Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

I've taken 3 doses, one month apart. My hips and joints are killing me. I have been migraine free, however I am so uncomfortable. I was told the only side effects were regarding the injection site. That is impossible, since all drugs can have various side effects It wasn't until I read other reviews that I correlated my joint pain to this drug.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I had a head injury in Jan 2019 (with Dx of post concussion syndrome) and I have been experiencing chronic headaches. My neurologist prescribed Emgality in Oct 2019. I took my second injection Nov 2019. Since then, I have been to the ER 2 times; the first time with a severe headache, the second time with extreme anxiety. In the last two months I have had problems with insomnia, constipation, but...

Shared reviews and ratings

2023TR | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/9/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having the x 2 shots for the loading dose, appreciate it is early days but I am experiencing various side affects. Does anyone else who stopped after the first dose know how long it takes for Emgality to leave your system/for the side affects to resolve?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bama girl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/6/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Emgality for right at 4 years. It has been amazing for migraine prevention. I have gone from 15-20 migraines days per month to maybe 3. My only problem is, I get a super bad migraine in the week following the injection. Non of the abortive drugs help. I always end up at a walk-in clinic getting strong drugs to rid me of this 1 migraine. I have not seen anyone else mention this, but after many months, I finally realized it is always within one week of the injection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kari M | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/3/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Injections burn like crazy but I can still self administer through it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LR | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/29/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very bad anxiety, racing thoughts, out of sorts, dark mood, joint pain, heart palpitations is how I describe what was and will be my only shot of what is like poison for me. Also, full of energy, yet exhausted.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hideez | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/6/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking M gality for 3 and a 1/2 years now. The only side effect I notice is constipation. I have new insurance and they won't pay it so I don't know what to do it's been my life saver. I went from 30 migraines a month to 3 or 4. And I used to get them so bad I was on the bathroom floor, Convulsing. Now I have to pay $700 a month for one shot. ??????????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tam | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/27/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first 4 months I felt abit better. One month I had very few headaches worth reporting. I am now going into month 7 and i seem to be getting worse. I have worse depression, anxiety, brain fog,serious sleep deprivation, I always so wired and agitated but have no motivation, my cycle is completely messed up… I seem to not be able to conceive! I’m desperate for answers!! HOW THE HELL CAN I GET SOME SLEEP!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heidi | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
8/25/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Its been 5 weeks, only. Im able to eat foods that used to give me migraines without going into a major episode. Chocolate, coffee, pudding. Dairy used to trigger me. The drug makes your weight fluctuate. My appetite used to be nothing. Now im hungry alot more. I managed to keep the weight under control by not eating late or less at night. Garcinea Cambogia helps alot.( amazon) If I eat later my weight increases the next day, but I can correct it back and lose it also by adjusting how I eat the next day.. Im usually 111. I fluctuate 111 to 114 pounds. My mood has improved. This is second time I took this injection. 2 yrs ago the same thing happened where my mood improved. I read that emgality affects dopamine and has monoclonal antibodies. I only take one injection, not every month. Last time I got full effect many months later. It was still working 9 months after just one injection. If I kept getting it every month I think the weight would increase too much. My pain level for my back improved both times I took it. Also my arthritis in hands improved this time. I had a terrible time with ajovy with depression and vertigo. Emgality gave me no such side effects, except the first day I was cloudy and a little cloudy 2 weeks. Take oxy powder for the constipation. It works. Also magnesium with co q 10Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joleen | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/12/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Emgality for a 1 1/2 years now. It took a few months to get my migraines down but I went from 20+ a month to now only 1-3 a month. I haven't had ANY bad side effects except for injection site reaction (swelling that lasts for a few days) and maybe weight gain (though I was in a bit of a rut with diet and lack of exercise). I have increased my exercise now and my diet is great, and I'm losing weight so I'm happy. To me even if it did cause some weight gain, it's worth it! I'd rather be a little chubby then in pain all the time! The only downfall is the injection hurts a lot, at least it only lasts for less than a minute. Honestly give it a try, you never know how it will work for you, I know lots of people say bad things about it, but most people only leave reviews when they are unhappy, so keep that in mind when deciding for yourself. I am hopeful that it continues working for me because it's been a life-changer! :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adrian | 45-54 | Male | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It increased my anxiety, I was bloated,gained weight. Got terrible knee pain, could not walk and had to get X-ray. Inflamed my Bunyan on opposite foot to knee. I felt weird,lightheaded and was depressed easy, had fits of crying at work. I had five injections and had knee pain and weird feeling in my body for the five months. It helped my migraines that I got everyday for a month but the side affects are not worth it for me. I was extremely concerned with this medication and felt like a lab ??. Terrible experience, I prey for all people with migraines and mental health issues that it has not damaged our brains. ????Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heidi | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only been on this 3 weeks this time. 2 years ago it worked great after 5 months i could eat chocolate, ice cream all my trigger foods and about 7 months was still in effect I think for 8 months after first shot. It helped back pain, neck pain, helped my mood too. It did cause increased appetite. I take garcinia Cambodia for that I gained 7 pounds first time. This time I got slightly cloudy the day of injection and some times I feel that way but its fading. My mood again improved. I still get migraines at 3 weeks so its not long enough time yet to say.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EmilyR | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/21/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Emgality in Feb 2022. My last shot was in June and I will never again be prescribed another injectable CGRP. Everywhere online it says the only side effects you get are mild… wrong. I gained weight (I work out a ton and eat super healthy and haven’t had any weight fluctuation in more than 12 yrs), I started having aura migraines (terrifying while driving), and am experiencing hair loss and brain fog. The first 2 months were great. Migraines went from 10 a month to 1. Month 3 I had 5 migraines. I’m now back to 10. I recommend a deep dive on Reddit and Twitter before starting this drug. I’ve never felt worse and have suffered from migraines for nearly 40 yrs. Oh, and the half-life on this drug is forever. If will take 5+ months to get it out of my system. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
busymommy00 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/20/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on and off Emgality for years. Stopped due to side effects. It worked well for a while and then peculiar things began happening; finger turned blue, weird, never had before joint pain and a constant migraine, especially on the back of my head that appears every night around 8:00 p.m. Call it weird, but the Emgality is the only new medication added to my mix. Sure, try it and see if helps you but if you wind up with the weirdest things happening to your body that are not like you, it is definitely the Emgality!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Darla | 0-2 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/17/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication did help my migraines however I started have TIA's and A-fib. I haven't taking this medication in almost 2.5 years and I have yet to feel any better. I'm in constant constant pain. If I can be honest, I feel like I'm slowing dying but not dying. I have a constant high ringing in my ears. Muscle cramps have gotten out of control at times. My nuero side effects have been the worst. When I have , what we now call a "spell". I have problems talking,walking and even mini like seizures. I absolutely regret ever taking this medication!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jodi | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/30/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered from migraines since I was 10. Tried several preventatives and then only found that zomig would give me any relief 85% of the time I got a headache as non of the preventatives worked. I got an average of 10 migraines a month that required taking medication. Just going into my second month dose of emgality. My first month taking this I have only had 1 migraine that I took cambia for and it took it away. Didn’t even have to take my zomig. My main trigger is the weather changes where I live and this past month has been major pressure changes and I was shocked to wake up migraine free! Fingers crossed that emgality continues to work for me! I had zero side effects and no soreness at injection site after shot. However the needle does hurt to get. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
O | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/20/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gave it 3 months. It gave me a rash under my boobs and right foot. The worst thing was, it made my migraines much worse. I was so disappointed as I'd waited so long for this. I've accepted that my body just needs to have migraines and that's how it is. I've worked around my reaction to each migraine and how to be more peaceful with them. There's a book called 'Living with a disability' - Olivia Bowden to help you through it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Milles | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/16/2022
Condition: episodic cluster headache
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi, so far only more side effects than good results... like everyone else here the same side effects, constipation, pain in my lower back, leg joints... dizziness (ohh btw I've already had an accident with the car so be careful when you drive !) At the same time I am taking other heavy medication for the cluster headache so I will keep trying emgality for a while and give it a fair chance and give an extra review later. good luck everyone!...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/13/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been dealing with migraines for so many years and tried so many medications. My doctor prescribed Emgality. While I'm very hesitant in taking new meds as I always seem to end up with a bad side effect, I wish I would have read the stories from these other patients on here as I would NOT have agreed to this med. It has been since April 2022 from the first injections. I have vertigo, loud horrid ringing in my ears, constipation which was the only thing I was warned about. I catch colds like crazy and was finally told by my primary care doc that this drug lowers your immune system which I was not told prior. The brain fog is horrid. I feel at times I'm loosing it. It creates such an anxiety in me that I'm now having panick attacks because of how it makes my head feel. The joints in my body hurt badly. This is just not me and I dont like how it feel one bit. I'm tired ALL the time. And that is definitely not me. I truly hope this drug gets out of my system quickly as I will NOT be taking my next injection. As for the migraines, it seemed like it was helping in the beginning but they became worse just of last month. My doctor tells me the vertigo has nothing to do with this med. That I just need rest. I was fine except for the migraines until this med. I'm glad to hear for some people it is working. Everyone's body is different. As for me, I wouldnt recommend this to anyone. I would rather deal with my migraine than feel so out of sorts. Not feel like me. A migraine goes away. The effects of this med has been two weeks already for me. My migraines dont last that many days. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/28/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The shots are annoying and they hurt (not that big of a deal). I took the loading dose and one more shot after that. It made me so constipated that i threw up on 3 separate occasions. I experienced many other negative side effects for nominal improvement. Only way I can explain it is that it felt like poison in my body. I developed screaming tinnitus in my left ear and I still have it 5 months later. I don’t know if it will ever go away. This is a dangerous drug in my opinion. I wouldn’t recommend it to my worst enemy. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Candice | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/23/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this medication for 9 months now and it has helped me tremendously. The only side effect I notice is pain at the injection site when injecting. After that I only have slight soreness around the injection site for about 2 hours afterwords. The medication worked immediately for me. I used to have roughly 5 migraines a week and since starting this medication with a combination of propranolol I have had none. It has honestly been a life saver. I have yet to notice any other side effects mentioned in the other reviews. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/16/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Migraines reduced dramatically from 1 every few days to 5 in 7 months. Also not as severe.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More