 gram twice a day and then developed liver inflammation X3 and was not well for about 2 wks. I think I was given a very high dose -

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
1/19/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for over 6 weeks and still have an infection in my lower leg after having a total knee replacement. the pain is unreal and there is still swelling and redness in the lower leg, with alot of pain..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gg | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/11/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

caused stomach pain,diarrhea,stomach swelling,jaundice and nausea for several days now.I am having blood work done.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ginjoe | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2011
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after 3 days of taking this medication I started to get a serious itching problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cefadroxil | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/10/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med was prescribed subsequent to having a nerve stimulator device implanted for the bladder to prevent bladder infection. My only problem has been I came down with a painful sore throat on the second day of taking this medication. Not sure if it is a secondary infection or what.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cjltrekker | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Amputated a portion of my ring finger four days ago. Doctor prescribed this to keep bateria at bay. No side effects at all so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mamalong | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2010
Condition: Infection of the Urinary Tract caused by Proteus Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

did not stop the bacteria w/first dose, but the 2nd time around it did. good stuff.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Given as antibiotic after cut on hand from barbed wire fence. One pill made me break out in hives within a couple of hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad diarreah and GI problems after the 2nd pill. Discontinued. Took me 3 days to get my GI back to normal

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2010
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gave me diarrhea on my 5th day. Cleared up my ear infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | Patient
11/3/2009
Condition: Skin Infection due to Streptococcus Pyogenes Bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

JUST TAKING ANOTHER ANTIBIOTIC.HAVING SOME SIDE EFFECTS SUCH AS JOINT AND ARM PAIN AND STIFFNESS IN SHOULDERS AND ELBOWS.KEEPS YOU AWAKE AT NIGHT WITH SLIGHT PAIN IN THESE AREAS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mark | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I broke out in a terrible rash on my upper body and it caused very uncomfortable itching. I had to take methylpredisolone to stop the rash.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessie.Haven | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2009
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had pain in my lower abdomen from what I later found out to be a from a UTI. I got my prescription and within a couple of days of taking it as recommended, the pain began to disburse. However, symptoms of UTI include flu-like symptoms, fever, headaches, body aches, and chills. So I began to think that this medication only got rid of the abdominal pain and not the other symptoms. Almost a week later of feeling the same way, I did some research on this drug. THE SIDE EFFECTS ARE THAT OF A UTI AND WORSE!!! Now I have gained a noticeable amount of weight, I'm extremely moody, my belly is swollen, and I now need an ultrasound to check my organs. Initially, my doctor instructed me to finish off the bottle, no matter how much better I felt. You gotta be kidding me. I chose today to stop taking this terrible "cure". This is why there's those commercials out there that brandish the drugs and mutely and rapidly describe the side effects of the drugs only to create a public service announcement asking if any of our loved ones have died due to their product and to call their hotline. For what? To apologize? I would never, ever, EVER recommend this drug to ANYONE!! Look for other alternatives. Heck, buy 10 gallons of cranberry juice for all I care. Just not this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More